We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN TOBAGO . A MUST DO EXPERIENCE.”
Review of Blue Waters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Waters Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN TOBAGO . A MUST DO EXPERIENCE.”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

2 weeks of unspoilt bliss, no buzzers and bells, no glitz and glamour, no evening entertainment , just peace, naturally persevered beauty.
The blue water inn is set in an secluded bay so the waters are warm and calm, there is no different in the sea state between the Atlantic side and caribbean side in fact the Caribbean side was rougher on our visit.
The transfer time from airport is about 1 hour 20 mins , but well well worth the ride, Prince our driver was pleasant and helpful.
Our room was outstanding for the star rating of this hotel. Only wish free water was freely available to guest at all times, due to the tropical heat as a courtesy gesture, we all know how much we should drink and with small bottles of water at £1.00 a bottle it can work out pretty expensive.
I have read many reports about the staff here and yes I agree to a point there are some issues about interaction with guest
I don't believe after spending time here that this is done deliberately or to be rude, I got to know 2 members of staff that I personally had issues with over the first 3 days, they are younger female bar/ waiting staff. If you interact with them they really can't do enough for you.
Remember, these people come from a small village are not corporate trained , which do you know what, IS ALL PART OF THE CHARM OF THIS PLACE.
JASON, the operations manager just blew us away, he is on site 24/7 hes approachable, knowledgable and has an amazing respect and pride in this jewel of tobago.
He's fully aware of all the issues mentioned in these reports and is working tirelessly daily, weekly and monthly to improve every ones experience here at blue water.
Dont change it too much Jason, its near perfect as it is.
THE DIVE SCHOOL, there is too much of a party atmosphere going on outside the dive school at times with staff shouting and carrying on between dives. It comes over as very unprofessional and needs reining in.
BREAKFAST.. Plenty to eat and cooked breakfast cooked for you as you order, but it is made impossible to cater for when geust who are on half board are removing fruits, cakes muffins etc from breakfast bar to have for there lunch rendering the breakfast bar stripped bare by 8 am. This needs to be controlled, if you can afford to holiday here, you can afford to buy some lunch!
ERICA you deserve a gold medal, your service to guest goes up and above whats expected and you should run your own staff training program because you got it all going on girl. Jason you need to work with this girl, maybe promotion to front of house manager is the way forward with Erica leading the front of house team.
Pinky, avion , rhinan your brilliant keep doing what your doing youve got it just perfect.
JASON CHEF, amazing food, amazing chef, goes just the extra mile, mingling with every one, helping with dietary needs , even waiting table. Can't praise his attitude and commitment to his job enough.
So to sum up, if you want calm, unspoilt, natural beauty with good food, good diving, good bird watching, quality rooms and to just be left alone to relax unwind and chill out, this is for you, if you want tobago with buzzers and bells American style its just the wrong place, I know where I'd rather be. SEE YOU NEXT YEAR AND DONT STOP WHAT YOUR DOING, YOUR DOING IT WELL . THANK YOU FOR THE BEST 2 WEEKS OF MY LIFE.XX
.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benson605089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Massive thanks for all your comments and feedback on your recent stay. This is really useful and we will take on board your positive comments along with the areas that need more attention. You very rightly point out that we employ as many local people as possible - this end of Tobago is quiet, rural and many people are quite reserved. As you say, once the ice is broken you will find Tobagonians warm, friendly and charming. Jason and his team are working hard and we are seeing a steady improvement in customer services. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    230
    57
    24
    12
See reviews for
96
344
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tobago
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband and I went to see the place for our Anniversary and were met with a very rude security guard at the gate who spoke to us like we came to rob the place but upon entering the property we immediately felt euphoric as it is just so gorgeous! The receptionist was fine but she said she was alone at the front desk and too busy to show us a room so we asked to go to the bar.

The bar is where we met the lovely and super helpful Erica. I was sure she was a Manager but she said she was just a waitress but in our opinion, she is so much more than that. She went out of her way to show us a room and then entertained us at the bar with her vast knowledge of the property and the surroundings. She is a true gem and we will surely be staying here for our Anniversary.

The property and location is so enchanting and Erica made it twice as nice. I just hope she doesnt go on vacation when we arrive!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandyJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I once had a very short visit to the hotel in 2006 and fell in love with the place and planned to return to stay at the hotel for a few nights and we were not at all disappointed . We were privileged to be escorted by the GM to our room #39 on the ground floor which was ideal with a lovely view of the sea and jetty. The room and amenities was very nice just as seen in the pic on the website . The service was good and must thank Erica and the other waiting staff on duty for their hospitality even when asked to do extra . Into snorkeling i had a wonderful time and took a tour with the Topranking tour boat in which you pay separately . The tour guide Randy was great and made us feel safe and comfortable as we were taken to Little Tobago to see the plants, birds, spiders and the view which was breath taking. We later went snorkeling.
The food was good with different choices each day but a little pricey i may add .Though an hr and some minutes from Scarabrough its well worth it.
What i liked best was hearing the water hitting the beach, the safe, relaxing feeling that the atmosphere provides. What i likes least is the bumpy hill to come into and leave the ressort , but on the hill the view is amazing . A 20 minute walk to Speyside or 15 min drive to Charlotteville is also very nice. Certainly will come back.

Room Tip: For those who love being very private, the top floor rooms or bonglows are for you , but the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stafan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
We are so pleased to hear about your recent memorable stay at Blue Waters Inn. Being a little remote has its pluses and minuses - but like 99% of guests the pluses hugely outweigh the negatives and going to sleep with the sound of the ocean 10 feet from your room is the "price" you pay!! The staff are all local and a real credit to Speyside and the island of Tobago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed at this establishment as part of a birdwatching holiday.

This is a fairly isolated property although it only takes 20-30 minutes to walk into Speyside (a number of restaurants and bars to visit). The drive out of the hotel is steep at times, however.

My room was located within the block nearest to the PADI Dive Centre on the ground floor. It was of reasonable specification with a functional bathroom with a walk-in shower. Everything operated in a satisfactory manner. Partial sea views.

Breakfast was average (small selection of breads cereal and juice) but there is a menu that lists the one hot item that you could try, which was varied. Coffee and Tea is available 24hrs. Dinner was waitress served and again the selection was fairly impressive. Food was of a high standard (the Tenderloin steak was outstanding) and the staff friendly and laid back (a very Tobagan trait).

Kayaks and snorkling gear was available and the Padi Dive Centre offers the usual equipment (they have motorised craft to transport you to the various dive sites near Bird of Paradise Island). Clean beach but not the pristine white sand you m ight expect (this faces the Atlantic Ocean). Little entertainment, apart from a very good Bar-B Q near the pool where a Steel Band played at meal time. Day trips could be arranged at the reception, manned by willing staff.

This is a good hotel for a relaxing break away from the main resort area north of the airport.

On the last day we had to take a courtesy room in the block n

Room Tip: Do not occupy a first floor room in the block nearest the reception. We used one to freshen up befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbruce912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Blue Waters. With only 3 stars given out of a possible 5, I was expecting tales of woe, but thankfully it seems your birdwatching stay was with us was in fact highly satisfactory. Secluded and relaxed is certainly one of our strengths and being located close to the prime birding areas of the Main Ridge Reserve and the premier dive sites makes Blue Waters Inn ideal for those wishing to get away from the run of the mill hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Tobago and a fabulous two weeks at the Blue Waters Inn, Speyside. We have been to a number of Caribbean islands and Tobago felt the most friendly of all of them, especially when you get away from the more touristy south end. The hotel is in a great spot, on its own private and secluded bay overlooking Goat Island and Little Tobago, at the extreme north of this lovely green island and we thought the room, food and facilities were great. The hotel is small and unique and provides the ideal place to chill out and relax or to be more active if you want. We made full use of the opportunities for swimming (just a few steps from your room) scuba diving (the resort has its own well run and helpful Padi 5 star dive centre), hiking in the rainforest and bird spotting - we loved the humming birds feeding stations right next to our balcony. If you want to explore Tobago, you can do this on organised tours but hiring a car is great and really allows you to see the real Tobago for yourself. The roads are winding and hilly but there isn't much traffic outside of Crown Point and Scarborough and slow driving is what you want on holiday after all. If you are staying in Speyside we would definitely recommend a visit to the lovely little village of Charlotteville and the nearby beach of Pirates Bay - there are a lot of steps down (and back up) to the beach but its well worth it and if you don't fancy the steps one of the local fisherman will take you to the beach and back by boat. Other good places to visit are Little Tobago, the Argyle Waterfall, Englishmans Bay and of course the magnificent rain forest. We found the service good and the staff very friendly and helpful and more than happy to chat - there are some lovely people there and quite a few who really made us feel welcome - thank you to them all.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room - they all have sea views but the ground floor ones lead straight onto t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback and we are very happy you had such a lovely stay at Blue Waters Inn recently. It really sounds like you had a great time with us in Speyside. Tobago is the real deal - tropical rainforests, amazing underwater seascape, friendly people and tasty creole inspired food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great sampford
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just got back today from a truly wonderful week spent at beautiful Blue Waters Inn. If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind . . . Look no further . . . Blue Waters Inn has it all , for this is nature at its best , a small hotel in truly breathtaking surroundings. We had a ground floor room - the view and the sound of the waves was mesmerising , you could not tire of looking at it , and just steps away from your door. Birdlife is so plentiful , from pelicans diving down into the sea to the beauty of little Tobago , a short boat ride away across the bay , a trip really not to be missed. We did the island tour with Mr Prince Edwards , who can be highly recommended to provide a wonderful day at a very fair price ( reception would be able to contact him for you ) .The food at blue waters is exceptional - mouth watering steaks and fish dishes are cooked to order by chefs Jason and Karon . The menu changes each evening. Staff were welcoming and very friendly adding to the guests experience of a really enjoyable stay - thanks to Avion , Juniper , and Rihanna to name but a few. So . . . I genuinely would really recommend this hotel . . It is different . . . A rare find. . . An escape from the usual . . . A special place in which to recharge your batteries . Don't hesitate to sample all it has to offer.

Room Tip: I liked my ground floor room . . . So close to the beach , sea and birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderfully positive feedback. It is so good to hear that our guests have had a brilliant time at Blue Waters Inn. I think you hit the nail on the head when you say this is "the place to relax and unwind". We agree and this is what we try to excel at......and nature has given us a wonderful spot perfect for getting away from the day to day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke Rivers, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have just had a week at this hotel after a week on Trinidad. It was amazing and what a position. The only fault was that although polite some of the staff did not engage with you very much. They were all very good at the service they provided but not the happiest bunch some times. Having said that the place was well run and we had no fault with the service, accommodation or the food. Will certainly recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Get one of the ground floor rooms with a veranda or a cottage then just step out onto the sand, amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you very much for letting us have your thoughts. The only way we can keep is improving is via our no.1 priority - the guests. We are really pleased you had such a lovely stay and would positively recommend Blue Waters Inn to fellow travellers. We will keep working towards getting 5 out of 5 from guests and working hard to ensure our team of staff are always fully engaged with guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
23.9 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
16.3 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
248 reviews
20.0 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,512 reviews
18.0 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
19.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Inn

Property: Blue Waters Inn
Address: Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just 38 guest rooms and bungalows, Blue Waters Inn sits in 42 acres of tropical gardens directly on the beach at Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago. Getting to us takes approximately 85 minutes from the airport. Speyside is super relaxed with quick access to the Main Ridge rainforest and the key underwater sites of the island. Twitchers and divers / snorkellers are very well catered for and the hotel is perfect for those wishing to simply switch off and enjoy the hotels tranquil location. The beach shelves gently and is considered safe for bathing. Lay by the pool or in the open air jacuzzi and admire the view across Batteaux Bay towards Bird Island and Little Tobago in the near distance. Learn to dive at our 5 star PADI dive centre complete with 2 Newton dive boats or explore the rainforest with one of the local guides. All our rooms are air-conditioned and face the sea. Most offer fabulous sea views and are only a few steps from the sand. The One and Two Bungalows are bigger and offer either one or two bedrooms. These are located a few steps from the beach have a patio. Deluxe Oceanview Studios are also very spacious and have an open plan kitchen / living room. Inter-connecting rooms are available for families needing more space. The fabulous Driftdeck offers dining alfresco with views straight out across the bay whilst the more elegant "Aqua" offers fine cuisine two or more nights per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Waters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Northeast Coast
Blue Waters Inn Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing