We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect base to do Sardinia on a shoestring”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
La Caletta, Siniscola, Province of Nuoro, Sardinia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Victoria...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect base to do Sardinia on a shoestring”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Sardinia is renowned for being a playground for the rich and famous. But if you stay at this charming apartment in La Caletta, you can experience the lifestyle, without the price tag.

I flew with two friends on EasyJet from London Gatwick to Olbia – comfortably under £100 each. Then we hired a car, just £300 for the week, so £100 each if there's three of you (top tip: don’t forget your licence and if you're the one driving, you need to pay using your credit card).

After just a 20-minute drive from the airport, we arrived at the apartment.

First impression: really pretty, with a beautiful garden and mature fig trees. There’s also a gated driveway for your hire car (although speaking to the friendly locals, it’s the sort of place where everyone leaves their homes unlocked as it’s so safe – not that I’m recommending that as a Londoner!)

Second and third impression: this is what peace tastes like.

Tranquility is sitting outside on the balcony in a blissful 27 degrees (it seems like there's always a lovely cool breeze here), eating amazing local cheese, ham, fruit, vegetables and bread bought from the supermarket, just a five-minute walk away. (The local blue cheese and the local yellow tomatoes, and the red and black ones, are to die for!)

I also highly recommend the local Sardinian wine, local Prosecco and the local beer called Ichnusa. The perfect accompaniment to sunshine.

The apartment is less than two minutes’ walk to the idyllic white sand beach (I timed it!). It's also within a five minute walk to a post office, bar and cafés - forget coffee chains in the UK, cappuccinos and espressos here are something else. Try La Torre restaurant, just seven minutes’ walk away. The pizza is amazing and the sea bass divine.

You can also buy food from the supermarket and cook in the flat, if you can be bothered. The stove is gas and boils water super quickly – something to do with the altitude apparently.

I loved the fact that, despite the heat, the apartment stays deliciously cool. With the shutters closed in the bedroom, it’s also blissfully dark even at the brightest point of the day, so I had some of my best nights’ sleep ever.

We went in June and, for just £105 each for a week’s stay, it’s great value for a great retreat from it all. If you’re up for relaxation, you may find it enough to stay at the apartment and walk around the resort town.

As I mentioned, though, this is a perfect base to discover billionaire’s Sardinia.

Just a thirty minutes’ drive away is celebrity hangout, Costa Smeralda – the Emerald Coast. Think yachts, private jets, golf clubs, upscale hotels, shopping and beautiful people living la dolce vita.

We headed there, hit the exclusive shopping malls (and, er, no didn't buy any Prada or Gucci), then headed to the white sand beach and sat in a café drinking Prosecco – suddenly more like £10 a glass (compared to £3 where the apartment is) drinking up the high life. There’s also an art gallery, which was showing Andy Warhol during our stay, and lots of nightlife.

As well as the Emerald Coast, you’re also close to Orosei. We hired a dingy, discovered our own secluded beach, snorkeled and saw a stingray and some pretty fishes. Stunning!

You can also go diving nearby as one of our friends did and explore a ship wrecked in World War Two. She said the visibility of the water is unbelievable.

Go to Sardinia and you’ll immediately understand why the rich and famous want to hang out there. Staying at this charming apartment, you can experience the dream without the nightmare price tag.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: My first time in Sardinia; so incredibly beautiful
Liked least: Leaving to go back to London
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,access to the beach, fresh food and having choice between cooking and going out.
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
aa
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautifull beach is around the corner.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CS2014
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed in one of the apartments on second week end of June. The flat was clean and tidy very near to the town centre and the beach.
La Caletta does not have a very vibrant night life but we enjoy the nice weather and the La Torre restaurant not far from the house.
Very good value for money.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
357Enrico...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed the second week end of June in welcoming and comfortable flat with balcony facing a cute garden. Despite there is no AC we did not suffer the hot as the house is quite cool and ventilated. The apartment is within easy walking distance of the local beach and the Restaurants and shops.
La Caletta is small and quite ideal for families . I would not go there without a car as the public transport is not very reliable.
We will definitely come back for a longer stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: close to the beach and restaurants
Liked least: public transport
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Authentic experience
Liked least: Airpoit Car hire was a bit of hassle - read the contract and make sure the driver has a credit card in their name to pay (for some reason?). But this was only the one company we used
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gemhello
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Gracias a tigo.eres mui amable!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing