We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The suites in the Abbey are a must.”
Review of Da Felicin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Da Felicin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Monforte d'Alba
Certificate of Excellence
Cantiano, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The suites in the Abbey are a must.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our terrace immensely, drinking wines and looking at the snow-capped Alps. Just a five-minute walk into the center of Monforte d'Alba, it is worth the extra money to stay at the Abbey. The rooms were very spacious and modern but it is worthwhile to ask to see what the Abbey looked like before all the renovations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    38
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
19
68
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights in a beautiful 2 rm suite, very nicely furnished. The doors opened to a porch along both rooms with a fall of hundreds of feet above the town & countryside. The view extends across the wine valleys to the snowy Maritime Alps - in May. Meals were wonderful, hosts charming. A great find

Room Tip: The main building has charm, but the fabulous views are in the Abbey
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Wells, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Albergo Ristorante Giardino Da Felicin.... It may take some effort to find this never changing restaurant, but the effort will be rewarded. And if your smart, you will book a room ,so, you can relax after the 4 hour dinner! We ate at Felcin 37 years ago 5 hour lunch! Then had to go back. Nothing has changed but the olive tree in the court yard and the next generation carrying the same torch of excellence. And the ambience inside and out is spectacular .
You won't be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Recently returned from a wonderful fall trip to Italy. The highlight was undoubtedly our stay at Giardino di Felicin in Monforte d'Alba. Out third stay there and it gets better and better. Like our first time, this trip occurred during truffle season. This takes a great experience up to another level.
The food and wine make each meal a delight. Nino and his family and staff did everything necessary to make our stay a fabulous one. We had our bikes with us and cycled around the beautiful countryside during the days. It was harvest time and the grapes seemed about ready to burst. Nino even suggested some biking routes for us. Before dinner we would select a wine from the 25000 bottle cellar that is comprised of local Piemontese wines. Later, when we would arrive at our table the wine would be decanted and waiting for us. Once we told Nino of the few types of food that we do not eat, we just let him and the chefs cook for us. They brought out one tasty, beautifully presented dish after another. After the delicious repast we could just walk upstairs to our clean comfortable rooms. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sschrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We love this part of Italy! This was our third trip, and second meal at Felicin. It is truffle season, and I had the full menu, my wife added them as needed to her plate. It was a busy evening at the restaurant, and the staff was working full steam. They were not too busy to offer great advice on the wine list, which is rich in local legends. The food is extraordinary, fresh and light. We were comfortably full after our meal.

We asked Nino where to buy truffles, and he said his supplier was coming in one hour. We brought home a pungent souvenir of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rls1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is our fifth trip to the Monforte d'alba/Piemonte area. This is the first time we've stayed at the Felicin residences and they are a bargain for the money. Clean apartment,large bathrooms.and a superb view of the region from your balcony. They dont have any rules about enjoying yourself in your room with a snack or a bottle of wine. We had stayed at a Castello in Sinio one year where you couldnt eat or drink in your room. Or leave a light on.
We made reservations at 5 different restaurants in the Monforte area for each of the nights we were going to be there. I can now absolutely tell you that Felicin had the best dinner period. I have had some of the best meals of my life at Felicin over the years and this visit was no different. Nino is one of the greatest chefs of all time and a wonderful host with his wife Sylvia. Kudos to Andrea who does everything including carry your bags and working as host in the restaurant. We are quite at home at Felicin.

Room Tip: Get an apartment in the Residences with a balcony .On the couple of clear days we could see the snow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb25wm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

An unexpected find in a small Piedmont town, the host gave us a warm welcome despite our lack of a reservation for 10 people. The food was fresh, flavorful, and innovative. Excellent wine parings with great value for our dinner. Trust the chef and let him surprise and entertain you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pharmergirl614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monforte d'Alba
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Beccaris
Hotel Villa Beccaris
#1 of 3 in Monforte d'Alba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arco dei Nobili
Arco dei Nobili
#3 of 3 in Monforte d'Alba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.8 mi away
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
#1 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Le Torri - Hotel
Le Torri - Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castiglione Falletto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.4 mi away
Antico Borgo Monchiero
Antico Borgo Monchiero
#1 of 1 in Monchiero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
3.4 mi away
Antico Podere Tota Virginia
Antico Podere Tota Virginia
#2 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Felicin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Felicin

Property: Da Felicin
Address: Via Vallada 18, 12065 Monforte d'Alba, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Monforte d'Alba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Monforte d'Alba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Da Felicin 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Da Felicin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing