We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a wonderful hotel located within the beautiful Tobago Plantations. The grounds are well-maintained and the service at the hotel is excellent. The staff are super friendly and helpful and go out of their way to accomodate you, which is a rarity in Tobago, given its poor reputation for service. The breakfast buffet was very good and had a wide variety, which they changed every day, so you were never bored of eating the same thing. The buffet on evenings was also excellent. The pool is wonderful to swim in and had warm water which was a big plus for me! I didn't swim in the beach, which seemed bery rough, but it was lovely to go for walks along it.The bar service by the pool is also to be commended. My husband and I loved that we could go running through Tobago Plantations on evenings for exercise, as it is so scenic and relaxing. This hotel is definitely worth staying at.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We do hope that we can be of service to you soon again. Warm wishes until we meet again.

Regards,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    431
    224
    101
    62
See reviews for
415
587
37
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a super week at Magdalena Grand. First and foremost we found everyone we were in contact with very helpful and friendly; Robyn, Ricardo, Kiel and Ana being just a few. We stayed on an all inclusive package, via BA, which worked well for us. It was slightly irksome to be asked to sign bills, which may have been required for internal control purposes. The staff displayed varying levels of competence with the billing system. That said, there was certainly no problem or disputes about supplementary payments when we checked out. There were water outages for two periods. The hotel circulated an explanatory note about this. I was ill on one of the days (I'm not attributing this to the hotel) and was particularly anxious about the lack of water on that occasion. The only other issue was a mixed experience at the golf course. With green fees, club hire and cost of buying some balls and tees (we took our own shoes), it was quite expensive. The overall experience did not meet our expectations. But for these issues, I'd have given an overall "Excellent"rating. To conclude on some more positives, there's some interesting wildlife and birds around the resort. we bought a book of local birds from the hotel shop and enjoyed doing a bit of light bird spotting. The business centre was available to us to print off our boarding passes and the wi-fi of good quality and reliable.The lunchtime entertainment jazz singer on Sunday evening were both excellent and seeing the pelican diving for fish as the sun came up and the evenings will be a lasting memory.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe room with a larger bed. No room is more than a couple of minutes walk from the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobsoundgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind compliments and taking the time to share your experience with us, and the rest of the world.

Thank you also for mentioning our team members who helped to make your stay more memorable. We are very proud of all of them and would be sure to pass along your comments to them.

We do aologize for the inconvenience with regards to the water supply. This was an island wide problem at the time, however we were pleased to ensure a steady supply of water to the resort, with minimum interruptions.

It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you soon again in the near future.

Warm and sunny wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad WI
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Choose this hotel to stay at for Tobago Jazz weekend. Although it was far from the jazz venue, it was great. The hotel was comfortable and the surroundings were fabulous. The pool was very nice, one level throughout for non-swimmers like myself. The beach not so good on that side though but the pool made up for that. Buffet breakfast and dinner was fantastic with a wide variety of food and desserts. The bartender at the pool bar was very helpful in assisting us with drinks selection. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue64TrinidadWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for selecting our resort for your stay during the Tobago Jazz Experience!

It was a pleasure to be of service and we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Chose this hotel to celebrate my birthday. Greeted with lovely cake and amazing view of ocean and jacuzzi.
I also attended the Tobago Jazz Festival and had a great time. On the 3rd day I spent the day in and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and environment .
Met Veniesa at the pool who took time to chat without being intrusive... The staff genuinely seem to want you to have a good time.
I only had breakfast on my last day and after having it I regretted I did not come down in time the 2 previous mornings.
I will definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Apparently all views are ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Robert,

It was truly a pleasure to be of service to you for such a special occassion. Thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to share them with us.
You certainly have to visit again and take advantage of our buffet breakfast, but don't forget to try lunch by Salaka Grill and our buffet dinner selection at Pembois!
We'll be here waiting to serve you.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed at the Magdalena Grand with my family from 4/21 through 4/26. While we had a wonderful time in Tobago the stay at the Magdalena Grand was very disappointing. First of all I felt like I was being nickeled and dimed. I ordered a salad to go from one of the restaurants/bars and was told that I had to pay an additional $30.00TT for delivery fee since I did not order through room service. In other words I had to pay $30.00 to deliver my own salad to my room. I understand that the hotel has to make money but everything is ridiculously marked up in price. The compound is located way off the main road by design so if you don’t have a rental car you have no choice to spend hundreds of TT dollars on buffet food.
The staff needs to be a little more friendly. I do understand this might be a cultural things but they have to work at being more pleasant. After all they work in the service industry. . The beach at the hotel is horrible too rough for swimming. The good thing is that the provide a shuttle to Pigeon Point beach for free. They should include another beach option also. The grounds could do with more lighting at nights. Based on my experience I am not sure I will ever return to the Magdalena Grand.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper level near the main entrance since the compound is very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trinidad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your reviews. It is indeed unfortunate that we were unable to exceed your expectations, we do apologize for this as it is our aim to ensure all our guests have a memorable experience with us.

Our management team is always on duty and we would have been happy to meet with you during your stay to discuss any concerns you may have had, and to improve on these.

We do hope that you would allow us another opportunity to be of service to you. Please feel free to let us know of your next return and we will be happy to assist in making the necessary arrangements for you.

We remain at your service.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Magdalena is a huge complex and sure there are a few minor issues. We could not fault the staff and the effort Steve the operations manager put in - it was faultless. We felt he and his staff wanted us to have a good time in Tobago - Steve we did It is rewarding when hotel staff actually listen to your comments and constructive criticism.! Ainka / Olivia / Kevin and their colleagues were lovely at breakfast and were attentive to all our needs. The rooms on the ground floor were great and comfortable too. We thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay. We would advise hiring a vehicle - Charmaine at KCNN's is an absolute sweetheart to deal with - they are a really reliable firm. Would also recommend Peter Cox for trips etc. Katherina Dumas is also a great tour guide. Rain in the UK - wish I was back in Tobago. Tobago is laid back - I wish I was ?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on your stay with us. We certainly would like all our guests to experience our beautiful island, and we can tell you did just that!
We're sorry to hear that the weather is not as great in the UK, but we'll be sending you some warm sunshine until we meet again.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The rooms were nice with good views. We would prefer a south/west facing balcony but, on the East side you get the Altantic higher seas and fresh breezes, plus the room is not struggling to cool due to lack of direct sun.

The food in the buffet restaurant was OK and wide enough to cover most tastes. The soups were a bit disappointing being something normally excellent in the Caribbean. However, the sweet options were much better than average found before. The Pub Bar upstairs is good for a change and excellent food was on offer.

With rare exceptions, the staff were very friendly and helpful. However, we stumped the maintenance system with our attempts to find a plug for the bath. After 6 attempts, we gave up - there must be a plug shortage on Tobago??

The water pressure was poor and this ex-Hilton was looking a bit frayed around the edges in the rooms with taps coming off and sadly, after a long flight, no water for over 9 hours! A local problem that needs sorting.

We liked the idea of the long beach that was mooted in the publicity as 2kms long and there for the walking, together with all the parkland near with the golf course. We were really disappointed when we were warned not to walk up the beach beyong the hotel boundaries and keep away from the golf course between 8am and 5pm. What we seemed to be left with was a prison with pools, drinks and food...and a beach that they warned about currents and which, for our last 3 days, was attacked by yukky seaweed.

Finally, please could someone increase the air-con temperatues in the Pub and the Lounge - it was freezing!

Room Tip: Go high for a better view and try to dodge the palms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoesBrigade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share your reviews with us, and we wish to thank you for your kind compliments.

We do apologize for the inconvenience caused with regards to the water supply. There has been an island-wide water issue, however we have maintained a steady supply of water throughout the resort.

We also apologize for the warnings you received regarding venturing passed the property boundry. It may have been mentioned to simply protect you from the golf balls flying through the air during those times. The resort offers complimentary bicycles to ride around the Tobago Plantations Estate, and we encourage our guests to get out and see the property.

While we are on the Atlantic side of the island, which means that depending on the season you visit the water is a bit rougher than usual, we do offer a complimentary shuttle service to Pigeon Point Beach twice daily. We also admit that sometimes the Atlantic waters can bring to our shores a bit more seaweed than needed, but our team works effeciently to have the beach cleaned for use.

We are truly sorry that we were unable to provide you with an exceptional experience, but we do hope that you would allow us anything opportunity to be of service.

Warm wishes from Tobago,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing