We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diving”
Review of The Speyside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Speyside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
holland
1 review
“Great diving”
Reviewed 4 October 2007

We have stayed in the speyside inn for two weeks in september 2007. The hotel staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and well maintained. The pool and garden were beautifull. All rooms have sea view. The dive shop is located next to the hotel and is run in a very good way by a swiss manager.
Speyside is a quiet place in a beautifull part of Tobago, good for diving or nature. No mass tourism.

  • Liked — dive school
  • Disliked — diversity food
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank duiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    22
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2007

We booked the Speydide inn for a diving trip.
The diving was good, but not spectacular.
The hotel is OK, the best food in town, rooms are nice, but need maintenance. Quality of the staff very different. Some are helpful and friendly, but a number of them is very lazy and socially disabled.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2006

A lovely little town but had a slightly off-season empty feel when we were there in early January.

The hotel was very clean and simple but felt a bit bleak. There wasn't always anyone on duty at the outside reception area and some of the staff seemed to lack a bit of training. I think this feeling was amplified by the windyness and crashing Atlantic Waves (very noisy at night).

Having said that the hotel was very helpful and organised an excellent rainforest/island guide (Wayne Gray) for us. You can also get a glass bottom boat ride to little tobago from the Blue Waters Inn where there are some lovely sea birds - snorkelling was offered on the way back.

Food at the restaurant was great - we had super-fresh lobster for £10.

I would recommend coming to this area a bit later in the dry season as in the afternoon it wasn't even warm enough to swim. Also watch out for the prices in Jemma's Tree House shop - they blatantly charged us more as tourists, prices differed when servers weren't 'in the know'. Perhaps this is fair enough but please keep it subtle!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lizzie__C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2005

Stayed in the tower room at the Speyside Inn, which has a rather spectacular view eastwards across the bay. Unfortunately, the weather was rather mixed due to the time of year, but there was still more than enough sunshine to develop a healthy bronzey.

The room was clean and comfortable, the staff friendly, and, thanks to Christian the German chef, the food in the hotel was pretty good. In addition to the usual staple hotel menu items such as steak etc., there was plenty of fresh local fish to be had (and even a little tuna sashimi - a novelty for T&T, where they tend to serve all their fish very well-done).

This is, in truth, just as well, as the options for dining elsewhere in Speyside are pretty limited, apart from the redoubtable Jemma's tree-top restaurant, which serves a daily-changing lunch menu of local seafood, but, alas, no booze.

However, the main point about the Speyside Inn is the scuba diving, which is great. The hotel (like the others here) has a dive school attached, and the local reef and aquatic life are spectacular - they have the world's largest brain coral here, don't you know (it's about 12' in diameter).

But if you don't like snorkelling, diving or reading by the pool (the beach is only about 6' wide), then you would probably find the lack of other diversions hereabouts a drawback. There are, oddly, no other watersports in evidence, apart from the odd local surfing. That said, if you have a car, it could be a good base for exploring other local attractions such as the rainforest reserve and the waterfall (agree the price with your guide first, though!).

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank matthewoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 March 2004

This small inn right across the street from the ocean was so great! The room is simple but nice, kind of like someone's beachhouse. They have everything you need right there, and there are also 3 restaraunts right down the road. The food was very good and they are accomodating. The patio is nice for just swinging in the hammock, or you can walk down the road to the lookout benches or the dock at Blue Waters Inn for a boat ride from Frank's tours. We had a gorgeous view of Little Tobago from our room, and the staff was so nice. They make the best rum punch!
I would love to go back to Speyside soon, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
23.1 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
15.2 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.9 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
22.7 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
11.3 mi away
Castara Retreats
Castara Retreats
#1 of 11 in Castara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speyside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speyside Inn

Property: The Speyside Inn
Address: 193 Windward Road 189, Speyside, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Speyside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Speyside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Speyside Hotel Speyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing