We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at it's best”
Review of Canyon Rio Sass

Canyon Rio Sass
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Fondo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nature at it's best”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

If you go to Fondo you must walk through the Canyon, it's breathtaking. We went when it was knee high in snow and it was spectacular.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank thelostboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    246
    41
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Melting snow and ice from the lake made the cascades wonderful to watch and the walk along the canyon was unlike anything in the UK

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulandvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet walk”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We went here on our last day as we had time to kill, a lovely quiet walk through the canyon with a stream running down one side and woods on the other. It is not a long walk and very pleasant but you must be able bodied as their are some stairs by the waterfall and it takes you to Lago Smeraldo ( Emerald Lake) which was actually frozen when we went.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“A wonderful winter wonderland”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

There are almost no words I can use to review the canyon rio sass as it is one of the most staggering sights I have ever seen!

We were so fortunate to walk the canyon several times during our stay in Fondo and we never tired of its beauty. From the moment you see the snow covered water wheel with the part frozen stream disappearing into the canyon, you know you will be seeing something special.
You follow the stream through a pure winter wonderland over picture postcard bridges to the hidden waterfalls and up to the lake - the lake was frozen when we got there and the locals were diving under the ice

FANTASTIC !

Helpful?
1 Thank BlackpoolStevieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fabulous walk to Lake Smeraldo through Canyon”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is a must! Starts at Fondo village towards Lake Smeraldo, after a few minutes walk by the stream and trees you reach an area of suspended walkways inside the gorges and canyon until reaching beautifully Lake Smeraldo. There are other routes in the opposite direction too but I only did the bit towards Lake Smeraldo. Go to the Tourist Information Centre in Fondo and ask for a Canyons leaflet as there's plenty in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank NatyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canyon Rio Sass also viewed

 

Been to Canyon Rio Sass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing