We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay in an interesting region”
Review of Mount Vernon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Burren
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Vernon
Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant stay in an interesting region”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had a very nice stay in this 300 year old house facing the sea. The history of the old house was fascinating including links to George Washington, and visits by Yeats and Shaw. Our room and ensuite bathroom were large and beautifully and rather eclectically furnished and we enjoyed the stay immensely; getting up early to enjoy a beautiful sunrise streaming through the windows from across the bay. Breakfasts were enjoyable and the company was pleasant. There are great walks along the Flaggy Shores and some wonderful seafood restaurants along the water where you can see the fishing boats coming in with your next meal. There is no wi-fi in the rooms and no TV which means it is a great place to turn off the information highway and get "unconnected".

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    7
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a lovely 18th C house steeped in history. We had a nice room and the breakfast in the dining room was excellent as was sitting by the log fire in the evening, in the sitting room. The host is very knowledgeable of the Burren and there is an extensive collection of books on various subjects relevant to the Burren e.g. flowers, monuments, birds.

The location on the Flaggy Shore in New Quay is a haven of tranquility.

As said by other contributors, this is not for people wanting modern five-star facilities with TV in the rooms. Although there is wifi in the sitting room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleQuentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

How often do you get the chance to relax in the drawing room and dining room where Lady Gregory entertained Yeats, George Bernard Shaw and Augustus John? I loved the history of this white house perched on the water. For those who enjoy antiques, books, paintings and collections this place has scores of things to look at and enjoy. It is not a typical hotel experience and the host is not a typical hotelier but our room and bathroom were spacious, nicely furnished, warm, immaculate and comfortable. Hospitality came with a roaring fire in the drawing room, an honesty bar and an interesting conversation. Breakfast offered as much as you wanted enhanced by home-made preserves. WiFi in the drawing and dining rooms was fine - did not miss TV and room phone. It was a tad expensive at Euro 95 pp. but worth it I think.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I can understand, reading previous reviews, why this place wouldn't suit everybody. If what you want is a grade A hotel with wi-fi and multi tv channels, this is not the place for you. What is offered here is a stay in a period house in an absolutely exquisite setting in the company of friendly and pleasant hosts. We were the only guests in the house during our stay but still a large log fire was waiting for us every evening in the sitting room on our return and the welcome from our hosts was friendly without being intrusive. The bedroom was extremely comfortable and though we were there in early April with gale force winds coming in from the Atlantic, the house never felt cold and in fact we turned off the heat in the bedroom as it was not needed. There are certainly cheaper and more modern places around but I can't think of a more pleasant and original place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldpapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Mt Vernon is not everyone's idea of a guest house. It is a very different experience from your average.

It is mercifully free of television, radio, piped music and noise generally. The house is decorated with great eclectic flair - in terms of period, ethnicity etc. Books abound (real ones - not he shelf-fillers that fill most places). The drawing room has a huge fireplace with a basket of logs to be added as needed. Bedrooms are large, airy and give onto a glorious walled garden. Bathrooms are top class. There are, I think, just three bedrooms.

The owners are perfect hosts, friendly, discreet, helpful and relaxed. Mt Vernon is expensive, but then again what it offers is unusual if not unique.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capam1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at Mount Vernon for two nights last June during our two weeks trip through Western Ireland. This was the most expensive place we stayed at and the most unwelcoming. We were informed that we could not check in until after 4:00- which was a bit late; but in fact when we knocked on the door at 4:30 no one was home. We drove down the road and killed some time and came back at 5:00. Not abig deal but it was a long day and it would have been nice to have been able to check in earlier. Our host Mark was gracious and friendly and the house itself is charming, but the overall ambience was not as friendly and welcoming as all the other inns and lodges we stayed at. You are asked to check off your breakfast selections on a preprinted menu the night before which seemed a bit officious. Breakfast was ok- but portion control was in full mode. Our fresh orange juice was barely half a glass with no refills and the food while tasty was a bit on the thin side.
Our room was interesting- sort of an Egyptian motif with two tiny dormer windows looking at the ocean. Overall it was dark and moody.
We had dinner there that night and for $50.00 euros each we did not feel we received real value. Each course was fine in itself- but again it was very portion controlled. My wife and I are not big eaters so that was not the issue; rather we felt that the food was being doled out in a very controlled manner.
Mark was helpful in providing directions to Doolin and the Cliffs and overall was helpful.
Overall, it is hard to put our finger on how we felt- much of our reaction was based on how friendly and accomodating all the others hosts were where we stayed. Our stay at Mount Vernon seemed a bit formal and almost corporate.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank booster1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I made a weekend trip from London to Shannon on RyanAir and stayed two nights at Mount Vernon. We'd rented a car at Shannon airport and were very happy we had the TomTom app, because it's a bit tricky to find. That said, it's a very nice little place smack in the middle of The Burren, and Mark gave some truly delightful recommendations of what sights we should see in and around the area. If you like any particular type of thing, just ask! We like to look at ruins, and he mapped out a lovely day for us driving around the surroundings, and saw a marvellous old abbey, a medieval temple, an ancient stone tomb, the sweet little perfumery, and did some excellent geocaching while we were at it! The Burren is an amazing and odd landscape and very much worth a visit, and Mount Vernon was a perfect base to venture out from. And don't forget to try the extremely tasty porridge with honey and whisky for a hearty breakfast! Yum!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jes6ica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Burren
24.7 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
458 reviews
9.9 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,288 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
306 reviews
23.0 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 18 in Doolin
376 reviews
24.3 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Vernon

Property: Mount Vernon
Address: New Quay, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Speciality Lodging in The Burren
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Mount Vernon Ireland/The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing