We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreams do come true!!”
Review of Blue Waters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Waters Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chaguanas, Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dreams do come true!!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The views, the views, the views.
This is exactly how I imagined visiting Hawaii when I closed my eyes. The views are absolutely amazing and still private from the other visitors.
Serene and mesmerizing to watch the water..Great Manager? Mr. Jason R, keep up the fantastic job, lovely property and well decorated/comfortable rooms. Good breakfast, too. My only regret is that my stay wasn't longer. (BTW - Anyone who is complaining about the somewhat remote location is missing the point!)

This was my first time at the Blue Waters Inn, and from the minute you walk in the door to your room, you know you're someplace special. I loved being right on the beach, listening to the waves lapping (or crashing) on the shore...such a lullaby at night and welcoming sound in the morn'.This is exactly how I imagined spending my birthday weekend when I closed my eyes. The views are absolutely amazing and still private from the other visitors.

My stay was gifted..and I will return...with 'gifters' :) any excuse to return.
Lots of planned activities, which I hope to indulge in on my next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms provide a great view! Leave the windows opened...NO ac needed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apple M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We are so pleased you had such a wonderful stay at Blue Waters Inn, Tobago. You are spot on with regards our amazing location - this is what makes the hotel so special. We are a bit of a drive to get to but visitors are amply rewarded for the effort. If you want to get away from the daily grind then is a little piece of tropical heaven waiting for you. Hope you can make it back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    230
    57
    24
    12
See reviews for
96
344
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Droxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed 4 nights at this delightful hotel, which is about one hour and 45 minutes by car from the international airport at Crown Point. We came for the scuba diving and the scuba centre attached to the hotel is very professional and properly staffed by expert divers. The diving is of high quality, provided you enjoy drift dives, some of which are in fast moving currents. The average boat journey from the hotel to the dive sites is only about 10 minutes.
Apart from divers the hotel had a large number of "twitchers" staying and apparently the local Tobago bird life is both diverse and exotic. Infact the hotel and surroundings are full of the national Tobago bird, the cocrico, which emits a loud screeching mating call every few minutes starting at 6.00 am! Fortunately it quietens down around 9.00 am and is then pretty quiet during the heat of the day with just a few calls at dusk.
The hotel bedrooms are spacious and comfortable and all have beach/sea views. There is also a nice pool with sea views. We took the full meal plan which was very good value. The menu changes daily and whilst not perhaps particularly imaginative, always provided a good selection of dishes including a vegetarian option. The food was always well cooked from fresh ingredients and we had some really good meals.The wine list is adequate and reasonably priced. However the wine by the glass was disappointing, being served from a " wine in a box" and rather stale. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. There is free wifi in the reception area and plenty of secure parking. The staff all share a 10% service charge that is added to all transactions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ovvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Your review of Blue Waters Inn is much appreciated. We are very pleased to hear your very positive comments about your recent stay. We do attract divers and I am happy that you found our in-house dive operation to be of such a good standard. We are indeed lucky that the islands premier dive sites are so close to us. Twitchers too are well rewarded with a wide variety of local and visiting birds. In addition the nearby rainforest is UNESCO protected and attracts birders from around the world. We cannot claim to be perfect but are constantly looking at ways of improving our guest experience. As such every review is very useful to us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I chose the hotel because of the proximity of the best dive sites and wasn't expecting much from this 3 star hotel. However we can't recommend this place highly enough - it is delightful. Our room was a studio with a huge bed and a useful kitchen and lovely outlook over the sea from the balcony - all rooms look out over the sea. The hotel is very private and tucked away so there is very little contact with the outside world if this what you're looking for and if you want to eat out you will need to have a car or get a taxi - although the hotel does provide full board. For me the food was the let down - but I am a fussy eater. However there was a great deal of reliance on tinned / frozen and fried food at lunch - dinner is a limited in choice but to be fair this isn't a 5 star hotel and we didn't come here or to Tobago expecting gourmet food. But as I said if you are so inclined there are restaurants in the area but you'll need transport - talking to other guests who ventured out for dinner these places can be hit and miss - different views from similar couples on the same places and I honestly don't think that the food would have been materially better - and we like to have a drink in the evenings. They have a good selection of wines too.
There is a fantastic infinity pool which leads onto the beach which no one else apart from guests use. There is also a pontoon anchored a little way off the beach which you can swim to and we managed to have a picnic with wine there! Yes a picnic! It can be done! Try it! All of the staff are lovely - friendly and helpful. Towards the end of our stay a number of 'management' - not my term - arrived with clipboards - not sure what this means for the future of this hotel but there appeared to be meetings / discussions taking place quite often and I do hope there aren't plans to change this place too much because as I say above it is practically perfect and if anything needs tweaking it really is only the food offering. Regarding the attached dive centre - I will post a separate review - but briefly; this is a highly professional set up managed by Wayne and the standard of service from the dive staff above and below the water is also much better than we were expecting. Dive sites are 5 / 10 mins max away by boat - all dives are drift but easy; healthy corals; good fish life; it wasn't the right season for the big marine life and for that reason I would describe the diving as pleasant.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Wilma2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for you in depth review of Blue Waters Inn. This is much appreciated. I am happy that you had such a good stay recently and that the hotel ticked so many of the right boxes for you. The hotel is a work in progress and we are constantly looking for improvement. Your comments about some of the meals has been noted and will be addressed by the kitchen. The dive operation is we believe an excellent one where safety is of prime concern - happily we are blessed with the islands finest dive sites just a few minutes boat ride away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Tucked away from it all, this little hotel is a real gem. Set in stunning scenery and landscaped gardens, it is breathtakingly beautiful. Our downstairs double room looking straight out onto the beach, only 20 steps away, was just lovely. Morning sunshine ensured top up on tans but we were a bit unfortunate with the weather and uppity seas meant we did not go to Little Tobago. However, with a car, it was easy to travel across to Charlotteville and walk to Pirates Bay for that all important calm swim.

Having stayed in self-catering for 10 days, with only fans to cool us, we were glad of the air-con. Our room was spacious and clean with plenty of space for hanging, storing clothes. Stunning shower too - powerful, consistenty and good amount of hot water.

Breakfast was fine; coffee and tea available free-of -charge all day was a bonus. Good range of rum cocktails. Not particularly being fans of hotel meals (bit too international for us) there are two good restaurants nearby: Birdwatcher's café (brilliant lobster!) and Gemma's (book a table for evening to ensure she stays open).

Staff were overwhelmingly friendly and attentive. Particular mention to Pinkey who made us feel welcome from the word go. Lovely smiles and waves from the girls on the security gate and Kim the barman.

This is a well-run hotel.. well done, Jason, keep up the good work. We look forward to returning, as long as the seas are calm and we can set foot on Little Tobago.

Room Tip: We liked our room... number 39!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Lovely to hear such positives about your recent stay at Blue Waters Inn. Sorry we could not have arranged the weather a bit more! We do have a great team here at Blue Waters Inn and we are lucky to have one of the best locations next to the beach at Batteaux Bay one could hope for. Look forward welcoming you "home" again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

6 nights hear over the New Year were just what we needed to start the 2014. Great staff, Erica, Jason and the team, good beach and relaxing atmosphere. Lovely party on NYE, really enjoyed our stay, we want to go back and discover the relaxed atmosphere here that mirrors the rest of Tobago. Coffee not great but the rum was good!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms avoid having people walking past, downstairs and you're straight on to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
So glad to hear you guys and a good few days with us over the New Year period. We would love to see you here again perhaps for a longer stay to chill further and discover more of our beautiful island. We will also work to improve the coffee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Blue Waters Inn offers clean and spacious rooms, quite a nice menu and wine list, friendly staff, and of course an idyllic location. But a handful of minor improvements would make staying there more comfortable.

Our room had:
No luggage stand or place to put your bag-- so use the floor
No hangars in the closet-- so use the shelves
No soap dish in the shower-- so use the high window sill
No hook in the bathroom for your toiletries bag-- so use the door knob

I'd stay there again, overall it was a lovely experience, but it seems that they could step up their game for a very modest investment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comments about your recent stay. We have noted your useful comments relating to "missing" features in your room / bathroom and hope to address these shortly. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful location for whatever you want to do. There is swimming, snorkeling, bird watching, hiking and more. We came as a group and the service was excellent and the rooms were very nice for a resort area. The set up to serve food should probably be redesigned. The food is OK. Bring little envelopes of coffee if you like coffee in the morning. They didn't have enough cups the first morning we were there and they will need to address logistics like this. However, these are the reasons for the downgrade from excellent to very good.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks so much for your recent review of Blue Waters Inn, Tobago. The views are indeed spectacular and a key ingredient in our mix of great location, tropical estate, tranquil beach and excellent staff. The rooms were renovated 18months to 2 years ago and are indeed well proportioned. The AC is I think vital although the ceiling fan is sometimes all one needs when things are not too hot. The trees in front of the rooms do get trimmed back from time to time but we are conscious not to interfere too much with mother nature so inevitably some views will be slightly obscured at times. Ground floor rooms do generally have an uninterrupted view but are less private.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
23.9 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
16.3 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
248 reviews
20.0 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,511 reviews
18.0 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
19.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Inn

Property: Blue Waters Inn
Address: Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just 38 guest rooms and bungalows, Blue Waters Inn sits in 42 acres of tropical gardens directly on the beach at Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago. Getting to us takes approximately 85 minutes from the airport. Speyside is super relaxed with quick access to the Main Ridge rainforest and the key underwater sites of the island. Twitchers and divers / snorkellers are very well catered for and the hotel is perfect for those wishing to simply switch off and enjoy the hotels tranquil location. The beach shelves gently and is considered safe for bathing. Lay by the pool or in the open air jacuzzi and admire the view across Batteaux Bay towards Bird Island and Little Tobago in the near distance. Learn to dive at our 5 star PADI dive centre complete with 2 Newton dive boats or explore the rainforest with one of the local guides. All our rooms are air-conditioned and face the sea. Most offer fabulous sea views and are only a few steps from the sand. The One and Two Bungalows are bigger and offer either one or two bedrooms. These are located a few steps from the beach have a patio. Deluxe Oceanview Studios are also very spacious and have an open plan kitchen / living room. Inter-connecting rooms are available for families needing more space. The fabulous Driftdeck offers dining alfresco with views straight out across the bay whilst the more elegant "Aqua" offers fine cuisine two or more nights per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Waters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Northeast Coast
Blue Waters Inn Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing