We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem on Lake Garda”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro - Charme & Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden gem on Lake Garda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

A small family run hotel right on the lake side. Quiet location but very short lovely walk into nearest town. Good sized rooms with views of the lake. fantastic service from a small staff who turned their hand to most tasks. super breakfasts and surprisingly good dinner menu. Pool was a touch on the cold side for me but the lake was great to swim in. A perfect base for exploring the area which had loads to see. One of their suppliers has a restaurant on their farm up in the mountains and it is well worth the 25 minute taxi rid for their delicious beef dishes. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SONOFSTRATHAVEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    52
    10
    2
    7
See reviews for
33
170
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We arrived here pretty late in the evening, better to arrive before dark just because it has a beautiful setting on Lake Garda.
The staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel is fabulous. We were too late for dinner but had a night cap served by a very professional waiter.
The rooms are a generous size and tastefully decorated, bathroom also. No noise, so aided a much needed restful sleep.
Breakfast is very good, some hotels slip up with breakfast but not here.
We were on a schedule so we had to leave early, but would love to come back here and stay a few days to enjoy the surroundings of Lake Garda.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley Kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed for a week in July. The hotel is small which we like, and Ok if you like getting up from breakfast and lounging by the pool all day as some guests seemed to do. Must have been expensive to stay there all day as drinks and nibbles are not cheap and the lunch is the same menu every day! The evening menu was also the same every day so that was rather disappointing.

The receptionist did not mention that we had to book for dinner (the hotel only include B&B in their charge) and when we arrived at the restaurant, which is outside on the decking with a lovely view of the lake, the manager adopted a very superior manner said we should have booked and made a bit of a deal over consulting his seating plan. There were plenty of tables available so all a bit unnecessary. We were not made welcome at all but he made a lot of fuss over the German guests who obviously were very 'well heeled'.

The hotel is very clean and we had a pleasant room and the air conditioning was very quiet which was a bonus. There were no tea/coffee making facilities as they prefer you to pay for these. The TV was a very old portable and No English stations. I don't want to watch TV all the time on holiday but it's nice to catch up with the news now and then and for the price we paid I would have expected the hotel to have satellite and flat screen TVs. The balcony had iron chairs which make a terrible noise if you (or anyone else on another balcony) moved them and they were very uncomfortable. After a day out we like to relax on a balcony with a book and a glass of wine but the chairs made this totally impossible. The massage advertised was not available. We only spent one late afternoon at the pool side (we are not the lounge lizards!) and it was not until I read another review that I realised that there were sunbed covers available, no mention of this anywhere - no wonder the sunbeds were uncomfortable!

The breakfast was very good and the waitresses were very friendly and helpful. We walked the 10 minutes or so to Gardone for evening meals at the various restaurants there, The Taverna Restaurant in the little back street behind the main 'drag' is excellent. As good, if not better than the hotel and slightly cheaper.

There were children staying although the hotel says No Children but they were fine and no trouble at all. It seemed the parents knew the hotel staff and had been before which probably accounted for this. I did not like that fact that dogs were allowed as even if meals were taken outside I was not too happy to have dogs at a nearby table at breakfast.

We love Lake Garda and went our every day on the ferry from Gardone to visit the different towns along the lake. The hotel is walking distance to the Botanic Gardens and the house and garden of Gabriele d' Annunzio - well worth a visit.

So there are the upsides and downsides of a lovely little hotel but as we went out every day we probably paid too much for the time we spent there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Visited :22nd September 2013 - 27th Septembe 2013
Just recently had 5 days very relaxing break at this hote nearly . Need to book transfers as the taxi's are very expensive. Nearly 200 euros, about an hour to this area. We booked a private transfer ( a lot better than waiting for a coach)
Very beautiful location and the hotel very nice and relaxing. Not over run by tourists, but a lot of German visitors. Not well known to the English Tourists.Came across it by accident.On the lake and well placed for the boats across the lake.
We went for an Early annversary but! ( We did not get much of a greeting when we arrived).It wwas mentioned on our booking. Not much interest from the reception staff(or owners) etc
They did quickly rush a bottle of Asti into our room, not given the normal details like reception number etc and normal booking in information etc.
No information in bedrooms either, but loads of leaflets in foyer, (in Italian)
Rooms very clean and tidy but no tea or coffee in rooms ( a downside) as you have to order all the time. (can be a bit pricey).
The other issue tends to be the restaurant menu. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, The menu is a set menu every day and a bit too rich in taste and price for us. We could have done with a snack bar at the hotel for small things like toastie's or burgers etc,. although the hotel does advertise a snack bar with a terrace, it is not a snack bar as we know it. We had to venture out to eat lunch or dinner every day, not too far.
About a ten minute walk to the nearest town with a few restaurants a a few shops in Gardonine.We were told that we wee coming to the end of the season and that the hotel were closing down on Monday 30th September.
( We found the Hotel Du Lac) outside restaurant very nice and friendly service. Did find the pizzeria very nice pizza's but did not like the sevice there, seat you , then ignore you.
Swimming pool very nice area , plenty of sun beds, but you have to get your own sunbed cover, not told about these, we found them our selves. Pool very cold, 19 degrees but ok once in, good for swimming in the lake after.
Overall, lovely, relaxing, good weather when we stayed, but they were expecting rain the week-end. Not bad, lovely generally, but food facilites a bit of a let down. ok if loads of money and like your food rich in choice.

Room Tip: most of rooms lake view with a small balcony, we did see a room with a couch and a bath, but that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassyM_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our week-long stay at the Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro and would happily return for a future visit. A great Hotel with a lovely pool and direct access to the Lake which ticked all our 'wish-list' boxes.

Our party totalled eight '50-somethings' (four couples) and we were there to celebrate one couple's 30th wedding anniversary. We did somewhat take the Hotel by storm but the staff coped with us superbly and catered for just about every need and/or request no matter how 'off plan' (cheese and biscuits after lunch…).

Our rooms (109, 108, 103 and 306) were more than adequate, 103 having duel aspect with views over the lake and marina while the other rooms faced the pool with a side view of the lake. Sleep quality was varied but I suspect that was due to the differing levels of food and drink consumption. All rooms were kept scrupulously clean and bath towels were changed daily. We were asked to keep our blue pool towels for the duration of our stay, but I suspect these would have been changed upon request without fuss.

The Hotel is dog friendly and several guests had their dogs with them by the pool. There were also a number of guests with babies/small children, worth noting if you believe the Hotel to be 'adult only'. No complaints for the quality of food at breakfast, lunch and dinner, although the menu was not extensive and could prove tiresome if staying for any length of time. Not a problem for us as we ate out often.

Lots to do around and about – a short walk to Gardone, walk/taxi to Salo and numerous boat trips to everywhere else more than satisfied our needs for external stimulus (and places to eat).

All-in-all, a great place to stay for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Rooms 108 and 109 are on the first floor above reception and benefited from the free WiFi. Room 103...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s2wart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retired of Sussex
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 12 nights. we were disappointed with the view from our room but the receptionist said we could change to a room with a better view after 2 days..that was fine with us. All the staff are excellent as is the food. we hope to return next year

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diest, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We visited this hotel for the 2nd time. Great service, nice accommodation, front lake with a pear, clean pool, nice restaurant and close to Salo, Deszenzano and Limone. One of the places to be at the Lake garda!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10speed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barbarano di Salo
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Laurin
Hotel Laurin
#7 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bellerive
Hotel Bellerive
#3 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.3 mi away
Locanda del Benaco
Locanda del Benaco
#6 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#6 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro - Charme & Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro - Charme & Boutique

Property: Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro - Charme & Boutique
Address: Via Spiaggia d'Oro 15, 25087 Barbarano di Salo, Salo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Salo > Barbarano di Salo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barbarano di Salo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro - Charme & Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spiaggia d’Oro is between Gardone Riviera and Salo, right besides Barbarano’s picturesque little port, where the view wonderfully embraces Saint Vigil’s point, the Isle of Garda and Salo’s Gulf. Peaceful, relaxing and charming resort for those who want to enjoy the historical part of Lake Garda and discover its enchanting surrounding area. Small and romantic, it is a destination for gourmands and for everyone wants relax and comfort in a high-class ambient. Staff will offer you a rest break for body and mind. The Hotel includes a nice garden, an ample solarium deck, a nice swimming pool and a Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro - Charme & Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiaggia d Oro Hotel
Spiaggia d Oro Resort
Hotel Spiaggia Oro
Hotel Spiaggia D'Oro - Charme & Boutique Lake Garda, Italy - Salo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing