We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay”
Review of Manta Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manta Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We dropped in without reservations and the staff made us feel welcome. The staff is friendly and professional and still tolerated our playfulness. The ocean is right across the street and very accessible to swimming with a pebbly little beach. The hotel is nestled against a hill and a little way from Speyside so it is quiet and relaxed. We were lucky enough to enjoy the resident fruit bats that roost in the vault over a balcony. The staff was embarrassed about the bats but couldn't discourage them from roosting there. We appreciated their nature-friendly attitudes and felt fortunate to observe the little creatures. While we were there, the staff prepared a special Thanksgiving dinner that incorporated Western dishes with Tobagoan tastes. It was very nice. We would like to thank Jillianne, Korina, Marisa, Elain, Corisa, Whitney, Kerin, LInda, Patsy, Eddy, Raul and Lendon for making us feel like honored guests.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jthbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Manta Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2010

The first room had a water leak, and changing room was smooth. The second room was somewhat more spacious with mini-refrigerator. AC worked for the most part. The doors to the balcony had lots of gaps, so it is not eco-friendly to use it. I would have left the windows open if there were screened windows. Shower had the best pressure in Caribbean.
Local food was OK, but rather expensive in all Speyside even compared to the other part of the island. Locals do not eat beef so that steak was naturally not well prepared. We loved the local food at Sharon's in Charlotteville. It's worth going there.
We had rough ocean so the dive sites were limited. Dive Experience's main boat was custom built to dive there, but we were told it is normally not at Speyside. Dive masters were mostly very good, but the operation is not well organized. Since they have to transfer the divers and their equipment to the pier, they could have used it. There was no water in the rinse tank except the last day we were there. I assume they put the water for us. Gear was washed under the running water at the pier otherwise.
The owner Sean is a character and he did lot for us. He is the Manta Lodge and if you like him this is your place, otherwise you better have a perfect weather to dive. Bad water condition and holidays (some staff were off) did not help our vacation or rating here.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benkyoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

To discover the underworld, a safe and nice place far from every where
cool staff and friendly people all around

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

I f you go to Tobago for scuba diving, this is the place to stay. The hotel caters to divers. There is an onsite dive shop with an attached and secure storage room for your gear; and the dive operation is excellent. The dive boats are small, but the dive sites are on the average four to five minutes away. There are no prolonged boat rides here. The dive staff are professional and extremely accomodating to your preferences. No crowded cattle car mentality here.

The hotel is very relaxing offering ocean views from all rooms. I found the rooms large (mine had three beds) and nicely appointed. There is adequate lighting since each room opens to a nice balcony overlooking the ocean. You are close enough to fall asleep to the sound of the waves breaking just outside the balcony.

The food is generally good with some meals exceptionally good. There is much seafood (fresh local catch) cooked local style. Initially I thought the prices of lunch and dinner were a bit pricey, but the rates are consistent with the 2 other hotels in the area and the 3 restaurants down the street.

This place is isolated. There is a very small town nearby, but don't count on shopping or night life here. What you do have is an environment that the other islands in the caribbean had 50 or 60 years ago. There is an untouched rain forest that starts out the back door and dive sites where you can be alone.

So if you are tired of over crowded and over used dive sites and want a very pleasant experience in a quiet hotel tucked between the rain forest and nearby dive sites, this the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahbutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Remote and worth it.

If you have developed an allergy to big impersonal resorts, beach vendors, time share vendors, cattle boats and general "assembly line" type dive operations, Manta Lodge IS the place for you. There is NONE of that there.

I have been everywhere and I needed to find a new place where I could take my 18 year old niece (newly certified) and show her what diving is really like. Crank up her skills up a notch and give her to opportunity to admire and appreciate Neptune’s hospitality. It also had to be a safe place.

I met Sean at the Los Angeles Scuba Show and made up my mind. Personal attention, small boats, warm water, remote, I was sold.

The moment you get there after 3 planes and a long drive, it is like you are visiting family. Late at night there are sandwiches waiting and everyone already knows your name.

It is actually a family; there is 3 generations of Robinsons working there. "Uncle" Clyde the grandfather, Sean "The Big Cheese" and his son Swiss the dive master. Charm runs in the family. "Uncle" Clyde gives very good hugs. They are people who genuinely care that you fell at home and have a good time. One of the owners is an Indian woman from Trinidad named Vidya who is absolutely delightful. If I lived there I would want to be her friend.

There is WI-FI and if you don't have your own computer they will let you use the dive shop's or office computer at no charge.

The Island people are all very friendly, they use the names "Uncle" and Auntie" as a mark of respect to seniors, never Mister or Ms. Strangers will come and talk to you with a smile. Especially children. There are no beggars; at least I did not encounter any. Perhaps a couple of hobos dancing by themselves to the sounds of Reggae by the local watering hole but totally harmless.

The rooms are very comfortable, not fancy but more than adequate and clean (I am picky about cleanliness). Beds are comfortable (I have a bad back). The view is beautiful; from your room balcony you can see the beach right across the narrow road. There is a river right by the hotel with resident herons that are fun to watch.

The pool is nice, right by the small bar and dining room. No long walks, it's all right there. They have everything you need at the bar, we never ran out of anything. The local beer "Carib" is quite good. Since I prefer wine, “Uncle” Clyde made sure that they had good Chilean Chardonnay for me. Finding decent wine can be a frustrating experience in the tropics...

Breakfasts are generous portions, cooked to order and served quickly enough. Lunch is pretty basic but fit for hungry divers. Good burgers, One option is to stop at the "Roti" shack by the pier after your 2 morning dives and buy a "Roti" it is like a giant burrito with curry inside, can be chicken (watch for little bones), beef and potatoes or just chick peas. The chick peas ones are also called "Doubles" dirt cheap and heavenly! It is a must! I wish they had some at the lodge...I guess it is a specialty only made by certain skilled locals. It is made fresh everyday and when they run out that's it.

Dinner is nice but quite pricey in my opinion, but it is indeed a small remote island and "Gringo" food has to be imported and it is a costly thing to do in these parts. I would have liked to see more simple local fare...Note to restaurant :-)

OK, the best part; THE DIVING. First, these guys are very good, no stupid lectures like they do in a lot of places making you feel like they are doing you a favor. Just smart-to-the-point briefings. All you need to know, clear instructions. I saw some of the training they give to the students, it is a boot camp. Just like what I went through in Panama…way back :-)

Current can be an issue at times and the dive masters are very much on top of it. They may change the dive spot on the last minute by what they see to ensure that you get the best and safest dive. Once in the water they let you do your thing...They will point out cool things and shadow you. No furious clanking, beeping, quacking, klaxons or anything equally annoying in behavior. Why going into the ocean to feel like you are in a noisy traffic jam somewhere in a big city???

You always dive from a live boat. No lines to come up and down. It can be hard on unqualified, rusty, overweight, chain smokers, ill divers (there was one sad example while we were there). To enjoy yourself make sure that you have been to the pool recently and brushed up on your skills, it will be worth it. The guys are very helpful and dedicated but no one can possibly compensate for gross incompetence.

We saw turtles on every dive, even 2 leather backs, lots of colorful life, great place for photographers. There is a cool shipwreck almost in front of the lodge and you can end your dive on a couple of reefs or even swim out to the lodge. There is a warm green current that can come up in summer from the coast of South America, it makes the water darker and the viz goes down. I did not care, brought a flashlight and enjoyed the fishes getting closer (fools).

I heard that the viz is best in winter (dry season). Even though it rained and the green current was there at times I found the diving perfectly fine. Nice warm water and lots of life. What else can you ask for?

We took a drive through the island with a driver named Andy who had picked us up from the airport the first night. He is a native who used to live in the US and came back. He took us to the waterfalls, the forts, spectacular vistas, mango trees, town parties, night market, “Roti” shops. Even took us to his home to meet his lovely wife and small son. We sat there chatting, watching wild chickens peck about the yard, his dogs, drinking beers, enjoying his family’s hospitality. That was priceless.

If you want something different and are willing to get there and be opened to adventure you won’t be disappointed. Kiss “Uncle” Clyde for me!

Christine Tremblay
Los Angeles

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C-Urchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Just had a Group of Sport Diver Magazine Readers at Manta Lodge and Tobago Dive Experience for a week of Diving and fun. The Staff could not have been more friendlier, you feel like part of the "Family" almost the minute you arrive. The food was authentic and tasty, the rooms comfortable and the Diving was out of this world! If you are looking for an AUTHENTIC island experience without the usual commercialism - this is the place for you - SO very laid back and serene..I will be going back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divetraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

This trip felt more like visiting family members with an intimate knowledge and understanding of the area and culture than booking a trip with a group. Sean Robinson and the folks at Manta Lodge welcomed us in and really enjoyed showing us the area, making the experience very fulfilling. Staff was extremely helpful and accommodating and couldn't have done more.

The rooms were clean and sufficient (we weren't in them that long!) and really just a place to shower and sleep as most of our time was spent diving. Falling asleep to the sound of cane toads and the waves and waking up to the sounds of many different species of birds was idyllic and peaceful.

Dive staff were extremely knowledgeable and experienced as we explored the beautiful, untouched reefs in Tyrrel's Bay off of Speyside. Dive sites with names such as Coral Gardens, Japanese Gardens and Back Garden (get the picture?!) contain surreal landscapes of Dali-esque sponges and the various Caribbean species that inhabit them. Manta Rays love this clean and nutrient filled water!

Off the beaten path, means very few tourists have been there to ruin this place they call the Galapagos of the Caribbean.

Meals were excellent everywhere we ate, consisting mostly of fish or chicken. Try the roti and if you get to Gemma's Tree House try the pumpkin soup. Service is "island style", relax, enjoy yourself and don't be in a hurry!

June was the end of the dry season, comfortably warm, water temps of 85 degrees. Loved it and can't way to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichinChitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
7.8 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
250 reviews
16.4 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,525 reviews
3.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Bacolet Beach Club
Bacolet Beach Club
#1 of 2 in Bacolet Bay
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Lodge

Address: Windward Road, Speyside, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range: £44 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy 22 room property may be small, but it still features a number of 'big' amenities - the Green Moray Bar & Restaurant, soft sand beach, full service dive shop, freshwater swimming pool, reading nook with a multi-lingual lending library, endless hiking trails and plenty of room to relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Manta Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Hotel Speyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing