We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moher cliffs”

Ranked #6 of 56 things to do in The Burren
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Burren and Cliffs of Moher Geoapark lies on the west coast of Ireland. In the stunning surrounds of this UNESCO-recognized Geopark you will find the longest cave system in Ireland, the largest stalactite in Europe, the Burren National Park, the Carron Nature Reserve, and a host of wild flora and fauna. It's a destination brimming with activities, attractions, culture and excellent food.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
constanta
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Moher cliffs”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Really amazing scenery .Worth seeing it.
Wonderful tour guides at "Extreme Ireland" and "One day Ireland tour" agencies. They really made their best to make our trip most pleasant .They should include a cruise of the Moher cliffs in the programme
There should be included a cruise along the moher cliffs during the tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank daniela511960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    33
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Experiences worth the effort - Cliffs of Moher and the Burren”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Being in Ireland only a short time one learns to always carry rain gear! The day our tour group visited the Cliffs of Moher began overcast and mist rain. But as we approached the cliffs the rain did stop but the clouds did remain. No matter we did get to climb both sides of the magnificent Cliffs of Moher with the breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. The approach is well laid out with a rock path to follow and some rock steps. This is a safe climb although it does go up in altitude. Along with the beautiful ocean you will find pastures on both sides where sheep, goats and cattle are grazing. I am sure in wild flower season you would find a beautiful landscape of flowers. After we climbed both sides of the cliffs we entered into the museum area. It is well laid out and has a gift shop, water and restrooms.

We then rode to an area called The Burren. This area is night and day from the cliffs. The rolling green hills slowly diminish and in their place there are small rocks and dirt. The landscape is very flat but the history is fascinating. Upon a short walk from the motorcoach you will see a monument of time. Thousands of years ago this area was used as a burial ground. Large bolders mark the area of the tomb.

Both areas are totally worth your time and effort to visit and enjoy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Purplelady6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A spectacular place”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

With its view to the Atlantic and the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher is one of those very special places that must be visited on a trip to Ireland. The abruptness, the color of the rock, the views, all make this place very special. And though it can be overwhelmed by tourists, it is well worth the trouble.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best seen from a boat!!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My family and I visited the Cliffs of Moher and the surrounding areas last weekend. Having visited the cliffs on foot before we decided to take a boat trip just to get a different perspective. There are multiple trips on offer from the pier in Doolin. So we headed out on Saturday afternoon at 1.30. The trip takes around an hour but honestly the views are breathtaking. We were fortunate it was a calm day and the boat went very close to the cliffs which are much more impressive form the sea.Well worth a visit. We also toured the surrounding areas by car,the costal drive is spectacular and the landscape so alien it is like walking on the surface of another planet. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful but cold!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Well worth a visit. Very harsh and rugged landscape but beautiful. Rug up warm as it was very cold. Great gift shop with some different items to the usual tourist stuff. There is a cafe but we drove on for another five minutes to Liscannor, found a great local pub called Vaughans.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank natclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burren and Cliffs of Moher Geopark also viewed

 
Doolin, The Burren
 

Been to Burren and Cliffs of Moher Geopark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing