We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
245
17
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
17
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic building bed and breakfast heart cheese charm
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for one night on the way to Puglia. The B&B is in a beautifully restored old residence. It has both comfort and charm. The room was very spacious and airy, with all the conveniences. The shower was very good. Breakfast was terrific -- it included a large selection of hot and cold items -- Giuseppe even offered to prepare eggs for us, an offer we couldn't refuse -- they arrived, accompanied by cheese, prosciutto and salami, and were delicious! If you drive there, you will turn right through an arch onto Via Garibaldi, a narrow cobblestone street you will think you should not be driving on, but just continue to the end (Giuseppe guided us by telephone) and there will be a place to park, near the entrance to the B&B. The best part was the wonderful welcome and hospitality shown to us by Giuseppe. He also speaks excellent English. We would love to go back someday.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank pogogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

It's located in an old palace in the heart of the old town's fortress, exotic and even romantic, nicely stylishly renovated, with modern bathroom facilities. No elevator though. Also the parking is possible only on the cross street which is the belt road circling the old town. So you have to carry your luggage about 50 meters to the inn. Furthermore, you have to drive there thru the town's main street which is a quite narrow two-way road, requiring to let upcoming cars to pass. Good standard breakfast. We asked for it to be served at 6 am and our request was granted. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Cariati is my birth place and while I thought I new this area very well I did not expect to find the welcome we received hear.
The Palazzo Mascanbruno is to good to be called just a B&B its a gem amongst a jewel of Italian chaos.
The owner Giusepe is a wealth of knowledge for the area and of all the hotels I have stayed in around the world he is the most accommodating hotelier I have ever met.
We took four friends with us who had never visited this part of Italy before and it was refreshing to find in this part of Italy that Giuseppe understood the needs of the English traveler.
Thanks Giuseppe you will defiantly see us again.

My Uncle Leo who lives in Old Cariati and view from our room.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Aldo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

We stayed for a week in this beautiful building. Enter through a large wooden door into an enchanting courtyard. The bedrooms are large e with an equally spacious en suite. Giuseppe and his sister could not do enough for us. A charming couple who went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and well fed !! The olde world / antique décor added to the experience. A wonderful place to stay in an equally wonderful old town with good views and friendly people. We will definitely return !!

Room Tip: All rooms good. Parking only restriction, you need a car for other places / beaches etc. although the town has trains and buses.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

Thanks to Giuseppe who was the perfect host during our one night stay. Romantic place, large room, good breakfast and cheap price. What else do you want?....actually we missed the bedroom with apparently amazing view overlooking the sea....early booking recommended...
Good advice from Giuseppe on restaurants and "tapas" bar of the village.
Would surely stop again when in the area

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Citrullo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews