We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Arrived for a 3 day visit to celebrate my mother's birthday. The staff were warm, friendly and professional. Rooms are comfortable, and the service is good.
Few minor inconveniences which were handled immediately by the staff.
The food in the Kali'na restaurant was excellent, and the service impeccable.
Particular thanks to Ricardo, Renate and Hans for the welcome and the extra touches that made it very special.

My only disappointment was that Salaka has changed their menu, and a (marvellous) dish that I had enjoyed at a previous visit was no longer available. Oh well, I just need to find a new favourite :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonjaCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us. It was our pleasure to be of service and we certainly look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Our menus change every so often to keep things interesting. We hope that you were able to find a new favorite.

Sunny wishes from Tobago,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    439
    230
    104
    65
See reviews for
423
598
37
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at this resort. 4th-18th Feb. It was our first experience of the Carribean and can honestly say it was brilliant from start to finish. There were some issues with the service in the restaurants being slow, but we were on holiday and really time didn't matter that much. Valerie, who seemed to be in charge was particularly helpful and very very pleasant. The chefs also were lovely people and Kiev who was the Chef for the BBQ at lunchtimes went out of his way to make sure you enjoyed your lunch.The hotel staff were all very friendly. In fact we had only been there a day and the Duty Manager called our room to ask us if we were happy with everything, and on another occasion she stopped us in the lobby to enquire about our holiday.

The room we were allocated was on the ground floor and looked out on to a grassy area with the ocean beyond. Our room was made up everyday and towels were changed also every day. We only had one problem with the water pressure and this was resolved within 10 minutes. The pool area was beautiful and we didn't have to battle everyday for a sun bed. Plenty to go around. It was a little windy, with being on the Atlantic side, however this didn't spoil it for us, in fact it was quite refreshing to have a good breeze as it would have been very hot otherwise. We hired a car for 4 days from a Company called "Lady in Red". Nice car, fully automatic, and we went to do a bit of sight seeing for ourselves, calling in at Englishman's Bay on the Carribean side for a swim. BEAUTIFUL! We also took our golf clubs with us and enjoyed two rounds of golf on the resort. Our golf wasn't great but the course was very challenging and enjoyable.

If I were to be a little critical, the only thing which I found annoying was that all the waitress's took plates away from the table before both parties had finished eating. ie they took mine away when I had finished, but my Husband was still eating. Plus although we were all inclusive we were given the bill to sign before we had completed our meal. Small matter really, because all in all our holiday was superb and we would certainly revisit Magdelana Beach.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It was truly a delight to read your comment and we wish to thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us.

Too often visitors forget that they are on vacation and negelect to appreciate the beauty of the island and the culture of the people. Part of our charm is our ability to relax and enjoy life, leaving behind the hussle and bussle of the city life. It is also wonderful that you were able to explore the island and visit one of the most romantic beaches in the world, Englishman's Bay, as listed by one popular television show on A&E.

It's also great that you had a chance to enjoy our newly renovated golf course. It is indeed a challenging one. Hopefully on your next visit you would have better luck out there.

Thank you for comments and assisting us in improving our services to our guests. We will ensure your feedback as passed along to the team, and that our waitresses are reminded of the procedures. Unfortunately the signing of the bills is something that is required for our internal processes, however these bills are never charged to your room as an all-inclusive guest.

We certainly look forward to being of service to you in the near future and to welcoming you once again to our side of paradise.

Sunny wishes from Tobago,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just got back from a one week stay, bed & breakfast only, 10 - 17 Feb. We chose the Magdalena because of its location in the quiet Tobago Plantations. We were very pleased with the warm welcome from reception, and with our lovely big room with a view of the palm-fringed beach from the balcony. The breakfast buffet was delicious every morning, as was the evening buffet, which we tried a couple of times. As a couple of avid bird-watchers, we were delighted, and enchanted with the huge grounds of the hotel, in which we counted 53 bird species, as well as numerous lizards, butterflies, beautiful wild flowers and, of course, the resident caimens! The hotel has complimentary bicycles which helped us to get around to all the best bird locations on site, and when we weren't out and about on the island, we spent many happy hours nature-watching in the hotel grounds. All the hotel staff were really charming and helpful, and we are already planning a return trip next year.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on 3rd floor with a balcony overlooking the sea, which was lovely & private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us.

Tobago is truly a bird watcher's paradise and we are delighted that you had the opportunity to experience this side of our island.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Sunny wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have just returned from a one week all-inclusive stay from 12th to 19th February. Upon arrival our first impressions of the hotel and grounds were impressive and we were welcomed with a drink and our check-in was reasonably quick.
Our room was a good size and had all the facilities that we were expecting. All pool areas were clean with plenty of sunbeds and our first meal in the Pembois buffet restaurant on our evening of arrival was very nice with a good choice of food. The complex also has two tennis courts which we took advantage of and were in good condition. We dined in the Kalina fine dining restaurant on two occasions and the food and service were excellent both times.

Now the not so good......like many other reviews there is a distinct problem with service at this hotel. Face towels were not replaced consistently in our room and on one occasion we had to contact reception twice to get this resolved. As all-inclusive guests we were issued with wristbands but this was not the same for other guests on the same package and many staff had no idea what they were intended for. We also had to sign a receipt for all meals/drinks (except breakfast) and despite indicating to staff that we were all-inclusive still got a chargeable bill on many occasions - most annoying when you have to wait for staff to correct this.

After our first evening meal the food and service (apart from in the Kalina) was exceptionally disappointing. Some staff appeared disinterested in taking food orders and generally looked glum. On one occasion in the Salaka Grill (our last meal before our departure) another group were served before us despite arriving after us - I then had to wait 45 minutes for a bowl of soup and was told this was because they serve food in line with when the order was taken!! The food in the Pembois buffet was average at best, in particular the breakfast choices hardly changed from one day to the next.

We have holidayed in the Caribbean previously and not experienced such poor service and regrettably it appears that despite previous reviews your staff training is not adequate. The hotel can be immaculate but all of this stands for nothing if service is poor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your reviews with us.

We wish to advise that all our all-inclusive guests are issued with wrist bands, however all of the guests at the resort are not on all-inclusive, and therefore were not provided with these bands. The bills that you were presented with were simply for accounting purposes and while you are required to sign them, they would not be posted to your account.

We do value your comments regarding the service and are pleased to advise that we have embarked on a new training program for our team members. We understand the importance of service and are committed to ensuring our guests receive nothing short of exceptional service.

We do hope that you would allow us another opportunity to be of service and to provide you with a truly memorable experience.

Thank you again.

Best wishes from Tobago,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Reasonable hotel with lovely pool area but major problems with the water supply. During our week stay the water was cut off four times....totally unacceptable. Hotel beginning to look rather in need of revamp, tiled walkways quite grubby. Staff helpful but beach towel lady was rather officious. Food ok but expensive for standard provided

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank March151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us.

We wish to advise that the water problems experienced recently were through no fault of the resort, as this was an island wide issue. The government has since rectified this problem and we have not experiences any problems since.

Your comments have been reviewed by our management team and you would be happy to know that we have embarked on a new training program for our team members, additional staff have been hired, and new proceedures have been set to ensure all spaces are cleaned to the standard that is Magdalena Grand.

We do hope that you would allow us another opportunity to be of service to you and to provide you with a memorable experience.

Best regards,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just got back after a week at the Magdalana Grand with my family staying all inclusive, wife and 2 kids (5 and 7 years). To say disappointed is an understatement! We have holidayed in the Caribbean in the past, Barbados, Jamaica and St Lucia and always stayed in 4+ star hotels all inclusive so my experience and review is honest and based on facts.

The hotel is on the Atlantic Ocean which means you spend your time being blasted by the trade winds, yes the wind is warm but is a constant drone in the background and blow anything not fastened down around. This also makes the sea very dangerous and you cannot think of going anywhere near it! Kind of defeats the point of a Caribbean Beach holiday. The hotel pictures show plenty of the sea and surroundings but fail to mention that you cannot go into the sea.

The service from the staff varied from friendly and helpful to dam right ignorant and rude, there was no consistency at all. Its obvious there is no training for the staff. During the week we were never once asked on our well being or general service questions as you would expect. During busy periods in the morning and midday getting served or any attention was almost non existent, we gave up on several occasions and had to help ourselves!

It's the only hotel we have stayed at in the Caribbean where whilst sitting around the pool we were never once asked if you would like a drink, in fact nobody ever even cleared used glasses away. There was also no life guards on duty on the main pool.

The food in general was pretty good particularly in the buffet restaurant, it was understaffed during the busy periods which spoilt the atmosphere.

The hotel boast being child friendly, it really really isn't in any way. The sea is dangerous, therefore going onto the beach is a no go as your terrified to take your eyes off them, there's no life guards on the pool and in general there's not much for them to do.

We were happy with our room, it was clean and tidy, everything worked and the beds were comfortable. The maid/cleaner was a lovely lady who was happy to help, shame 70% of the other staff weren't like her!

A lot of the communal areas needed a good clean, it seemed clear to me that the management had poor attention to detail here.

During our stay there were other people who felt the same as us, I may sound like I'm being pretty critical and damming but I feel that I needed to let other people know our experience. I would have rather commented on having had a lovely time especially after spending so much hard earnt cash!!

Overall the hotel need to take on some extra staff, sort out some customer service training, adopt a cleaning policy and be honest on their website about having a beach but not being able to use the sea unless you have cross channel swimming experience!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good, the wind is noisy on the sea side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your reviews with us. It is very unfortunate that this is the experience you had at our resort, and we do apologize for any inconveniences caused during your stay. Our experience is not the typical one at Magdalena Grand and all your comments have been reviewed by our management team.
You would be happy to know that we have embarked on a training program for our team members, earlier this month a new cleaning crew was hired, and we have also hired new team members.

While we are located on the Atlantic side of the island, which means there is always a cooling breeze coming in, along with slight waves on the ocean, the resort also offers a complimentary shuttle service to Pigeon Point Beach to ensure our guests still experience the Caribbean sea. Please note that the waters change depending on the season you visit. December - March is a bit rougher than other times.

One of the advantages of being on the Atlantic coast is that we are a turtle nesting beach. If you visit between March - September you are certain to experience nature at its best as these amazing sea creatures visit our shores to lay their eggs.

We thank you again for your comments and do hope that we would have the opportunity to welcome you soon again and to provide you with a truly memorable expereince.

Best regards,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

It was truly a pleasure hosting the 10th Scarborough Cup at the Magdalena Grand Beach and Golf Resort, last weekend, we had a great time the food was excellent and the golf course was enjoyable: thanks to Magdalena for the wonderful job in upgrading and repositioning the course and club house A special mention to three persons in particular who made our experience a memorable one, Malika Blair, Neil Fergie and Rachael Nathaniel. The entire staff did an excellent job: I look forward to many other golf tournaments in Tobago

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haroon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It was our pleasure to be of service and to host the 10th Annual Scarborough Cup Golf Tournament. As our first golf tournament since the golf course's re-opening we were incredibly pleased with the event and look forward to working with you soon again.

Best wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
248 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
440 reviews
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing