We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place, Great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I just came back from our family vacation and I would recommend this resort to anyone. The food is great the service was outstanding and the staff is super friendly and courteous. I would like to thank Anika the hostess she is so friendly with an outstanding personality she added the extra pleasure when we were having breakfast. The rooms are lovely the location is great I am definitely going back. If you are looking for a spot to relax and have some good food this is your place. The resort is located near crown point so you can easily access the boats to take you to reef on the tour with the glass bottom boats. The staff is very helpful and informative about the sites to see and great things to do. MY ADVICE IS JUST GO !!!!!! Wonderful!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great you will have no regrets. All the rooms have great A/C and are well kept.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pchosenchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and great advise - Just Go!

It was truly a pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to hosting you soon again.

Sunny wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,419)
There are newer reviews for Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here with my partner for four nights as a stop off on our way back to London. My partner was 5 months pregnant at the time. Didn't know what to expect before arrival but was very happy as we pulled up to the entrance. Set back from the main road it is a short cheap 10 minute drive from the airport. Check-in staff were polite and we were shown to our room swiftly.

The room was spacious, clean and had a balcony facing the sea, it was very modern in comparison to other Caribbean hotels. The bathroom is at a very good standard and the shower was refreshing after a hot Tobago day. My partner found the bed very comfortable being pregnant she had been struggling to sleep previously.

Breakfast can be a little hectic especially at busy times as there is not enough seating in the dining area. Once you finally get a table there is a good selection of hot and cold foods. My partner particularly enjoyed her freshly made omelettes from the egg station.
We never ate at the hotels main restaurant but did enjoy our fish and chicken burgers from the Robinson Crusoe Pub. On the Sunday night of our stay the Tavaco Louge had a live band playing a great selection of songs to enjoy with a drink from the bar.

The travel rep was very helpful in arranging an island tour and taxis when we wanted to venture outside of the Magdalena resort. We recommend a trip to Store Bay, Pigeon Point, Buccoo Reef, Fort King George and Argyle Waterfall. The beach at the hotel isn't the best for swimming as the water is very rough but the hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service to Pigeon Point beach where the water is perfect for taking a dip.

We plan to go back to Tobago one day and will certainly stay at the Magdalena, we hope the hotel maintains its high standards!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a detailed review for us and for fellow visitors to read. It's great that you both decided to visit with us, and even got out to explore the island.
It was a pleasure to be of service, and congratulations on the birth of your baby! We hope to have you all visit with us soon again!

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful - Eva! Onsite dining was also excellent, very wide variety of local and international dishes. Hotel is on the Atlantic, so the ocean is rough, but you can go to Pigeon Point, excellent beach!. Also Tobago has lots of bays to visit..

Room Tip: get beach front!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! Short and sweet! We are happy that you chose the Magdalena Grand and that we had the opportunity to be of service to you and to contribute to your great memories of the island!

We look forward to welcoming you soon again in the near future.

Sunny wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We just spent a lovely weekend at Magdalena - restful and very pleasant. The hotel has been upgraded and the maintenance is much better than before. The beach is improving, the grounds are immaculate. The swim-up bar with the infinity edge pool is fantastic and the food is great. If you are into the golf then you are right on the course.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the main block
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gmaraujo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We always enjoy hearing from our past guests.
It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to your next visit.
Feel free to visit our Facebook page to stay up-to-date with our latest specials and promotions.

Warmest regards,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Things we specially enjoyed: cocktails in Robinson Crusoe Bar, dinner in Kali'na Restaurant, the splendid (and large!) breakfast buffet, the availability of bikes for exploring the Plantation area, pelicans diving for fish in the bay.
Things that didn't impress: lack of hot water (with no solution offered when we reported this), the distance of our room from the main part of the hotel, the price...
But, all in all, it was a very nice place to stay for the final night of our holiday, within convenient distance of the airport...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 7090jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.
We appreciate the positive feedback you expressed, as well as the things that you did not enjoy, as this would always help up to improve our services to you.
During your stay, we did in fact have an issue with one of our main pipes, but this was quickly rectified. We thank you for your understanding.
Our resort is also very expansive, offering only 3 floors, with all our rooms facing the ocean. With this in mind, only a few rooms would be considered close to the lobby, however we do offer a buggy shuttle to your room if you are unable to walk the distance. Most of our guests enjoy the picturesque walk along the coast to their rooms.
Once again we thank you for your comments and hope that we would have the opportunity to be of service to you soon again.
Please feel free to let us know of your return visit and we would ensure your request for a closer room would be met to the best of our ability.
Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Pleasant staff, delicious food, clean and comfortable rooms, punctual drivers, picturesque views, the ultimate vacation. The money is definitely worth it. And they get a get an extra bonus from a musician like myself for the mere fact that they have a piano!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ebony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We've noticed that a few months have passed since your last visit, and we hope we would have the opportunity to welcome you soon again. Perhaps this time you can play a tune for us on our Piano! Don't forget to join us for Jazzy Sundays! We are certain you would have a wonderful time.
We remain at your service.
Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We went to have dinner in the hotel...and have a walk along the golf course and the long and beautiful virgin beach. Lots of birds...water lilies....and that beach is so special...has a very soft sand and a long shallow sea. The views are marvellous....but the beach is dirty and the hotel does not clean it, nor the authorities.
If they do it ....this place will be one of the best in the Caribbean

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Uxua O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy that you visited us for dinner and enjoyed the walks around the resort.
Our beach is indeed a very special one. It is the nesting grounds for many sea turtles during the months of March - September. Being on the Atlantic coast, the tides and the waves, bring ashore seaweed and other foreign objects. Our beaches are cleaned daily, but during particular times of the year, Mother Nature does not allow for the beach to remain seaweed-free for long. It's all part of the joys of being one with nature and enjoying the natural life along the beach. We are always doing clean-ups and maintenance along the beach.
For our guests, we also offer a complimentary shuttle service to Pigeon Point Beach so that they may enjoy both the Atlantic Coast and the Caribbean Coast.
We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Tobago.
Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
249 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range: £157 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing