We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Wonderful experience"”
other travellers have booked this property
The Welcoming Committee at Frank's Cottage!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Welcoming Committee at Frank's Cottage!
Relaxing in front of the fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The Welcoming Committee at Frank's Cottage!
Relaxing in front of the fire
Double bedroom (with room for single bed or baby cot)
A peek in at the twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Charlestown, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
308spider
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“"Wonderful experience"”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in February 2015

Visiting from Australia, booked 7 nights but stayed for10, loved everything about our stay the cottage is in a lovely quite setting and is very well equipped, our grandson loved the animals especially the cat, so easy to drive to other places of interest. If we ever return to Ireland we will be giving James a call, thank you so much laurence Vicky and Armani.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We were delighted when you decided to extend your holiday! Hope to see you sometime again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoneWieg...
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A gem in Mayo”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Frank's Cottage after finishing a whirlwind tour of Ireland. What a great place to unwind and enjoy the true Ireland. We were in the country amidst peace and quiet. We used the wi-Fi and the DVD on an occasional basis. It was the perfect spot for us to travel around the surrounding counties and up to Donegal to see some friends.
Judy and Seamus were the best hosts. Seamus kept us stocked with turf for the fire. Plus we were happy to greet Chip and Sugar, the donkeys - and Patches and Daisy the cats.
Clean, comfortable and delightful. One cannot pick a better place to enjoy Ireland.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you for the lovely review. We are happy that you found the cottage a welcome break and made us of the amenities. Chip and Sugar are always happy to make new friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Dingle, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a little gem!!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Frank’s Cottage Mayo Holiday Home was a perfect base to see Co. Mayo and Co. Sligo and further afield. It has everything you would need in a holiday rental, wifi, turf fire, tv/dvd player and then some! The two donkeys were so friendly and added to the warm welcome we received! We enjoyed our stay and found the cottage to be very comfortable and clean! The hosts were so accomodating and really went that extra mile for you which is a special touch. Can't recommend this place enough, a little gem!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline P
Toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago for a stay in August 2018
NEW
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2018
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed not to have been met. In the description of the property it is explained that I do not live nearby however I was in phone contact and email contact with you. When you booked, the booking was for 2 adults only. Had you included the baby in the booking I would have been happy to supply the cot and high chair which we have for guests with babies.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the paintings displayed in the cottage which were painted by a local renowned artist. She has lent them to us for our guests pleasure and for sale if one wishes to purchase.

We think the cottage contains everything needed for a cosy stay and unfortunately sometimes the water pressure in rural areas is not what one would expect in an urban hotel.

Hopefully you were able to appreciate the beauty of the Irish countryside and had some quality time with your family and my two donkeys!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinti2016
El Masnou, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La localización y el sitio
Liked least: Algún mueble estaba un poco usado
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you for the lovely review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Franks Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing