We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Residence Costa Azzurra
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Residence Eolo(San Nicolo)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
US$108
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$502
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grotticelle(San Nicolo)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
42
42
21
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
42
21
9
8
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2011

All the staff very friendly and did their best to make our stay enjoyable. Room was on the small side and the promised balcony turned out to be a Juliet one. Shower was a bit of a drizzle and the water temperature unstable. However the pool area was a great place to relax in with plenty of free sunbeds and a pool bar which did lunches as well as drinks. Limited choice at mealtimes (but it is a small hotel).

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

In our opinion this area of Italy is not geared up yet for English tourists. the main nationality within the hotel was German. In some respects this was completely different type of holiday for us but the whole area was closed up (with the exception of the wonderful icecream/ coffee shop across the road which was owned by a lovely guy who had worked in New York and London and made the most amazing pastries) by 10pm.

We are happy to immerse ourselves in whatever culture and experiences we encounter when on holiday but there really was very little to do of interest here. There were excursions to a number of places - we went to the monastery on a coach where we were a minority of 2 in a group of 80 German tourists and the guides were only geared up for them with little or no English spoken. the lunch break on this tour was worse than Fawlty Towers and had to be experienced to be believed. We discovered that there has to be at least 10 people from any one nationality before a guide speaking that language will be provided.

The food in the hotel was traditional Italian home cooking which had to be ordered at breakfast from a very limited choice. if you are vegetarian then be prepared to eat lots of salad and nothing much more. we were only offered a proper dessert once during the week the rest of the time the offerings were either 'nothing' or tinned fruit - not very inspiring. Be prepared to look in cupboards for crockery which is often not provided ie bowls for cereals, saucers for cups!

Our room was quite small and was in one of the main buildings. If we were to go again we would request a garden room. there was no bath and the shower was something that would have been provided in Spain 30 years ago. a very small, square shower tray with just a flimsy plastic curtain. the water took absolutely ages to get hot but when it did the supply was plentiful. The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels were always available.

The pool area was very nice and the staff in the outside bar were most accommodating. there was no problem with people reserving sunbeds even though we felt that the hotel was almost full.

The hotel is run by a lovely family who are very accommodating and helpful. the father was on duty in reception in the evenings, the son drove the minibus into Tropea. another guy drove the minibus backwards and forwards to the beach but the timings were not very good. the road to the beach is extremely steep - not bad going down but horrendous coming back! The lady on reception during the day was really lovely and spoke good English.

All in all a beautiful area but before it can be part of the English holiday destinations the tour operators need to do some research into what is and what is not expected by their client group.

Our representative was a German girl and obviously not used to English people but having said that even though she only attended the hotel twice in the week she was available on her mobile at all times and we did contact her using this method and she responded immediately which was very good.

Please do not be put off by this review as we had a very enjoyable week at this hotel. However, we would have been most unhappy had we chosen to stay any longer.

Room Tip: request a garden room
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2007

My boyfriend and I were looking for a relaxing low budget holiday with that special spark. We were not disappointed! In the 1st week of our holiday, we were one of the only couples in the resort, and had the pool all to ourselves! The pool was cleaned daily and was set in a beautiful garden area. The 2nd week of our holiday the hotel was a lot busier, but the service was still great and there was still space by the pool. Our rooms were clean but basic, and although the food was nothing special, we were half board, and could therefore try the wonderful pizzerias situated nearby.
We hired a car and drove to the nearby town of Tropea - a buzzing atmosphere with little shops and eateries scattered around.
Although the hotel is set in a relatively quiet area, there are still things to do nearby. The beach is about 10 minutes from the hotel (down quite a steep slope), where you can get a pedaloe aiong the stunning coastline.
All in all, the area is one of great natural beauty, and it is one of the best holidays we have ever had!

Stayed: June 2006
5  Thank Eastendcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es gibt Zimmer mit Meerblick.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews