We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my family in June 2014. I must point out that the staff is very pleasant and courteous, especially those at the breakfast restaurant. However there wasn't anything that made this resort outstanding. First there is NO kettle in your rom for hot water for preparing milk for your child as was in my case. The coffee machine was dirty and we therefore could not use it. There was some mildew in the bathroom which made me and more so my wife uncomfortable. If you are travelling with children please note that the beach at this resort is rough and probably not safe for them (atleast I think so). The beach front is not that relaxing as compared with Store Bay or Pigeon Point. Prices at the buffet restaurant for dinner is expensive and if you are travelling with an infant you will not be allowed to take them to the fine dining restaurant. If you are ordering room service be prepared to wait an eternity and have to pay $30+ just to have the food delivered and you will incur 10% service charge on your bill even when dining in your room, which to me is ridiculous.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anderson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us. It is indeed unfortunate that we were not able to meet your expectations. While kettles are not provided in the room, we would have been happy to have one delivered had we known of your request.

Although we are located on the Atlantic side of the island, which means the water can be a bit choppy, depending on the time of year you visit, we are pleased to offer a complimentary shuttle service to Pigeon Point Beach. This shuttle departs and returns twice daily for our guests enjoyment.

Our fine dining restaurant is one of four dining options at the resort. Kali'na offers our guests an atmosphere of sophistication and elegance. Unfortuantely children under the age of 12 are not allowed, but we would have been happy to be of service to you and your family in any of our other restaurants. Kids 4 and under eat for free, and kids under 12 are half price on all meals.
Service charge and VAT is added to all costs, as it is a service we provided, even to prepare the meal and deliver same to your room. Please note that this cost is given to the staff and not towards the resort.

We do hope you would you would allow us another opportunity to be of service to you again and to provide you with a truly memorable experience, one that exceeds your expectations.

We remain at your service.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed at the Magdalena for three nights and had a pleasant stay. Our room was right off the ocean and had a nice patio.

The hotel had breakfast for us but it wasn't as good as we had hoped. Other than that, the pool was really nice (there are several pools, but the main one had a bar you could swim up to, a volleyball net, and lots of chairs, towels to get).

The hotel is located close to the airport and you can get to things pretty easily around the area.

The hotel drives its guests around on a golf cart, because the resort is so large.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who loves the water! :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Emily Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Emily,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful reviews with us. It was indeed a pleasure to be of service and we hope to welcome you soon again.

Warmest wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I've just returned from a hectic work trip and needed a little rest and relaxation... and what better place to come to then the Magdalena Grand! It feels like home to me. I can't get enough of the rooms and comfy bed that faces the sliding glass doors that leads to my very own balcony overlooking the coast. That fresh sea breeze certainly does wonders for the lungs!

Breakfast is always GRAND here! So fulling I feel like the would need to wheel me outside one of these days. After enjoying the delicious offerings I make my way to the sun loungers, of which there are plenty to choose from, for a day in the sun.

Life does not get any better than this!

Staff are always friendly and accommodating to my requests.
People often complain about service in Tobago, but these friendly smiling faces is nothing to complain about. At the end of the day everyone is human, and if you show a little respect to someone or give a little smile it goes a long way... and it works both ways. Something tells me these people that talk about service aren't always the most friendly ones to begin with...

Tobago is an island paradise mean't for relaxing and watching the world go by.
So pull up a sun lounger... there's no better place!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view rooms - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ms_Fernweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your feedback and wonderful comments.
It is always a delight to hear from our repeat guests.
We look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.
Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Pros Nice looking hotel
most staff friendly
lovely views

Cons
confusion over bill on arrival
prejudice against people of colour when discussing payments of food or room. Different treatment confirmed by white visitors, which follows previous reviews.
toilet over flowed, power point didn't work, tv control didn't work,no kettle in room to make tea, cleaner did not clean as i watched as my soiled bedding was not changed despite bed being made up, embarrassment as unable to charge to room. food ok but standards do slip. forced to pay service charge, no staff on desk to answer queries,complaints etc.
I WANT MY MONEY BACK OR COMPENSATION

Room Tip: Don't tip until the end of stay you might find yourself asking for it back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We certainly appreciate the time you took to share your comments regarding your stay with us.
We do apologize for any inconveniences caused, however we would like to assure you that our guests are not treated any differently based on their skin colour, nor do our payment polocies of food and room change based on this. Upon arrival you would have been informed of the refundable amount required for incidental charges, which is standard in any hotel. If you were unable to provide us with a credit card to secure these charges, or a cash deposit, then we would not be able to provide you with the service of charging items to your room, as there were no funds left on your hotel account to cover these incidental charges.

Our management team are always available to discuss and assist with any issues that you may have during your stay. We enjoy meeting with our guests and helping to make their stay more enjoyable. We would have been happy to take a look at all your concerns and make the necessary adjustments to ensure your comfort. The television control may have simply needed batteries and it would have been our pleasure to send a new one to you immediately.

We are sorry that our items in the restuarants did not meet your expectations. We have often received wonderful comments regarding our Chef's dishes. We are accommodating to our guests, and our Chef would have also been happy to discuss your preffered meals with you.
Service charge is a standard item that is charged in Trinidad and Tobago. This amount goes towards the staff.

We are truly sorry that we were not able to provide you with a memorable experience, but we would be grateful for the opportunity to be of service to you once again and to change your memories of the Magdalena Grand.
Please feel free to let us know of your return and we will ensure your experience exceeds your expectations.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Who knew that the Magdalena was so well run! I didn't, but after my stay there I must say it's value for money and the service is where you'd want it to be. Getting a room was no hassle and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The main attraction of the hotel is the pool area which faces the atlantic ocean. I wouldn't advise you go swimming as it's more suited to kite surfing. The pool is grand and the pool bar makes being in the pool even more attractive. Breakfast was pretty good. Wish there was a little more local offering tho. Lunch & Dinner are a little expensive so I'd suggest you go out of the hotel and grab lunch and dinner elsewhere. You'd need a car to do that which will run you 100US per day if so much. That said, it's the kind of hotel you can spend all your time in tho. Golf, Tennis, Biking, Running, Sun Bathing, Bird Watching, Drinking! :)

Room Tip: All the rooms have an ocean view! If lazy you'll want a ground floor room which has access via...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinspectator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
It is always wonderful to hear from our past guests and to learn of their experience.
Thank you for all your kind compliments. We will be sure to pass your message along to the team.
We do hope to welcome you soon again in the near future.
Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed there for the weekend, my husband and I wanted some R&R. I thought the majority of the staff wonderful. Anika in the Restaurant, warm, welcoming and accommodating. Housekeeping did a great job, except for one time, but that was a miscommunication on my part. Robin the Asst F&B Manager has a real passion for the hospitality industry which really comes out in her warm personal and friendly personality. Front Office under the direction of Sacha and Hollis very charming and helpful. Mr. Stephen Callendar what a trooper always working never stops, even remember my juli mangoes when I checked out. Overall, I had a wonderful stay.
Suggest: Newspapers daily or perhaps a synopsis of daily news on a stand in the lobby for them to take to their rooms to read.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank INGRID E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us and for mentioning some of the team members that made your stay more memorable.
We will certainly look into your suggestions.
We hope to welcome you soon again. If there is anything we can do to make your return stay more enjoyable please do not hesitate to contact us.
Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The most AMAZING FRIENDLY WONDERFUL STAFF,John James Security,Misty Dining Hall,William(dreadlocks),Kenny,Hollis,Shantelle(rooms)Andel,Nyron & Ainka,all these people made my holiday SPECIAL thank you ALL!
However,the hotel itself,is catered for the older person,this hotel needs some young energy input,something to do on rainy day,inject some fun and enjoyment.
The restaurant was disappointing....display good,but food lacks flavour and seasoning,desserts
varied but all tasted exactly the same.Am also concerned about the lighting above the hotplates,which is made of a white fluffy material,and the possibility of these absorbing odours and shedding dust?strange and unhealthy!
.This hotel is being run & sustained by amazing staff,the hotel needs a shake-up.

Room Tip: choose top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews and for mentioning some of our wonderful team members. It was indeed a pleasure to be of service to you.
Your comments are certainly noted and will be discussed in our next meeting. It is only with your input and feedback are we able to improve on our services to you.
Rest assured that the unique lighting above the buffet are maintained and cleaned regularly. We understand the importance of hygine and would not have it any other way.

On your next visit be sure to visit the Robinson Crusoe Pub for Fire Fridays, Shipwreck Saturdays, and Jazzy Sundays. We are certain you would enjoy the upbeat atmosphere and excitment that these nights bring to the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
251 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range: £162 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing