We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Day Tuscany Cycling Trip”

Gusto Cycling Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our Montecatini Terme Cycle Tour takes in the marshland area south of Montecatini Terme, a visit to the medieval village of Montecarlo and enjoy a well earned stop i for lunch at one of the area’s finest wine estates. Lunch is optional. Gusto Cycling Offer a wide range of Tuscany cycling options to suit all tastes. Tuscany has it all, History, Art, Culture, amazing gastronomy and great wine! plus the added bonus of enjoyable cycling through its varied countryside and medieval places which have hardly changed for over 600 years!! Its no surprise that Tuscany is so popular and draws people from walkers and cyclists. Its undulating countryside, hilltop medieval towns with rewarding and far reaching views is a satisfying end to great days cycling as your own leisurely pace.
Reviewed 16 September 2017

My wife and I arranged a non-guided cycling trip from the USA with Marco via the Internet based on his reviews and knowledge of the area. We specified some basic criteria i.e. miles per day, type of bikes, general area and level of accommodation (pools a must).

We started the trip by flying to Rome and catching trains to Arbia where the taxi Marco had arranged met us and took us to our first hotel. We collected our bikes (brand new carbon racing road bikes (as we specified). Marco provided backup telephone numbers for his staff should we have any mechanical problems while we were on our rides.

We could not be more pleased with what we experienced. It truly was a trip of a life-time. Marco's communication via email was flawless, his ability to alter the plan to match our changing needs and his suggestions were spot on.

Our accommodation (5 hotels between 3 and 4 star) were superb, the staff were excellent, the food superb and hospitality was beyond. Between Arbia, San Quirico, Montepulciano, Pienza and Rhadda we saw the most beautiful countryside, stunning villages and cycled along roads lined with vineyards and olive groves, which were purely idyllic. Cycling in Italy can be anything from Strada Bianchi tracks (tough) to single lane country lanes and Marco can tailor the routes to suit your ability. We had the best lunches and most amazing Cappuccinos I have ever had (and we have traveled a lot).

Marco also enabled us to download turn by turn routes via our iphones through "RidewithGPS" before our trip started, which meant we never got lost and each mile/ meter we knew exactly where we were, the gradient, the speed, distance to destination etc.

We finished our trip with a day in Siena (stunning) and 2 days in Florence which Marco recommended hotels for.

i would book with Marco in a heart beat the next time we travel to Tuscany - and we will!!!

Grazie mille Marco - 10 out of 10!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GustoCycling, Owner at Gusto Cycling Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you so much Rod for taking the time to write and highlight your recent cycling holiday experience in Tuscany. I take great pride in providing a very high level of service and your feedback makes all the hard work and detail in preparing your cycle tour althe more worthwhile. Thank you again Rod for your kind words and look forward to be of service the next time you visit Tuscany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"top class"
in 3 reviews
"four days"
in 2 reviews
"pisa airport"
in 2 reviews
"without hesitation"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful countryside"
in 2 reviews
"san gimignano"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 2 reviews
"montecatini terme"
in 2 reviews
"his team"
in 3 reviews
"northern tuscany"
in 2 reviews
"worked great"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic trip"
in 2 reviews
"bike"
in 6 reviews
"massimo"
in 4 reviews
"gps"
in 4 reviews
"cyclists"
in 4 reviews
"race"
in 4 reviews
Filter

28 - 32 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017

I hired a road bike for a week while staying in Viareggio. The bike was excellent and the service superb. The bike was delivered to my hotel along with spare tubes and CO2. I managed almost 300 miles of acclimatisation riding in the heat thanks tom these guys. Nothing too much trouble including a last minute change of delivery address. Will definitely use them again. Thanks guys.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GustoCycling, Owner at Gusto Cycling Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you Craig for your kind feedback...we look forward to be of service next time your in Tuscany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Our family of 5 (3 kids ages 13, 15 and 17) had a fabulous day with Massimo during our stay in Monsummano Terme. He met us with 5 bikes at our Airbnb home we rented and spent a full day touring the northern Tuscany region. We had a fabulous lunch at a winery! We would highly recommend Gusto Cycling!!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GustoCycling, Owner at Gusto Cycling Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Delighted to hear what a marvellous time you all had in Tuscany with Gusto Cycling, our small but dedicated team strive always to provide exceptional service.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Marco planned an ideal 5 day trip for our two families. He chose excellent lodging, picked scenic cycling routes, and managed our logistics all for an extremely reasonable price. His recommendation for e-bikes made a huge difference in our group of 6 and allowed our 4 intermediate cyclists to keep pace with our 2 strong cyclists on the ubiquitous Tuscan hills. The routes were easy to follow on Ride with GPS. He was a gracious tour organizer who checked in regularly. We absolutely recommend Gusto Cycling!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Shana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GustoCycling, Owner at Gusto Cycling Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you so much Shana for your lovely feedback, it means a lot to me that all the hard work and detail in planning your trip matched all your expectations and more!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Marco and his team designed and set up a fantastic tour for our two families. We would do this again anytime. Upgrading some of our team to ebikes saved the day and kept all of our attitudes up! Bravo!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank MikeL4796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gusto Cycling Day Tours also viewed

Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
 
Montecatini Alto, Montecatini Terme
Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
 

Been to Gusto Cycling Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing