We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely happy guests!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Extremely happy guests!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Myself and my partner travelled to Tobago at the beginning of June and we loved Magdalena Grand Beach and Gold Resort.

You can tell the hotel was originally Hilton as the standards are very high and all facilities are top quality.

The staff are amazing particularly Colin, Camille, Kennis, Kevin, Henri the driver and Monifa's cooking is amazing. To be honest all staff we came into contact with were extremely friendly and helpful.

Myself and my partner are both vegetarians and the food on offer was the best we have ever experienced! The variety was also fantastic and the choice of all inclusive drinks was very impressive.

Make sure you hire bikes and cycle around the grounds - ask for directions to the boardwalk for a unique walk through mangroves.

We felt safe the entire time we were visiting and, with it being the rainy season the hotel was not that busy - PERFECT! Just how we like it!

I would definitely recommend staying here - it is in the top two hotels on the island. With this hotel it is on the Atlantic side, this means there is a breeze which not only keeps you cool but keeps mosquitos away - Hurrah. Being on the Atlantic side does mean the sea is choppy, you can swim in it but to be honest who needs to when you have lovely infinity pools?

If you have booked this do not worry - you will have a fantastic stay and feel safe the entire time.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea so they are all fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilikestayingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Ilikestayingaway,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review of your experience with us and the rest of the world. It was truly a pleasure to be of service to you and your partner!
We remain at your service and look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    432
    227
    103
    62
See reviews for
418
592
37
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The photos had us thinking our very expensive room was ON THE OCEAN. It was not. We missed our airline flight with Caribbean air (so be careful) and arrived close to midnight. There was no water to be found anywhere to drink. The people are very friendly and sweet, but no one knew what the other was doing or what was open when. The ocean is NOT the Caribbean and you cannot swim in it as it is too rough. There is no jacuzzi but the pool was great. The fish at the outdoor restaurant was good as was the service. The breakfast was also very good (they accommodated my gluten free bread as best they could. The stars is being generous.

Room Tip: ask to be ON the ocean and up on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cat4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Cat4U,

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us. It is always wonderful to hear from our past guests.

We are pleased to provide all our guests with ocean front rooms. All 198 of our rooms face the ocean, offering panoramic views of the water from your private balcony. They rooms are are also only a few feet from the ocean. We are sorry our rooms were not to your liking, but it would be difficult to be any closer to the water without getting wet.

Caribbean Airlines also offers 19 connecting flights daily from Trinidad to Tobago. Should you miss your flight, you are guranteed to be placed on stand by for the next avaiable flight.

While we are located on the Atlantic side of the island, which means the water can be a bit choppy depending on the season you visit, we are pleased to offer a complimentary shuttle service to Pigeon Point Beach twice daily. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our three infinity pools, they provide a truly relaxing atmosphere.

We also receive wonderful comments regarding our food, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the meals prepared and the our chef was able to accommodate your dietary requirements.

We do hope to be of service to you soon again.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my family in June 2014. I must point out that the staff is very pleasant and courteous, especially those at the breakfast restaurant. However there wasn't anything that made this resort outstanding. First there is NO kettle in your rom for hot water for preparing milk for your child as was in my case. The coffee machine was dirty and we therefore could not use it. There was some mildew in the bathroom which made me and more so my wife uncomfortable. If you are travelling with children please note that the beach at this resort is rough and probably not safe for them (atleast I think so). The beach front is not that relaxing as compared with Store Bay or Pigeon Point. Prices at the buffet restaurant for dinner is expensive and if you are travelling with an infant you will not be allowed to take them to the fine dining restaurant. If you are ordering room service be prepared to wait an eternity and have to pay $30+ just to have the food delivered and you will incur 10% service charge on your bill even when dining in your room, which to me is ridiculous.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anderson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us. It is indeed unfortunate that we were not able to meet your expectations. While kettles are not provided in the room, we would have been happy to have one delivered had we known of your request.

Although we are located on the Atlantic side of the island, which means the water can be a bit choppy, depending on the time of year you visit, we are pleased to offer a complimentary shuttle service to Pigeon Point Beach. This shuttle departs and returns twice daily for our guests enjoyment.

Our fine dining restaurant is one of four dining options at the resort. Kali'na offers our guests an atmosphere of sophistication and elegance. Unfortuantely children under the age of 12 are not allowed, but we would have been happy to be of service to you and your family in any of our other restaurants. Kids 4 and under eat for free, and kids under 12 are half price on all meals.
Service charge and VAT is added to all costs, as it is a service we provided, even to prepare the meal and deliver same to your room. Please note that this cost is given to the staff and not towards the resort.

We do hope you would you would allow us another opportunity to be of service to you again and to provide you with a truly memorable experience, one that exceeds your expectations.

We remain at your service.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Magdalena for three nights and had a pleasant stay. Our room was right off the ocean and had a nice patio.

The hotel had breakfast for us but it wasn't as good as we had hoped. Other than that, the pool was really nice (there are several pools, but the main one had a bar you could swim up to, a volleyball net, and lots of chairs, towels to get).

The hotel is located close to the airport and you can get to things pretty easily around the area.

The hotel drives its guests around on a golf cart, because the resort is so large.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who loves the water! :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emily Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Emily,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful reviews with us. It was indeed a pleasure to be of service and we hope to welcome you soon again.

Warmest wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I've just returned from a hectic work trip and needed a little rest and relaxation... and what better place to come to then the Magdalena Grand! It feels like home to me. I can't get enough of the rooms and comfy bed that faces the sliding glass doors that leads to my very own balcony overlooking the coast. That fresh sea breeze certainly does wonders for the lungs!

Breakfast is always GRAND here! So fulling I feel like the would need to wheel me outside one of these days. After enjoying the delicious offerings I make my way to the sun loungers, of which there are plenty to choose from, for a day in the sun.

Life does not get any better than this!

Staff are always friendly and accommodating to my requests.
People often complain about service in Tobago, but these friendly smiling faces is nothing to complain about. At the end of the day everyone is human, and if you show a little respect to someone or give a little smile it goes a long way... and it works both ways. Something tells me these people that talk about service aren't always the most friendly ones to begin with...

Tobago is an island paradise mean't for relaxing and watching the world go by.
So pull up a sun lounger... there's no better place!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view rooms - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms_Fernweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your feedback and wonderful comments.
It is always a delight to hear from our repeat guests.
We look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.
Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Pros Nice looking hotel
most staff friendly
lovely views

Cons
confusion over bill on arrival
prejudice against people of colour when discussing payments of food or room. Different treatment confirmed by white visitors, which follows previous reviews.
toilet over flowed, power point didn't work, tv control didn't work,no kettle in room to make tea, cleaner did not clean as i watched as my soiled bedding was not changed despite bed being made up, embarrassment as unable to charge to room. food ok but standards do slip. forced to pay service charge, no staff on desk to answer queries,complaints etc.
I WANT MY MONEY BACK OR COMPENSATION

Room Tip: Don't tip until the end of stay you might find yourself asking for it back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We certainly appreciate the time you took to share your comments regarding your stay with us.
We do apologize for any inconveniences caused, however we would like to assure you that our guests are not treated any differently based on their skin colour, nor do our payment polocies of food and room change based on this. Upon arrival you would have been informed of the refundable amount required for incidental charges, which is standard in any hotel. If you were unable to provide us with a credit card to secure these charges, or a cash deposit, then we would not be able to provide you with the service of charging items to your room, as there were no funds left on your hotel account to cover these incidental charges.

Our management team are always available to discuss and assist with any issues that you may have during your stay. We enjoy meeting with our guests and helping to make their stay more enjoyable. We would have been happy to take a look at all your concerns and make the necessary adjustments to ensure your comfort. The television control may have simply needed batteries and it would have been our pleasure to send a new one to you immediately.

We are sorry that our items in the restuarants did not meet your expectations. We have often received wonderful comments regarding our Chef's dishes. We are accommodating to our guests, and our Chef would have also been happy to discuss your preffered meals with you.
Service charge is a standard item that is charged in Trinidad and Tobago. This amount goes towards the staff.

We are truly sorry that we were not able to provide you with a memorable experience, but we would be grateful for the opportunity to be of service to you once again and to change your memories of the Magdalena Grand.
Please feel free to let us know of your return and we will ensure your experience exceeds your expectations.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad W.I.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Who knew that the Magdalena was so well run! I didn't, but after my stay there I must say it's value for money and the service is where you'd want it to be. Getting a room was no hassle and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The main attraction of the hotel is the pool area which faces the atlantic ocean. I wouldn't advise you go swimming as it's more suited to kite surfing. The pool is grand and the pool bar makes being in the pool even more attractive. Breakfast was pretty good. Wish there was a little more local offering tho. Lunch & Dinner are a little expensive so I'd suggest you go out of the hotel and grab lunch and dinner elsewhere. You'd need a car to do that which will run you 100US per day if so much. That said, it's the kind of hotel you can spend all your time in tho. Golf, Tennis, Biking, Running, Sun Bathing, Bird Watching, Drinking! :)

Room Tip: All the rooms have an ocean view! If lazy you'll want a ground floor room which has access via...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinspectator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
It is always wonderful to hear from our past guests and to learn of their experience.
Thank you for all your kind compliments. We will be sure to pass your message along to the team.
We do hope to welcome you soon again in the near future.
Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing