We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Residence Costa Azzurra
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residence Eolo(San Nicolo)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
US$502
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grotticelle(San Nicolo)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
42
42
21
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
42
21
9
8
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My partner & I visited this lovely little hotel early June 2012 & boy what a place!
The rooms are a bit basic & have no fridge but comfy all the same..
Real italian food is what we wanted & its just what we got..You order the evening meal at breakfast, yes, pasta to start followed by fish or meat with 1 or 2 veg..lots of wine to choose from out of the fridge.lovely..
A 15 min walk takes you to the train station & you can visit Tropea & wander the tiny streets & alleyways & sample yet more amazing italian food & wine..
Back at the hotel you have a gorgeous pool to cool off in, as I said we were there in early June & it was 28-30 every day!
Turn right out of the hotel and keep walking as far as you can it you will find the lighthouse with another cafe with amazing views, This is the real Italy & so peaceful, not much to do in the evenings & teenagers may be a little bored, just sit back a watch the world go by..
Be prepared for the walk to the beach although the hotel does offer a lift in their little bus , but walk down & up certainly walks of all the pasta!
The views are amazing, white sand, clear blue water.. a couple of "lookey lookey" men on the beach.. the man selling dresses is great, no hastle & will knock the price down too.
We can't wait to go back next June.. not sure I should have told you how good is it as we don't want too many people going there do we??

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarahdte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed half board for 1 week. Area is very rural and not yet a popular destination with Brits which seems to contribute to the area remaining very much Italian. The room was very basic- no decor and some very strange super watt bedside lighting without shade that blinded us before we had the gumption to use the ceiling light! It was however a little strange! We had one of the little chalet type rooms in the grounds which are really lovely- the owner clearly loves his garden and this and the pool are really,really nice.
We had to have half board- the food was a bit hit and miss and given the abundance of fresh fruit and veg we were surprised at the frozen carrots one night and on another (70's retro) Smash ! Half way through the week they gave up on dessert and secretly a salad cart was bought into service - be alert for this as no-one tells you about it, we only knew when the Germans kept coming back with something we didn't have!
Service and the staff were very good, they were extremely nice and put up with me trying to speak Italian at them!
The hotel has its own little beach- we discovered this on our last day but would have gone more if we'd have known about how lovely it was- azure blue warm sea and a bar nearby.
The Ice cream shop opposite was extremely nice- staff there really friendly and helpful and we managed to try all of the flavours (including liquorice). This was especially good when there was the arbitrary withdrawal of dessert half way through week.
The transfer from Lamezia is about hour and half so quite long - we went with air Lingus - but check in on the Italian side atrocious. All in all nice destination if you want to get close to a real sense of Italy without the increasingly anglicising of holiday package destinations ( don't go if you like chips -we saw none for the week!)PS very,very hot - if we went again we'd go September.

Room Tip: Ask for more pillows- chalets in the garden were quiet
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiredtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My partner and I had a fantastic time at the Costa Azzuro. The staff are friendly and courteous and the rooms are very clean although a little compact. The hotel grounds are like paradise there is a lovely big garden to relax in and a big very clean outdoor swimming pool. There is a a poolside bar/cafe which is manned from early morn to late night every day and the poolside staff are lots of fun and professional. The food was delicious and plentiful although not a huge choice to choose from.Hotel is about 20-25 mins walk from beach but hotel has a mini bus that will ferry you to and from the beach free of charge. The beach is glorious.This is a lovely little hotel and I would have no hesitation recommending it.

Room Tip: A great place for couples to stay.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

A very decent hotel, very little to complain about. Small family run hotel. The staff were lovely. No bar in the hotel.

The rooms are very basic but clean. Nice shower, no bath, firm beds. Don't expect luxury in room.

Pool area is lovely, on a couple of days we had the pool completely to ourselves, no problem finding a sunbed!

Not your average half board buffet. Dinner was served restaurant style but you had to choose your food from a small set menu that was left out at breakfast. The menu changed each day, 3 first course, 3 second course, 2 accompaniment.

Now the location of the hotel will divide. Those of you who want to do absolutely nothing this is the place for you. There is a long-ish steep walk to the beach but the hotel puts on a shuttle bus. There is almost nothing to do in the area. We did travel in the off season, there might be more open during the summer. The local train station is about a 15 minute walk, a 10 minute train ride (€2 return) to Tropea has all the restaurants and bars you need. Transfer from airport is about 1h20mins.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank icedaddyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We booked the Costa Azzurra as we wanted a change from the large, impersonal five star hotels we usually go to and we were not disappointed,this hotel had everything and more. We stayed in a garden room and although not luxurious the banana and lemon trees outside our door more than made up for it. It is friendly family run hotel where nothing is too much trouble. The owner is on site and the grounds, hotel and rooms are kept spotlessly clean. Guests were mainly Italian, with some German and French and just a handful of Brits who all got along very well especially after the sangria flowed at Calbrigia night at the hotel. (Although this meant excursions were unavailable as COSMOS only book an English speaking guide if more than ten Brit couples book.) Food was fine -but some guests were a little too enthusiastic when the salad buffet opened and you needed elbows not salad servers to get a look in. Staff were always friendly and helpful especially the receptionist who made you feel you were part of the family, and of course the pool bar staff. They served perfect Gin and Tonics. Wine was not to be sniffed at either - at 4 euros a half a litre. The beach is great, but you do need to take the free hotel shuttle bus - it is too steep to walk. The prices for the sunbeds at the hotel stretch were also steep at 19 euros for two sunbeds and a parasol. But wine at the bar there was 1 euro a glass. Eating out is also recommended. A large pizza, tuna salad, litre of wine, bread, olives, on a balcony watching the sun set on Stromboli - priceless - well 35 euros. There are only a handful of bars and a few restaurants at Capo Vaticano - I would recommend the Honolulu bar. There's plenty to see and do if you want to. Tropea is delightful, Prezzo for the best ice-cream eating experience you will ever have. We don't usually go back to a place but we think the Costa Azzurra will be the exception It ticked all our boxes. It was our first trip to Southern Italy - and it couldn't have been better. Last word - take the choo choo into Tropea -its an experience that you will never forget.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank toptripper186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews