We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely local food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redmans

Redmans
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Speyside
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stopped here on our self drive trip around Tobago. Attracted to it bu it's bright red walls and cheery cook.

Warm and welcoming and views to die for on the side of a blue lapping sea amongst colourful houses and shacks.

We opted for whatever was available and had pork which had been cooked slow and long and was delicious. This came with veggies, rice, salad and the local speciality of two sorts of dumplins! This was washed down with Carib shandy which was very interesting as we had drunk this now on three occasions and every time it was different flavour. Firstly we had it with ginger, then sorrel and finally lime. Bit different!!

Toilets outside, basic but perfectly fine.

Would recommend for a taste of the real Tobago and no problems at all with funny tummy afterwards (which we have sadly experienced elsewhere).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mayfield, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good home cooking and sweet owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our lunch. We ordered lobster and it was very delicious. The owner cooked fresh and served with rice, banana salad, noodles, and lentils. Not a fancy decorated place but clean, neat, and friendly service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank wood_jk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just Home Cooking... if your mother is from Tobago”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Redman's has got to be among the least pretentious restaurants on the planet. Beyond a few garlands of red artificial flowers and the bright orange Christmas place mats on the mismatched furniture, there is nothing that could be described as upscale decor. But you definitely get the impression that owner, cook, wait staff Maria could care less. What Maria cares about is good, home style Tobago cooking.

There are no lunch menus. Maria tells you that the choices today are Pork, Chicken and Fish and, if the local fishermen have brought in some, Lobster. I recommend the Lobster or the Fish as those will be freshly caught. The rest of your meal is preset typical Tobago side dishes. My lunch included rice, potato salad, pasta (Tobagoans are big believers in carbs) and a bowl of callaloo, (callaloo is a green, leafy vegetable like spinach or perhaps kale.) All of it well prepared though like everywhere else somethings are better than others. This was not the best callaloo I've had. Your only other choice is the beverage. No alcoholic beverages with a minor exception.

Lunch with a shandy (a mixture of beer and one of three soft drinks, ginger ale, limeade or sorrell - alcohol content about 2%) will set you back about $15 US, If you go away hungry, its not because the servings weren't generous.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Redman's restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Freshly caught local seafood by Redman and local recipes, including crab and dumpling, cooked to perfection by Maria. Just a short walk from Blue Waters Inn, do not miss out!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sacha_Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Give this place a chance!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

As mentioned by the previous reviewer Redmans is next door to Jemma's and is obviously less well known. It's not as welcoming from the outside but don't be put off! It's rustic and basic but quite charming and the lady running the place was friendly and smiley! We were the only diners the evening we went and it was a shame because the food was equally as good as Jemma's. We weren't offered a menu but were told what was available and shared kingfish and stewed pork. The pork was particularly good and served in a spicy sauce. We also had bowls of lentils, rice and salad. There is no alcohol served. We paid $240TT for two which we felt was much better value than Jemma's. Be different and and try the less touristy Redmans, we're certainly glad we did!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KK03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Redmans also viewed

 

Been to Redmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing