We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true taste of the Carribean”
Review of Manta Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manta Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We just spent 2 great weeks at Manta Lodge, diving and relaxing with friends. The Lodge is like staying at a private beach house, not an Americanized resort. The owners, staff, divemasters and guests all hang out together creating a friendly atmosphere. Sasha and Elaina prepared food that was reflective of the many different cultures of Tobago and it was plentiful. The dive staff guided us through challenging currents to beautiful dive sites with healthy reefs. There are also many hiking trails available.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katpower, Guest Relations Manager at Manta Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Thank you so much for your review, it was such a pleasure hosting your group! The "Beach House" reference put a big smile on my face. We hope one day to see you again in your journeys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

A home away from home.... love the staff and this place it made me feel apart of the manta lodge family.I'll be coming back very soon becauce I just love this place Sean and the wonderful staff they have.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MollyBrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This place is like a secret gold mine, It isn't the over-the top touristy, crowded, commercialized usual dive destination. It's a place of amazingly untouched natural beauty. The people were so sweet and helpful, both at the hotel and as a female on a walk alone through this beautiful, small village. One week wasn't enough. There is so much to experience .. exceptional and challenging diving that is like no other place I've been, hiking Little Tobago was awesome. I would visit again, definitely . Everyone is like family at the Manta Lodge...alot of fun and laughter ... everything good for the soul.

Room Tip: If the owners "gal"( Kat) is there, any room will be an exceptional room. I had room 10 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katpower, Guest Relations Manager at Manta Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you had such a wonderful vacation and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Even though our visit to Manta Lodge was 2 years ago it stands out as a place that we WILL visit again. We think about it often and have been meaning to write so many times. Our stay was great! The owners were very accommodating and made us feel like we were the only guests at the inn. The rooms were simple but we loved it. We were not looking for a cookie cutter room like so many chain hotels; this was so much more. We had a magical 3 days at the inn, which included diving, swimming and experiencing the village. It was my first dive and I am spoiled! My husband agreed that I will always compare my dives with our experience with the dive team at the Manta Lodge. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmae14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I recently spent a few nights at Manta Lodge and was more than happy with the laid back atmosphere of the place. The accomodations are basic but cozy and all of the rooms have a great little balcony with an oceanview....who could ask for more than that! Both the hotel and dive staff make your visit to this sleepy little village so much FUN! I look forward to visiting & diving with my new friends again in the very near future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Okay, so the lodge needs some renovating, but the staff and the family there were really fantastic with us! We were looking for a non commercialised place to stay with good diving; Speyside ticked both of these boxes and delivered more!! For the price of the package we were on, we did not get our hopes too high, however when we arrived the atmosphere was great and so welcoming. We will definitely be coming back to stay with our new friends at Manta Lodge, this was certainly a holiday which we wont ever forget =)

Room Tip: Rooms in the back near the nature walk are quieter and you can still hear the wonderful ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

To get the whole Speyside diving experience where better to stay than the Manta Lodge. Superb diving outfit next to the best diving in Tobago and a great family atmosphere back on land at the Manta Lodge, the accomodation is simple and clean and tidy and all fully functioning. The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly, a real home from home, the food is good and cooked for you when ordered. Hats off to Sean and the team for a superb all round exerience and i look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
7.8 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
16.4 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
644 reviews
3.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
79 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bacolet Beach Club
Bacolet Beach Club
#1 of 2 in Bacolet Bay
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Lodge

Address: Windward Road, Speyside, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range: £45 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy 22 room property may be small, but it still features a number of 'big' amenities - the Green Moray Bar & Restaurant, soft sand beach, full service dive shop, freshwater swimming pool, reading nook with a multi-lingual lending library, endless hiking trails and plenty of room to relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manta Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Hotel Speyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing