We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real taste of Tobago”
Review of The Speyside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Speyside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
Wiltshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A real taste of Tobago”
Reviewed 1 January 2010

If you are looking for somewhere to go in Tobago where you'll be guaranteed the usual 4 star European hotel experience...stop reading now! Whatever most people may consider to be its faults, the Speyside Inn delivers a true Tobago experience. The inn isn't luxurious, its actually very basic; it doesn't offer elegant cuisine, it offers simple local food; it isn't in the slightest way contrived; its almost like being part of the local community. And this is its real strength as you can't help but feel as though you are melting into the surroundings and becoming part of life in Speyside.

We went to Tobago to enjoy the diving. There is an on-site dive centre in the grounds of the inn and we made full use of it. The reefs in Tyrells Bay are full of a variety of life and the local dive master - Leon - knows them like the back of his hand; he should do, he's been diving them since he was a small child! Some of the swells and currents are not for the novice, but Leon knows how to help amateur divers along the way - trust me, he helped me!

The inn has a laid back atmosphere. It does take a few minutes for staff to come to you and take your order - but that is the way it is; and so what? Breakfast is included and comprises of fresh fruit and juice and then a hot choice or cereal with tea or coffee. The evening meal changes according to what is caught in the surrounding seas, but was always delicious and stays true to Tobagon cuisine. If you prefer, you can always dine at the local restaurants which are a short walk towards the centre of Speyside. We enjoyed local dishes, but they tend to produce very similar meals.

My advice would be to book a room fitted with air conditioning. We didn't and found it difficult to circulate air into the room at night even with the doors and windows open. The mosquito net was a must! Otherwise, the rooms are basic but functional. You have a bathroom with a sink, WC and shower; the main rooms are fitted with a wardrobe with a safe, a couple of bedside tables and a bed - and most important of all, a fridge! We enjoyed a balcony view out into the bay and the magnificent sunrises.

Overall, the inn is basic and functional. The staff are friendly and helpful, and Lenore pours a mean gin & tonic! It isn't luxury, but it is a feel of true Tobago. We loved it, we would definitely go back - but we'll be taking advantage of the air conditioning next time!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanky_lanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    22
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2009

This is a very nice beach hotel. It is located in a less develoveped side of the Island. It is ideal to relax and enjoy the beaches that are near by. However, if you are planning to go to Scarborough or to Bucco Reef you are in the wrong side of the island. It takes 45 minutes to get there from Scarborough because of the narrow, curvy road.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxpapitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

This is a small hotel with a glorious location in a quiet part of a wonderful island.

Glorious things:
1 sitting on the balcony and watching the ocean
2 sleeping in bed and hearing the waves crash

The rooms are spacious and nicely laid out - esp on the 3rd floor - great great great views of Little Tobago across the bay.
Quiet and clean. Firm mattresses. Simple decor ( one very terrible painting so just
enjoy the view)
Staff are friendly - but remember the pace is Caribbean - it is not DC or NYC .
I did wait 5 minutes early one morning - when I wandered down before breakfast
for a pot of hot water - but they had to heat up the water.

Breakfast is fine - the usual fare. (eggs and a bit of fruit)0
Dinner - quite slow and rather mediocre.

Intenet is available - in the reception area.

For us it was the perfect place - friendly low key - nice to watch the life
roll by from the balcony - very little traffic on the street in front.

It is not the place to go if you want to be pampered but if you want to simply
enjoy the view - swimming - snorkeling- birding and some great roti at lunch -
you CANNOT go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laughingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Let's be frank up front: this is not the Ritz. If you want plush accommodations you are in the wrong place. But there are lots of good things to say about this hotel. First, it's clean well located and easy to find. It's right on the main road, and across the street from the water. You can sit on the porch outside the room and watch the surf as you drink a cool beverage. The air conditioning works well and the beds are comfortable. The cooked-to-order breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The open air dining room was very pleasant. We also ate dinner there one night and had a good meal although it was a little pricey. The cook and waitstaff in the restaurant were lovely.

The negatives? The staff was not there when we arrived. Luckily we found keys behind the desk. Someone (we were later told he was security but he was not on site) came walking up the road... and when he saw we had keys he left without telling us who he was. The attitude of the front desk the next morning was essentially, "Well, you got in didn't you?" By the way, if that attitude bothers you, you DO NOT want to visit Trinidad/Tobago.

But except for that glitch, we enjoyed our stay. The pool up above the hotel and the gardens are really lovely and there are tons of birds to watch. The price of the accommodation was reasonable. It is very near 3-4 lovely beaches.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COSpgsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We were with a group staying at Manta Lodge, a hotel on the same road in Speyside. We'd had problems with the room and bathroom being very dirty and mouldy at Manta, - we didnt expect the Ritz and have stayed in dive accommodation before, but Manta was just too dirty. The owner, Sean Robinson clearly not investing money into even basic maintenance of the place - we were without water for nearly two days and all he did was swan around the place with visiting family and friends.

We put up with it for a week but did complain to the tour operator and the management - but it seemed the general standard of rooms was pretty much the same - other people in the group were also very unhappy. At the end of the first week we moved to Speyside Inn and felt this was where our real holiday started. Staff at Speyside Inn were friendly, the food was great and varied, our room and bathroom immaculate and spotlessly clean. The pool and garden were great and private from the road. All in all, a great move and whilst almost the same price, a different standard altogether from Manta Lodge.

Interesting to see now that the tour operator we booked with for May 2008 have stopped using Manta Lodge and are now advertising Speyside Inn on their website - so they obviously felt the need to change too. - Wise move!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Nico2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2007

We have stayed in the speyside inn for two weeks in september 2007. The hotel staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and well maintained. The pool and garden were beautifull. All rooms have sea view. The dive shop is located next to the hotel and is run in a very good way by a swiss manager.
Speyside is a quiet place in a beautifull part of Tobago, good for diving or nature. No mass tourism.

  • Liked — dive school
  • Disliked — diversity food
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank duiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2007

We booked the Speydide inn for a diving trip.
The diving was good, but not spectacular.
The hotel is OK, the best food in town, rooms are nice, but need maintenance. Quality of the staff very different. Some are helpful and friendly, but a number of them is very lazy and socially disabled.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
23.1 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
1.9 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
618 reviews
17.4 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
22.7 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Top Ranking Guesthouse
Top Ranking Guesthouse
#4 of 5 in Speyside
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speyside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speyside Inn

Property: The Speyside Inn
Address: 193 Windward Road 189, Speyside, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Speyside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Speyside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Speyside Hotel Speyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing