We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond Amazing Hospitality”
Review of La Torricella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Torricella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in April and were beyond happy with our visit. Although it was Easter Sunday, Torricella still had their restaurant open, and accommodated us with a private wine tour when we arrived. This was our first time meeting Oscar, and we were beyond impressed with his hospitality, devotion to his family and wine. We did not realize how amazing Oscar truly was until later in our trip. Oscar was beyond gracious with our wine tasting and helped us learn about their agriturismo and local area. We were in love with the property - rolling hills with amazing views everywhere - and centrally located to make day trips to all the small towns close by -- and their wine!! It was delicious - especially their Barolo!

We were very sad that we only devoted 2 nights and days to our trip and wish we could have extended it further. It was not until we arrived at MXP airport (approx. 2 hours away) did we realize how gracious, kind, compassionate, and truly wonderful Oscar is. We had a great deal of difficulty with Alitalia and checking in our box of wine onto the plane. Having travelled abroad to different countries before, we are accustomed to the procedures and have not had difficult checking in properly packaged wine. Long story short, Alitalia refused to let our box onto their plane. Not knowing what to do, we called Oscar. He arranged for our box to be held in storage, came to pick up (drove 2 hours each way!), and then shipped it home to us. We could not be more grateful, for such a kind and considerate person to have done this for us. This truly would not be done in other places. La Torricella is a family run business, who treat their guests like family. We will be sure to be back. We couldn't be more thankful and have had a more memorable experience while we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reilly707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Nebbiolo is Barolo and Barbaresco

Wine judges and sommeliers are often asked about the Italian grape variety known as Nebbiolo. For the novice this is a red grape variety grown in the Piedmonte region of North West Italy. It is the variety used to make the highly regarded Barolo and Barbaresco wines, named after the villages of their origin. Nebbiolo thrives in these two villages producing majestic Italian DOCG wines coming from two appellations barely 20 kms apart. Barolos and Barbaresco must have 100% Nebbiolo to get the DOCG appellation.

Whilst visiting both Barolo and Barbaresco and tasting some of the best Nebbiolos in the world I came across Guest House and winery of La Torricella in the beautiful and quaint village of Monforte d’Alba. This Piedmonte accommodation house is probably the most beautiful Villa in all of Piedmonte with a view to take your breath away. Situated in Montforte D’Alba the villa is Agriturismo La Torricella (www.latorricella.eu) and almost overlooks the whole of Piedmonte wine regions. The food, hospitality, wines and sites are beyond comparison - a definite addition to anoyone's bucket list!.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was the 2nd time we stayed in this agriturismo, where they grow their own wines. To start with the latter: these are wonderful, f.e. their Barolo is superb! But also the food is excellent. Mother and daughter run the kitchen, while son and son-in-law run the restaurant with their efficient staff in a most friendly and hospitally way. This is a place to relax and enjoy. Also the locals frequent this restaurant, f.e. for their Sunday aftrernoon family lunches. What further recommendations do you need?!
Rooms and bathrooms (shower) are fine, with lovely views. In summer there is a pool. We found out that autumn is also a great season to visit Piemonte area. Friendly prices. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catharina50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A great little hotel, part of the Agritourism network. Each room individually decorated and full of character with wonderful views across the hills all covered with vines or hazlenuts. I have a new fondness for Nutella. Being on a vineyard you dont have far to go to find a great wine to go with dinner (also excellent) and you can also take a few home with you; three boxes in our case, well its difficult to choose! Then relax and swim by the pool and being a small hotel the pool is your own, mostly.
This is definitely one due a revisit

Room Tip: Just go and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertilon082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

If you are seeking excellent accommodation, fresh home cooked food, friendly relaxed owners, a glorious pool and garden to relax in, all in a most beautiful setting La Torricella is for you! You will then discover that you are also staying in a really interesting winery producing wines that showcase Piemonte at its best. We could not fault anything during our stay in August 2013. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

It was very difficult to get the attention of the personnel both to do the check-in and to ask basic informations (like the time at which the breakfast was offered or where to leave the key of the room). The owner was busy and the personnel we had the possibility of speaking with did not have any idea.

It was not possible to have dinner (so it meant we have to drive to have dinner, therefore I could not enjoy properly the good wine produced in the area).

In the evening there was noise until late.

The view is great.

Honestly I think we would have deserved a far, far better service, given the price we were paying. The area is full of lovely places, do not bother to stay in this one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonbiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgriLaTorricella, Proprietario at La Torricella, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you for your review, every opinion is for us an opportunity to improve. We apologize for not having ensured the quality of hospitality that we offer our guests with passion.
We would have liked to know his opinion before his departure. We could extend an apology better than what we can do now, only with the words :((

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Marvellous wine-tasting retreat! My husband and I spent a week here before Easter this year and we utterly enjoyed it. Accommodation is superb (the rooms are better than the pictures on the web-site), the maid is thorough and quick, the owners are delightful and always eager to please. They make oil, pasta, bread, focaccia and the fruit and veg are from their land and their wine is just divine!!

Room Tip: The room called Fiordaliso has a four posters bed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monforte d'Alba
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Beccaris
Hotel Villa Beccaris
#1 of 3 in Monforte d'Alba
274 reviews
1.3 mi away
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
#1 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
447 reviews
3.7 mi away
Antico Podere Tota Virginia
Antico Podere Tota Virginia
#2 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Arco dei Nobili
Arco dei Nobili
#3 of 3 in Monforte d'Alba
149 reviews
1.7 mi away
Da Felicin
Da Felicin
#2 of 3 in Monforte d'Alba
172 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ca' del Lupo
Hotel Ca' del Lupo
#1 of 1 in Montelupo Albese
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Torricella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torricella

Address: Localita Sant'Anna, 98, 12065 Monforte d'Alba, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Monforte d'Alba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Monforte d'Alba
Price Range: £101 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Torricella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing