We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Manta Lodge has excellent diving, food and accommodations”
Review of Manta Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manta Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2008

We stayed at Manta Lodge for a week; 11 dives with experienced divemasters and captain; all dive sites were within 10 minutes of the hotel. Silton, the captain, Arthur the divemaster and Kester, our guide, are experienced, patient and fun. Japanese Gardens, Bookends, Goat Island Dream, Coral Garden, Cathedral, Angel Reef and John Rock were among our dives. We arranged for Nitrox to be brought in from Scarborough. The dive shop is well organized and responsive to a range of diving skills.
Eddie Baynes, the chef at the Manta Lodge, is creative - we had excellent barracuda with a coconut sauce one night, and the fresh vegetables were delectable. The rooms are very comfortable. The other guests and staff made our visit memorable. The lodge is across the street from the beach, and within easy walking distance of Jemma's, a renowned restaurant. A morning field trip with a naturalist to the rain forest was well worth it. This is an ideal spot for travelers who wish a quiet, relaxing but well appointed holiday. We found the prices quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShippenCambridge_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2008

Reading some of the previous reviews makes me wonder what some people expect from a holiday, be it diving or not. This is Tobago, not London and things work differently in Tobago. Having lived there some years ago, I know, and I wouldn't have it any different. Cockroaches? My goodness, this is the tropics - and cockroaches are tropical creatures. I bet the guy complaining about these has house flies in his home.

If you want a quiet, relaxed, informal, friendly hotel, I can't think of a better one than Manta Lodge. If you expect everything to work like clockwork, don't come to Tobago, because it won't. If having to go without water will ruin your holiday, go to Europe. And it helps to have a sense of humour, something that appears to be entirely mssing from some of the previous reviewers.

My wife and I have seldom enjoyed ourselves so much as we did in October this.year., We were taught to dive by one of the best instructors I can imagine - patient, careful, and very attentive. Clyde, Sean, Swiss and the rest of the staff couldn't have been friendlier and there was never any doubt that we as guests were the most important thing. My compliments - I have stayed all over the world in hotels ranging from 5-star to hovels, and this one has just been added to my short list of favourites

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boghermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We returned from a three weeks tour in the Caribbean (Trinidad,Tobago Backway, Barbados and Jamaica). Our best experience was in Tobago , in a small town named Speyside (north east)
We stayed for two nights at Manta Lodge, a small but comfortable hotel with a wonderful location and sea view.
The staff was very devoted staff (specially the manager - Clyde).
Wonderful diving sites and professional instructors.
The rooms, recently upgraded were clean air-conditioned and accessorized.
We strongly recommend,

Itzhak and Ricky
Jerusalem Israel

Stayed: September 2008
Thank ItzhakL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

The Manta itself was fine. It was clean and pleasant enough. The staff was very kind and concerned. The main problem was Sean Robinson, the owner who we never met since he couldn't take the time. He was too tired from working with a large group at least a week before (as if the rest of the staff didn't work with the group as well). Instead he decided it was more important for him (Sean) to take the dive team with him on his personal dive trek and leave me and an additional diver hanging with no dive master. His story was someone else was suppose to show up-but nobody else knew who, when or where. In otherwords, if you're coming for a dive vacation- try somewhere else that cares.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Ocean Quest Scuba took 17 divers to the Manta Lodge for a week long dive trip. We were happy with our rooms, they where clean, we had hot water for our showers and the resort grounds were clean and well kept. We had a meal plan as part of our package, and many of the meals were outstanding, all were exceptable. It's not the Hilton by any means, but again we didn't pay the price we would have paid at the Hilton, and we were there to dive that end of the island.
We did however have some issues with our reservations. We requested specific room assignments to keep family members as close to each other as possibe. We were told it would be no problem, yet once we arrived that isn't what took place. We also were told that the resort had a boat large enough to accomadate our group, they did not. Our group ended up split up on two different boats, which defeats the purpose of going on a trip together. We were also told that Nitrox would be available for us, and we did order it for everyone. Once we arrived we found that they didn't even have a nitrox system at the resort. All the above were specifically laid out by myself the group leader. I confirmed all aspects of the trip many times and would not have booked this resort if I had the true facts given to me.
So my advise is to make sure you keep records of everything, don't deal with the resort staff on your diving, deal directly with the dive shop. Once they realized just how unhappy I was they did try to make up for it, the local staff is incredible, we enjoyed our dive team, they tried very hard to make up for the owners lack of concern.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SandraBramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

We are a party of two adults and two children [ age 9 and 13 ] trvalling around for three weeks in T & T, We are a family from Holland, we stayed for 4 days at the Manta lodge , it was our last stay, before this hotel we stayed in a variation of hotels , first Plantation beach, then Coco reef, and then a week in Trinidad in The Royal hotel, in [ San Fernando }and 3days in a bussines hotel in port of Spain ( Marriot ) , so as you can see a wide variation of accomodations,what we like in Manta Lodge is the informal admosphere,and the personel care and real interest in the children, a relief after the formality of the Coco reef , the food was good ( we preferred the coocking of the black male chef above the black lady chef, specialy the lobster,)
Rooms were clean but dated,good staf, support at the frontdesk was more than you expect, no problem using their fascilities of confirming your flight , getting coffee for your roomcoffeemaker, towels for the ( little ) pool etc,
Breakfast was for the size of the hotel good, a menucard with a wide variations of stuff, the direct seafront of the hotel is poor, it looks nice with a beautifull view off the bay but there are little stones, and some lousy chairs, but no problem, because there are many nice beaches in the direct area with NO tourist around, So the hotel was OK for us,

Just read the comments of a group divers stayed in the hotel, we do not recognised the complaints,During our stay our airco leaked heavely, staf fixed it, ,

greetings Family van der Hoeven Scherpenzeel Holland

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank abhoeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We have just returned rom a great 2 week stay in Tobago, with our second week spent at Manta Lodge in Speyside. Manta Lodge is in a spectacular location with beach, bay and sea to the front and rainforest to the rear. Our room was comfortable, air-conditioned and with a veranda from which we saw some beautiful sunsets and a full moon glistening across the Atlantic.

Many thanks to Clyde, Sean, Swiss, Marva and the team who were friendly and helpful at all times. We enjoyed some fantastic diving with Tobago Dive Experience, the dive centre attached to Manta Lodge, with their excellent guides Kester/Cactus and David. We look forward to returning to Manta Lodge in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MosquitoBait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
7.8 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
16.4 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
635 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
77 reviews
5.1 mi away
Miller's Guest House
Miller's Guest House
#9 of 92 in Tobago
146 reviews
7.4 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Lodge

Address: Windward Road, Speyside, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range: £45 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy 22 room property may be small, but it still features a number of 'big' amenities - the Green Moray Bar & Restaurant, soft sand beach, full service dive shop, freshwater swimming pool, reading nook with a multi-lingual lending library, endless hiking trails and plenty of room to relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manta Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Hotel Speyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing