We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Eco-break”
Review of Blue Waters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Waters Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at Blue Waters for 2 weeks, snorkelled in the bay & enjoyed 6 days diving, took the bus into Scarborough & Buccoo Point, visited Charlotteville, walked round to the next bays and organised a day trip with a local taxi driver to the rainforest, waterfall (not the Argyle which was low because there wasn't much rain) & englishmans bay (beautiful on the carribean side). So we found plenty to do & met lots of local people. We stayed in a standard room which was clean & fresh with no problems. Local ice/water ok in moderation but mostly had bottled water so no tummy upsets. We enjoyed the food at Blue Waters & wished we had gone HB rather than B&B. Jemma's was the only local restaurant with a priced menu, everywhere else it just depended on what was available that day & very variable quality - they looked like meals my granny would serve, wholesome but no "presentation".
Blue Waters staff were friendly & the facilities well maintained. We kayaked & tried the paddle boards too (all free). There is a good variety of birds on & around the site too. We'll certainly go back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maddie_Chez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Really pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable fortnight in Tobago and Blue Waters Inn. It sounds as though you guys explored the island and got some great diving in. Unfortunately in the local Speyside are there are very few dining options although Jemma's is always popular. Half Board is popular with many guests - perhaps next time! Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

I visited the hotel in June 2014 as a diver. It is a remote place far away from any city. It takes an hour and half to get there from Scarborough airport on a winding road that may make you sick. Do not expect spectacular views either. There are no places to walk to and spend evening. The one or two restaurants within 20 to 30 minutes up and down the hill walking sell mostly defrosted sea food. The hotel has good rooms and good food although many of the guests had mild transient gastrointestinal disturbances possible to the tap water or food. Upon our arrival some of us were not on the guest list and had to wait for the rooms.
Air temperature was mid seventies to mid eighties and water about 81. The narrow strip of beach has trees to shade you from sun but it faces south- east so after 5 -6 pm there in no sun on the beach. The near by hills completely obliterate the last 3 hours of the day light preventing sunsets' enjoyment. Quite sad. And boring.
My bathroom had overwhelming sewage smell all the time. Either due to the recycled toilet flush water or poor bathroom hydraulic installation.
Diving experience was mixed. Caring and comfortable dive shop unfortunately equipped with two small very narrow open sea boats. Getting ready to back flip with more then 8 divers was really uncomfortable. The ocean is never calm due to constant strong wind that makes return to boat challenging and the evenings unpleasant. Underwater life presents great coral diversity, average number of small size fish and less than usual for Caribbean diving larger specimens. Most of the dives are drift dives.
I visited local rain forest park and Argyle waterfalls. They are OK. It takes 1 hour to get to the rain forest and about 30 minutes to waterfalls. The organize trip that combines both takes half a day and starts at 8:30 am. Really?
It is a place for people who had been everywhere else in Caribbean already and want to go to bed early. If you are not one of them do not go.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. I am not sure what your expectations were for your recent stay but it seems that the hotel was not the right choice for you. The vast majority of guests come for quite relaxation - we don't have much nightlife and most guests are off to bed early. Without exception almost every person comments on the stunning and beautiful tropical vegetation surrounding the hotel - the beach is praised and the infinity pool for its views across the bay towards Goat Island and Little Tobago. Your headline wording "Unattractive" is not in sync with the almost every review so again I am not sure what your expectations were.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I frequently come and stay at Blue Waters for some wonderful peace and quiet and to recharge. The location is spectacular..the food delicious and the staff cannot be more helpful in and around the resort.....I have stayed in standard and deluxe rooms and have enjoyed both..i find the rooms very clean and the bed linen fresh..and attractive modern bathrooms...i particularly enjoy the upper floors and the breeze.and i didnt have any need for A/C. The beach is always clean and a fantastic spot to relax.... listen to the ocean and the birds....my favourite spot is the sun beds at the end of the jetty.
The bar tenders do a great job and the bar is well stocked ...my only suggestion regarding the bar is a better selection of wine.....i had a lovely time !..Thank you Blue Waters

Room Tip: i prefer the upper rooms...a lovely breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

What a glowing report - it seems as though Blue Water Inn ticks all the right boxes for you with the exception of the wine list. I will pass your comments back to the F&B manager to see how we can improve here. So glad you love our little peace of tranquility and calm and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We, a small group of divers and a two year old, came here for the diving and stayed for two weeks. Overall the service, rooms, location and dive operation was very good.

The location was beautiful with an array of bird life to entertain you. As for what was underwater, just fantastic, Beyond the resort, the rain forest is a must visit. The Dive shop is exceptional, with your every need catered for. They transfer your gear from shop to boat and back again. The briefings were comprehensive and the guided dives matched expectations of the brief.

As for the food, which seems to get some negative views, I have to say there was a more than adequate standard menu for breakfast and lunch with variable options daily and the evening meals were different every night. On a good few occasions we complimented the chef, who explained that he had 21 different evening menus to satisfy the needs of the longer staying guests. We were impressed. And our little traveler was also very well catered for with good quality baby/ small child seats provided and eats to meet his needs.

There are changes in hand in relation to the restaurant, which is being extended outward. I did hear on a couple of occasions that people eating inside the glazed area of the restaurant were disappointed with their location as opposed to the diners outside. This was the only problem with the hotel structure that I heard of.

We did have a couple of misunderstandings, the most significant being over times to leave our rooms on the day of departure. However, when referred to the manager all was resolved satisfactorily.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eamonn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Many thanks for your review and we are truly happy you can report so many positives from your recent stay. Our location is indeed wonderful and allows divers easy access to the islands top dive spots and, as your rightly mention, the rainforest which is close by and must be visited when staying. There are indeed plans to refurbish the "old" restaurant and ideally to make it more open to the elements and give guests more fab sea views. Plans are still taking shape but this is something which will be addressed. So pleased your comments about the whole dive experience are so positive. We think we have a good team in place but it's when we get great guest feedback that we know for sure we are doing things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This place is amazing. Exactly what rest and relaxation on an island should be. Peaceful, calm, clear waters, Great friendly, attentive, respectful staff. Very clean rooms/ bath with towel change and tidied rooms everyday. Did not see an insect or mosquito. The meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner) were tasty. For me dinner was on par with international cuisine. Drinks at the bar was divine especially the "secret" special that was served for Fathers' Day.Looking forward to my next stay at Blue Waters Inn soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 543cherylm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

So pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay at Blue Waters Inn. We do try our best to make every guest stay special although "perfection" would be a tough call! We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This could be the most wonderful in the world. It embraces you with charming staff, good food, and the divine Anse Batteaux, a beach with shade, secluded yet not lonely : Arcadia. Is this how the legendary yet real Lakes of Albano and Nemi might be? Fresh air, streams of staff and endless tea and a strong cast of bird and sea life. At the same time the hotel dealt very calmly and tolerantly with a severely tiresome and bullying Middle Eastern woman with some sort of personality disorder.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your highly positive review and we are delighted you had such a great stay at Blue Waters Inn. Our location is indeed truly special but is backed up by our dedicated staff who do their utmost to deliver great service. occasionally under trying circumstances!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel is charging way over the odds for the service they are providing. Our standard double was damp and dark with wet walls and mold on the ceiling and soft furnishings. The food is like English school dinners cooked by someone who doesn't eat English food and the dining room smells like the school cafeteria. Despite having a great outlook the bar has no atmosphere and the drinks are 4 times as expensive as elsewhere on the island. The whole place feels unloved. The positive is the beach. There is no litter and apparently less swell than others on the island. Clientele consisted mainly of retirees, a few families with very young children and honeymooners.

Room Tip: We started in a standard double downstairs. It was dark, the walls were dripping with condensation a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your review. You have mentioned a few points which did not meet your expectations which we are disappointed to hear. Indeed, your comments are in stark contrast to the other reviews we had at this time but I am pleased we were able to upgrade you to a Deluxe room for the remainder of your stay. It appears that the Deluxe room was very much to your liking. We do our very best to ensure good constant standards of quality and we are sorry if the food and your initial room fell below expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
23.9 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
16.3 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
252 reviews
20.0 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
18.0 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
18.9 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Inn

Address: Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range: £107 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just 38 guest rooms and bungalows, Blue Waters Inn sits in 42 acres of tropical gardens directly on the beach at Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago. Getting to us takes approximately 85 minutes from the airport. Speyside is super relaxed with quick access to the Main Ridge rainforest and the key underwater sites of the island. Twitchers and divers / snorkellers are very well catered for and the hotel is perfect for those wishing to simply switch off and enjoy the hotels tranquil location. The beach shelves gently and is considered safe for bathing. Lay by the pool or in the open air jacuzzi and admire the view across Batteaux Bay towards Bird Island and Little Tobago in the near distance. Learn to dive at our 5 star PADI dive centre complete with 2 Newton dive boats or explore the rainforest with one of the local guides. All our rooms are air-conditioned and face the sea. Most offer fabulous sea views and are only a few steps from the sand. The One and Two Bungalows are bigger and offer either one or two bedrooms. These are located a few steps from the beach have a patio. Deluxe Oceanview Studios are also very spacious and have an open plan kitchen / living room. Inter-connecting rooms are available for families needing more space. The fabulous Driftdeck offers dining alfresco with views straight out across the bay whilst the more elegant "Aqua" offers fine cuisine two or more nights per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Waters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Northeast Coast
Blue Waters Inn Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing