We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful.”
Review of Blue Waters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Waters Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful.”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a fantastic place, relaxing, charming and friendly. Go for at least half board. Wake up to the birds singning and the waves. Don't panic if you get out of literature, there are plenty of left novels in several languages in the games room. If you mind about wifi, it worked even in our room not to far from the reception. But most of the time you will look at the sea and see the local fishermen deliver to the restaurant....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We are so pleased you you had a great time staying and relaxing at Blue Waters Inn. We try to keep all our guests satisfied so it is lovely to get reviews from guests who have had such a nice holiday enjoying our tropical beachfront location. And thank you for posting your review in English - my Swedish is not very good!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    229
    57
    24
    12
See reviews for
95
343
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for carnival weekend. Great place to escape the hustle and bustle. Comfortable modern rooms, great dining, semi-private beach, quiet surroundings, lots of nature and great service.

Staff was warm and friendly throughout our stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KevinSM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

No ‘whisky trail’ in this Speyside - but their rum is pretty smooth.

All the good things people have written about Blue Waters Inn are well founded. This was a perfect spot to relax on the occasion of my wife’s 50th birthday.

Contrary to earlier reviews we found that BWI do have lots of mugs and cups. 24 hour provision of strong coffee, gratis, on tap, does see a lot of the cups migrating to guests rooms throughout the day. During our stay though, the cup supply never ran low.

We found all the staff courteous and professional, but there were some stars who shone. Restaurant supervisors Avion and Erica had excellent customer rapport, which for us put the icing on the cake – literally in the case of Erica, who organised an impromptu slice of “red velvet” birthday cake on the special day (see picture). Bar tender Oswyn was happy to advise on drinks, discuss football, life on Tobago and refereeing (a spare time pursuit).
It is difficult to name name all the folk who made this holiday memorable. Housekeeping did an excellent job, as did the grounds people- in particular Lyall, a happy soul who appeared, with machete, to prep the coconut that dropped from a tree near our room – delicious!

For a three/four star hotel, the choice and quality of the food throughout the day was really good - all provided, al fresco, just yards from the sea.

Ancillary services, such as taxi, snorkelling (Frank’s Glass Bottom Boat Tours) and the dive centre (kayaks and scuba) were all run efficiently and with a friendly Tobagan touch.
Andy Orr, our taxi driver, was a mine of information on local life, and seems either to know, or be related to, all 60,000 inhabitants of the Island.

The hotel's mini forest offered the chance to spot quite a few of the hundreds of bird species in the locale, but the daily challenge for us was to spot one of the forest's resident agoutis, who come to forage fallen fruit at quieter times of the day, but who are also fairly reclusive.

Clearly this is a great place for scuba and birding – but it is also an excellent place to unwind. We will endeavour to return.

Room Tip: Can’t believe our room (No 6) was a standard room – single story, totally refurbished, secluded vera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackOfTheGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Speyside idyll sums up well what Blue Waters Inn is all about. Many thanks for your review and we are very happy that you guys had such a wonderful time. Thanks also for taking the time to mention the staff members who made your stay so memorable - without the staff the hotel is just bricks and mortar. The staff are the icing on the cake and a credit to Tobago. If you come back to Tobago you know where to find us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny, ny
Level Contributor
166 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Blue Water Inn is as close to heaven as I have been!!!! The staff is exceptional and provide a good laugh!!! Our meals were GREAT and the rooms beautiful!! Everything about Blue Water is a dream come true!!! I suffer from Celiacs and our waitress was compassionate and ensured my health!!! The absolute best of Tobago!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerbuck11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks so much for your recent review. I am not sure we can claim to be closer to heaven than any other hotel but the sentiment is much appreciated. We do get most things right most of the time and aided by nature have a stunning beachfront location here on tropical Tobago. Add in a great team of staff and we have everything needed for a relaxing tropical escape for those wanting to get away from the usual day to day. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
251 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A great place to finish a holiday. About 90 minutes from the airport but well worth the journey. It is situated in its own bay with the main building and bedrooms all overlooking the sea.
Golden sand, blue seas and spectacular Caribbean views of the islands in the bay. The rooms are in a series of blocks and our standard room appeared to have been newly redecorated. A good size room with 2 large very comfy queen sized beds. The bathroom had extensive stonework and had an excellent shower and was cleaned to good standard. The room had good air conditioning and a ceiling fan. Both needed as the temperature was a fairly constant 30c during day dropping to 24c at night.

The evening meals were well cooked and presented with choice of starters and main course. The fresh kingfish steaks were excellent. The lunchtime menu was a bit disappointing and the Caribbean fold and chips will be remembered for a long time!

The bar area and adjacent tables are a great place to sit and have a rum punch. Watch the occasional pelican and look out on the spectacular views.

The hotel has a small infinity pool and outdoor jacuzzi with fabulous views over the bay. There is an outside bar and seating. Inside there is a games room. Canoeing,diving and boat trips available from hotel.

Room Tip: Restricted view of bay from first floor rooms before of trees. Ground floor rooms recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianatcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks so much for your recent review of Blue Waters Inn, Tobago. The views are indeed spectacular and a key ingredient in our mix of great location, tropical estate, tranquil beach and excellent staff. The rooms were renovated 18months to 2 years ago and are indeed well proportioned. The AC is I think vital although the ceiling fan is sometimes all one needs when things are not too hot. The trees in front of the rooms do get trimmed back from time to time but we are conscious not to interfere too much with mother nature so inevitably some views will be slightly obscured at times. Ground floor rooms do generally have an uninterrupted view but are less private.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaguanas, Trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The views, the views, the views.
This is exactly how I imagined visiting Hawaii when I closed my eyes. The views are absolutely amazing and still private from the other visitors.
Serene and mesmerizing to watch the water..Great Manager? Mr. Jason R, keep up the fantastic job, lovely property and well decorated/comfortable rooms. Good breakfast, too. My only regret is that my stay wasn't longer. (BTW - Anyone who is complaining about the somewhat remote location is missing the point!)

This was my first time at the Blue Waters Inn, and from the minute you walk in the door to your room, you know you're someplace special. I loved being right on the beach, listening to the waves lapping (or crashing) on the shore...such a lullaby at night and welcoming sound in the morn'.This is exactly how I imagined spending my birthday weekend when I closed my eyes. The views are absolutely amazing and still private from the other visitors.

My stay was gifted..and I will return...with 'gifters' :) any excuse to return.
Lots of planned activities, which I hope to indulge in on my next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms provide a great view! Leave the windows opened...NO ac needed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apple M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We are so pleased you had such a wonderful stay at Blue Waters Inn, Tobago. You are spot on with regards our amazing location - this is what makes the hotel so special. We are a bit of a drive to get to but visitors are amply rewarded for the effort. If you want to get away from the daily grind then is a little piece of tropical heaven waiting for you. Hope you can make it back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed 4 nights at this delightful hotel, which is about one hour and 45 minutes by car from the international airport at Crown Point. We came for the scuba diving and the scuba centre attached to the hotel is very professional and properly staffed by expert divers. The diving is of high quality, provided you enjoy drift dives, some of which are in fast moving currents. The average boat journey from the hotel to the dive sites is only about 10 minutes.
Apart from divers the hotel had a large number of "twitchers" staying and apparently the local Tobago bird life is both diverse and exotic. Infact the hotel and surroundings are full of the national Tobago bird, the cocrico, which emits a loud screeching mating call every few minutes starting at 6.00 am! Fortunately it quietens down around 9.00 am and is then pretty quiet during the heat of the day with just a few calls at dusk.
The hotel bedrooms are spacious and comfortable and all have beach/sea views. There is also a nice pool with sea views. We took the full meal plan which was very good value. The menu changes daily and whilst not perhaps particularly imaginative, always provided a good selection of dishes including a vegetarian option. The food was always well cooked from fresh ingredients and we had some really good meals.The wine list is adequate and reasonably priced. However the wine by the glass was disappointing, being served from a " wine in a box" and rather stale. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. There is free wifi in the reception area and plenty of secure parking. The staff all share a 10% service charge that is added to all transactions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ovvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Your review of Blue Waters Inn is much appreciated. We are very pleased to hear your very positive comments about your recent stay. We do attract divers and I am happy that you found our in-house dive operation to be of such a good standard. We are indeed lucky that the islands premier dive sites are so close to us. Twitchers too are well rewarded with a wide variety of local and visiting birds. In addition the nearby rainforest is UNESCO protected and attracts birders from around the world. We cannot claim to be perfect but are constantly looking at ways of improving our guest experience. As such every review is very useful to us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
23.9 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
16.3 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
244 reviews
23.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
18.0 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
19.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Inn

Property: Blue Waters Inn
Address: Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just 38 guest rooms and bungalows, Blue Waters Inn sits in 42 acres of tropical gardens directly on the beach at Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago. Getting to us takes approximately 85 minutes from the airport. Speyside is super relaxed with quick access to the Main Ridge rainforest and the key underwater sites of the island. Twitchers and divers / snorkellers are very well catered for and the hotel is perfect for those wishing to simply switch off and enjoy the hotels tranquil location. The beach shelves gently and is considered safe for bathing. Lay by the pool or in the open air jacuzzi and admire the view across Batteaux Bay towards Bird Island and Little Tobago in the near distance. Learn to dive at our 5 star PADI dive centre complete with 2 Newton dive boats or explore the rainforest with one of the local guides. All our rooms are air-conditioned and face the sea. Most offer fabulous sea views and are only a few steps from the sand. The One and Two Bungalows are bigger and offer either one or two bedrooms. These are located a few steps from the beach have a patio. Deluxe Oceanview Studios are also very spacious and have an open plan kitchen / living room. Inter-connecting rooms are available for families needing more space. The fabulous Driftdeck offers dining alfresco with views straight out across the bay whilst the more elegant "Aqua" offers fine cuisine two or more nights per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Waters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Northeast Coast
Blue Waters Inn Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing