We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing”
Review of Blue Waters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Waters Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

At first when I arrived I walked in not knowing what was on the other side , my husband and I went there , because our main intent was to visit little Tobago and the famous angel reef we also had planned on going snorkeling , the drive was tedious but seeing the view was amazing , the infinity pool was breath taking, the beds were so comfortable , the rooms were clean however the food wasn't appeasing , the welcome drink was horrible and some of the staff were unfriendly but just for the ambient I'd do it all over again and this time I'd walk with my own food

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank topshutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

So glad to hear you had a wonderful stay recently at Blue Waters Inn. We are blessed to have the islands best dive sites, reefs and birding areas on our doorstep. Glad you like the pool - it wins votes with guests every time.We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy the food. Our food scores are usually very good so I am not entirely sure where we slipped up. Likewise, the staff usually receive very positive feedback from guests - please accept our apologies. We would welcome the chance to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

A quintessential tropical paradise hotel.
We stayed here for three days after four days at the Asa Wright Nature Center in Trinidad. The hotel is modern and comfortable and situated on a beautiful beach. We swam in the bay and in the pool, did a glass-bottom boat tour where we snorkled and and explored Little Tobago island. The boat tour took us past Ian Fleming's estate on Hog Island (it's for sale!). All very good. The food in their restaurant was quite good - much better than the usual Caribbean fare. The staff was
uniformly friendly and helpful. We even spotted two life birds (we're up to 813), which is getting harder and harder.
Our trip to the Blue Waters Inn was part of a package tour arranged by Caligo Ventures in Arizona. A first rate tour by a first rate outfit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank foobar_dubar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Many thanks for your positive review following your 3 nights here at Blue Waters Inn. It is always lovely to hear when guests have such a great stay with us and enjoy all that the local area has to offer visitors. It sounds like Caligo put a great itinerary together for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

So I drove all the way to Blue Waters Inn on Saturday 9th August 2014 with my family. The plan was to have lunch there and also to have a look around to plan a stay there next month. We had a tired three year old with us, but the Security guard would not let us drive in to park. so we had to walk all the way down a hill. When we reached the hotel, my adult daughter wanted to use the washroom so the rest of us - two adults and two children- sat in the lobby area. The guard from the entrance came and stood just a few feet away staring at us. We all felt so unwelcome that we decided not to stay for lunch. We are professionals and we look like normal people and dress well - so what was this all about? But we did end up going to a fabulous Italian restaurant, CIAO Cafe in Scarborough and had a wonderful welcoming meal. The final story - just forget about Blue Waters Inn. There are other more welcoming hotels and villas in Tobago.

Room Tip: Do not go. It is a long drive and far from any interesting areas. An unwelcoming air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
9  Thank Bets T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for informing us of this incident. We take security seriously to ensure the safety of our guests and property. We will raise your comments with security to establish what happened. If security was officious and unhelpful then please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice hotel. Comfortable beds in airconditioned rooms with direct views/access to the beach. Friendly staff. Great location for snorkelling, diving, boat trips, visits to attractions in the north/east part of Tobago. Our only slight criticism would be for the food, which we didn't find very special - the 'buffet' dinner each night was rather boring/ordinary. But, all, in all, a very pleasant place to stay - we'd very happily come back!

Room Tip: Our family had two rooms. Both of them were very nice (comfy beds, nice bathrooms, clean, with air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 7090jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thanks you for taking the time to post your thoughts on Blue Waters Inn following your recent stay. It certainly sounds as though you had a fab time, despite the food not always meeting your expectation. Your comments have ben passed onto the kitchen team. Perhaps we will see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Usually I'm an avid user of TripAdvisor for their viewing "Travellers Photos" option; I love seeing not just the photography that the hotel paid for to make their grounds look gorgeous, but the actual photos that the guests took from their personal experiences. Shockingly I actually chose this hotel because I loved the travellers photos- and, I must say, it was everything I expected it to be! The grounds are gorgeous! The water is actually blue! Awesome Pool! Awesome food! Awesome room!

The only downside that was noticeable was that the hotel is so terribly far from anything at all, that we didn't want to leave to do any Tobago-exploring. So if you're into some nice, quiet nature-like seclusion in a hotel with the ambiance for just that- then this is the place for you. If you're into a lot of activity and would like some noise once in a while- Blue Waters Inn might not be your cup of tea but we came here for our honeymoon which required some much needed rest after our wedding, so this was the perfect place for us to get just that.

Room Tip: We got the Standard Room and it was spacious an excellent, so I guess any of the bigger rooms would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Germaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

We are really pleased to get your positive feedback after your stay at Blue Waters Inn. With the beautiful natural surrounding we have there is no way to improve on what mother nature gave us! Speyside is not a "party" place - we are however very good at doing chilled relaxation, snorkelling / diving, exploring the rainforest and soaking up some Caribbean sunshine! As you say, perfect for Honeymooners. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night. It was amazing I happened to come across this place as I came for the glass bottom boat tour. And saw the hotel and had to stay. It is along the most amazing beach. The rooms have some of the most comfortable beds ever. The receptionists are absolutely lovely and helpful and very accommodating. The infinity pool is amazing so is the jucuzzi. Everyone is so helpful. And the place is just amazing. I highly recommend. I couldn't stay longer than a day because I would not want to leave the hotel. I highly recommend. It's amazing. Also take the glass bottom boat tour with top ranking the best reef tour and snorkelling. Randy is very well educated about the reef and all the birds little tobago has to offer. Also for non swimmers he accommodates so we can experience snorkelling and it's beauty. Must go!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJandJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Many thanks for your feedback and we are delighted you had such a good stay at Blue Waters Inn. Next time please come and stay a few days to really enjoy all that we have to offer. Randy has operated in the local waters for many years and is as you say hugely educated and experienced about the local reefs and fish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at Blue Waters for 2 weeks, snorkelled in the bay & enjoyed 6 days diving, took the bus into Scarborough & Buccoo Point, visited Charlotteville, walked round to the next bays and organised a day trip with a local taxi driver to the rainforest, waterfall (not the Argyle which was low because there wasn't much rain) & englishmans bay (beautiful on the carribean side). So we found plenty to do & met lots of local people. We stayed in a standard room which was clean & fresh with no problems. Local ice/water ok in moderation but mostly had bottled water so no tummy upsets. We enjoyed the food at Blue Waters & wished we had gone HB rather than B&B. Jemma's was the only local restaurant with a priced menu, everywhere else it just depended on what was available that day & very variable quality - they looked like meals my granny would serve, wholesome but no "presentation".
Blue Waters staff were friendly & the facilities well maintained. We kayaked & tried the paddle boards too (all free). There is a good variety of birds on & around the site too. We'll certainly go back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maddie_Chez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Really pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable fortnight in Tobago and Blue Waters Inn. It sounds as though you guys explored the island and got some great diving in. Unfortunately in the local Speyside are there are very few dining options although Jemma's is always popular. Half Board is popular with many guests - perhaps next time! Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
16.3 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
250 reviews
23.9 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
20.0 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,531 reviews
18.0 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
18.9 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Inn

Address: Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range: £114 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just 38 guest rooms and bungalows, Blue Waters Inn sits in 42 acres of tropical gardens directly on the beach at Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago. Getting to us takes approximately 85 minutes from the airport. Speyside is super relaxed with quick access to the Main Ridge rainforest and the key underwater sites of the island. Twitchers and divers / snorkellers are very well catered for and the hotel is perfect for those wishing to simply switch off and enjoy the hotels tranquil location. The beach shelves gently and is considered safe for bathing. Lay by the pool or in the open air jacuzzi and admire the view across Batteaux Bay towards Bird Island and Little Tobago in the near distance. Learn to dive at our 5 star PADI dive centre complete with 2 Newton dive boats or explore the rainforest with one of the local guides. All our rooms are air-conditioned and face the sea. Most offer fabulous sea views and are only a few steps from the sand. The One and Two Bungalows are bigger and offer either one or two bedrooms. These are located a few steps from the beach have a patio. Deluxe Oceanview Studios are also very spacious and have an open plan kitchen / living room. Inter-connecting rooms are available for families needing more space. The fabulous Driftdeck offers dining alfresco with views straight out across the bay whilst the more elegant "Aqua" offers fine cuisine two or more nights per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Waters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Northeast Coast
Blue Waters Inn Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing