We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Location & B&B we have stayed in”
Review of Imeall na Mara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballydavid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Imeall na Mara
Ranked #2 of 3 Ballydavid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pottstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Location & B&B we have stayed in”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The rooms are a perfect balance of contemporary and traditional.
They are spacious and well designed, with wonderful skylights and views of the bay.
We lucked upon staying here in late October of 2012.

We were greeted with a wonderful slice of coffee cake -- which may have been the best my Wife and I ever shared.

The views... were amazing. We also met a wonderful cow named Harold (if i am correct?) who was starring at us through the windows in the sunroom as we enjoyed our cake.

Breakfast was delicious...and we only wish we stayed another night.

All in all, i would recommend this location and cannot wait to visit again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
66
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This is a B&B that would beat many expensive hotels for comfort, style, wonderful view and tasty breakfast, at prices well below those of most hotels - agus míle fáilte ann roimh chainteoirí Gaeilge freisin! My sister and I had a room each, and agreed that the beds were exceptionally comfortable with a great choice of pillows; both rooms were large (and ensuite of course) and provided not just the bed, chest of drawers, large wardrobe -walk-in in my room - plus tv etc, but also a desk and chair, which was a boon in my case. My room had a fantastic view of sea, mountains, cliffs and beaches, the same view as from the dining room and the guests' conservatory (nó grianán). Breakfast options included genuinely fresh fruit and good yogurt, and a great pancake among the cooked choices. There are lots of great walks in the area, one of them on a grassy track along the cliffs nearby, and any number of interesting things to do and see, plus all the tempting shops, cafes and restaurants of An Daingean/Dingle. Bhíomar an-sásta ar fad leis an rogha a rinneamar, bhí Phil agus Michael fíor-lách agus cuiditheach, agus tá súil againn filleadh lá éigin.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annaheussaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

What luck we chose this B&B on our Dingle Peninsula walk last month. First, a very nice room with a water view, then a terrific breakfast (best pancake in Ireland), finally good advise and a big favor from Phil, the proprietor of the B&B. We were not up for the very long, steep, and wet traverse around the mountain that separated us from our next destination. So Phil got a friend of hers to drive us to the short cut point. Then I managed to forget my rain jacket in the friend's car, thinking I would never see it again. But a couple of emails later, and Phil had mailed my jacket ahead to a hotel in Galway where it was waiting when we got there! Totally above and beyond her call of duty. Thanks again Phil!

Room Tip: Looks like they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, NH
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

As others have said, Phil and Michael are wonderful hosts. Michael's stories at breakfast were a highlight of the trip. They have a large breakfast menu to order from, and the dining room looks out to the sea. This is a beautiful, newly built home and the guests comfort was really taken into consideration. I've traveled extensively in Ireland, and have made a handful of trips to the Dingle peninsula, but had mostly stayed in the Ventry area. Ballydavid is beautiful and quiet, but only a 10-minute drive to Dingle town. I look forward to spending more time in the area, and will be sure to stay here again when I do.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marywinzlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at Phil and Michael's B&B for an evening and we wished we had more time to spend in this part of Ireland and in this B&B. I can't say enough about the hospitality shown by the owners and the finishing touches that make this B&B special. The food was delicious, the room comfortable and the bed linens of good quality. We were very happy with our stay. Be aware that Ballydavid is small and quaint - there isn't much to do there, but if you are looking for a place to relax amongst the hills of Ireland, you won't be disappointed. Have a beer at the local pub on the water, enjoy the horse farm across the way, look out onto the ocean with a cup of coffee in the morning - and enjoy the peace and quiet. We look forward to our next visit to Ireland. We'll be stopping by Imeall na Mara without question.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaPuce11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Room for 2 of us was beautiful, airy and had a superb view of the sea.The Brosnans made us feel so welcome from the moment we arrived, with a cup of coffee and some cake.
They were very helpful with directions etc
the breakfast was real home cooked food a mile away from the usual bland hotel fare
with a huge selection, whether you wanted cooked 0r simply juice cereal etc
top class The Rolls Royce of B+B's!
5 /5 *****

Room Tip: the rooms at the front of the house face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meonli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

An outstanding bed and breakfast, with great hosts Phil and Michael. Rooms appointed to a very high standard, and the breakfast superb. Beautiful location, and a 'must stay' place if visiting Dingle Peninsula. Irish hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballydavid
5.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
5.6 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
762 reviews
2.3 mi away
An Riasc Bed and Breakfast
An Riasc Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Ballydavid
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gorman's Clifftop House Hotel
Gorman's Clifftop House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glaise Bheag
273 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dingle Peninsula Hotel
Dingle Peninsula Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ballyferriter
45 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ceann Sibeal Hotel
Ceann Sibeal Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ballyferriter
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imeall na Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imeall na Mara

Property: Imeall na Mara
Address: Imeall Na Mara Imeall Na Mara Imeall Na Mara On the Dingle Way Walking Route And the Slea Head Drive | Ballydavid Dingle Kerry, Ballydavid, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Ballydavid
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ballydavid
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing