We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Kast Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kast Guesthouse
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stay at Kast GuestHouse for 2 days. Initially we book sleeping bag accom, perhaps during winter time not much of guest so we are being upgrade to better rooms. The mountain view was absolutely stunning and awesome...We woke up to snowing and ran to the backyard to take photos... The lady was very friendly, room was very neat and tidy, toilet was shared but it was vey clean too. Location wise was good but on a side note, it was kind of out around the farm area. There was no supermart or fastfood or petrol around the corner so be ready to stock up everything before you head over likewise i have mention its a hidden gem. You wouldnt want to miss it. P/s: they have a lovely cat too ~

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank PEili K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

The place, location and the people are nice enough but the rooms are tiny. It would be a squeeze for 2 adults but completely unsuitable for 2 adults and 2 young kids.

During our 3 weeks travelling round Iceland, this was the only place that didn't offer tea making facilities. Was informed you could get tea in the main breakfast area but then got stung 290 ISK (about 1.50 GBP) for a small cup.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WPSesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

First impressions are everything - when my wife walked in to the room she asked me if we were being committed to a Sanitarium and that pretty much sums up the room. White walls, white bed sheets and no notable furnishings. You can sleep here but the room leaves a LOT to be desired. It is in a fantastic location which makes up for the drab interior somewhat but it still fell short of most of the other places we stayed. It almost felt like we were staying in a storage container. It'll do for a sleep but that's about it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank looseendsmakeknots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed to nights in Kast Guesthouse on the south coast of Snaefellsnespeninsula. The room was clean, everything was rather new, we had a shared bathroom that was also clean and nice. It was very quiet even though we had a room towards the back where the campsite is located.
There is free wifi in the dining/breakfast room/restaurant. The breakfast was very good with bread, cheese, ham, jam, muesli, cornflakes, joghurt, milk, coffee and tea. We had diner on both nights in the restaurant which was also very good. The price was reasonable (2000 ISK for a burger, 3500 ISK for lamb).
The staff of the guesthouse was always nice and helpfull.
You can book horse riding trips with the staff of the guesthouse. There is a swimmingpool right across the street which was closed when we stayed there. Also the Peninsula is very good for hiking and there is lots to see.
The guesthouse lies very centrally so you get everywhere very well. At least by car. I have no experience for bus transport there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Northwest-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We enjoyed our two nights at Kast Guesthouse. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a flat tire when we arrived and the owner was very happy to help us and supply an extra jack as ours malfunctioned. Our room was right at the front and even though many people had to pass by us, we found it quiet and private.

Breakfast was typical and the bread was amazing. It was close to everything we needed to see and we really enjoyed our stay. We weren't looking for anything romantic or special - and this fit the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The staff is very friendly, they provide everything you need. No special feeling remained after staying at this place. However, I do recommend it, especially since it probably has a better price ratio than other nearby facilities. An added value is that there is a geothermal pool at walking distance (about 10 min, for the usual price of something like kr 500). There are other activities which we did not use (like horse riding). From the guesthouse you can have a stunning view of the nearby glacier (if weather permits).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2traveleraround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed two nights at the Kast Guesthouse at Snaefellsnes. The whole location is simple, nice and new. Our room was quite spacious and comfortable. You have wifi access in the main building and they have their own hot pot. The breakfast buffet is sufficient and good. Furthermore the view on the ocean is beautiful. We would stay again at this guesthouse on our next trip to Iceland.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CrickMuenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snaefellsbaer
5.4 mi away
Hotel Budir
Hotel Budir
#1 of 1 in Budir
728 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fosshotel Hellnar
Fosshotel Hellnar
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
514 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Langaholt
Langaholt
#1 of 1 in Snaefellsbaer
149 reviews
21.2 mi away
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
#2 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
326 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hotel Egilsen
Hotel Egilsen
#1 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kast Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kast Guesthouse

Address: Lysudalur, Snaefellsbaer 356, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Snaefellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Snaefellsbaer
Price Range: £104 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kast Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quiet countryside of the Snæfellsnes Peninsula, this family-run guest house is 45 minutes’ drive from Stykkisholmur town centre. It offers free Wi-Fi everywhere, along with an on-site restaurant and bar. The bright, simply decorated rooms at Kast Guesthouse all have wooden floors and views of the surrounding nature (mountains or ocean). Guests can choose rooms with either private or shared bathroom facilities. Communal areas include a TV lounge and furnished, outdoor terrace with a BBQ. Guesthouse Kast staff arranges fishing licenses, as well as horse riding tours and hiking trips. A swimming pool with naturally carbonated geothermal water is just 1 minute away, while Snæfellsjokull National Park is 30 minutes from the property. Reykjavik is a 2-hour drive away. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Kast Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kast Guesthouse Iceland/Snaefellsbaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing