We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great food”
Review of Langaholt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Langaholt
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snaefellsbaer
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights while exploring Snaefellsnes. The location is really great for going around by car, you will reach most of the spots within a 30 minutes drive.

The day starts with a nice buffet breakfast with homemade bread, cereals, jam,.... And don't miss the dinner! I don't want to bore you by simply repeating other comments, but we had on of our best there during our nearly 3 weeks on Iceland. OK - it's not pretty cheap, but it's worth the money having in mind the quality.

We got a a room at the end of the corridor, so we had a great view at the seaside. Don't forget top take a stick with you when walking down to the beach to "protect" yourself from the arctic terns - there's a load of them on the golf course. :-)

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the end of the corridor - they are clos to the sea, on one side you might even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

We saw the ratings of other traveler and decided to give it a try. The guesthouse is nicely decorated, the rooms itself more minimalistic. They are clean with private bathrooms. But the bathrooms are small and not modern as in other guesthouese with a similar price niveau. The food offered for dinner is really good. We ordered a 3 course dinner previous to our arrival via Islandicfarmholidays, but finally I feel it would be better to order a la carte (it was around 49 Euros per Person). Nevertheless it was delicious and that counts :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vincenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had the same experience as the reviewer below. Stayed at Budir four nights, had dinner there our first night, it was fine, pricey, not spectacular. Met a couple (locals) who recommended Langaholt and we went the next night. Very casual and laid back. Sat outside at a funky table with a glass of wine until they opened at 7 and were very surprised at the quality of the meal. It was excellent. It's like a little country dining room. We were told it is the project of three former chefs from Budir, all of them talented and one the others referred to as "the genius." There is inspiration in the food. We ended up eating there three times, including one night when we spent the day driving in the fjiords and arrived at 9:15. They were no longer serving dinner, but the server offered us a bowl of fish soup - DELICIOUS - and we were happy. It's about a 10-12 minute drive on the main road from Hotel Budir. Do it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank UpgradeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I loved the ambience and comforts of Langaholt. Proprietor Thorkell (“Keli”) Simonarson and his girlfriend Rúna Björg Magnúsdóttir have created a warm, welcoming, funky and completely absorbing guesthouse on a converted farm. Keli’s father brings in fresh trout and char from a nearby lake and his mother fillets them and serves them immediately for breakfast or dinner(I have a video of her filleting technique on my website. It's a must watch!). Their artist friend Thordis Claessen has adorned their walls with some very unusual images reflecting local mythology. Langaholt also has a small golf course located right on their oceanfront property, which I did not try out. They are near to lots of good photographic locations. I have more on them in my blog: http://blog.lesterpickerphoto.com/2012/05/20/iceland-lodging/

Room Tip: I only stayed in one room, but a colleague stayed in another and we had similar experiences. I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LesPicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Iceland has been on my bucket list for years. I caught a great sale on Icelandair and, rather hurriedly, arranged accommodations through Icelandic Farm Holidays (www.farmholidays.is -- highly recommended!) Langaholt was my first stop. Having seen nothing but breathtaking natural beauty and human tidiness all day, I was appalled to see the clutter outside the entrance to this bunkhouse-style, edge-of-shabby property. (broken furniture, rusting golf clubs scattered about, etc.). Shortly I was greeted by the ebullient owner--who, incidentally, always dresses in his Tom Waits-like costume. With some trepidation, I followed him through a dimly-lit bar-buffet space and down a long hall to my assigned room--and breathed a great sigh of relief! It was small but sufficient, bright, simple, and immaculate, with a lovely view of the neighbor's pastures and barn, the sea, and the glacier in the distance. All of the rooms have splendid views, in fact. Kelly, the eccentric proprietor, asked whether I'd like dinner--fresh fish and local produce--and about my breakfast preferences. Needless to say, my apprehensions began to melt away, and were completely gone by dinner time. Kelly is a phenomenal cook, and he takes great care to serve the freshest fish available. He also turned out to be a great conversationalist, wryly humorous, thoroughly versed in and proud of the region, Icelandic culture and its Viking heritage, and eager to share as much or as little of his opinions and personal story as one invites. I stayed two days and was extremely well fed at both breakfast (included in the booking) and dinner. (Try the fixed price dinner; perhaps a little expensive but worth it.) It was a perfect place to come home to after a day of exploring the magnificent Snaefellsnes. Save time to walk around the sea-side golf course, converted from former sheep pastures, or play a round. Relish the sunsets. I am so eager to return, and to chat up with Kelly! The cover of this book may be a bit shabby, but the story is delightful.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the glacier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mbj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The exterior may appear slightly worn, but rooms were neat and clean. The walls were thin, but the guests were quiet so it was a fine sleep. My room was tiny, but you're not hosting a party, right?

I had the breakfast, which was a typical affair and a good value compared to similar I had in Iceland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We were staying nearby at the Hotel Budir and were disappointed w/ our dinner.

A local recommended Langaholt. It was a pleasant experience and relatively inexpensive. Very friendly and fast staff. Excellent fish soup.

Not fancy but clean and cozy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank JoeHouston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snaefellsbaer
7.1 mi away
Hotel Budir
Hotel Budir
#1 of 1 in Budir
716 reviews
15.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hellnar
Fosshotel Hellnar
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
508 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
North Star Hotel Olafsvik
21.9 mi away
Hotel Egilsen
Hotel Egilsen
#1 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
312 reviews
21.6 mi away
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
#2 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langaholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langaholt

Address: Langholt, Snaefellsbaer 356, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > West Region > Snaefellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snaefellsbaer
Price Range: £104 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guesthouse for a good nights rest and a hearty dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Langaholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langaholt Iceland/Snaefellsbaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing