We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel, excellent food and wine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berghotel Zirmerhof
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redagno
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, excellent food and wine”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel in the Sud-Tirol. Our room was spacious and well furnished though I found the fact that every surface was covered with promotional literature a little irritating.However it was easy enough to gather it all up into a pile so that we had somewhere to put our stuff. We had a spacious balcony overlooking the terrace with lovely views of the mountains and a large bathroom with walk-in shower. We were staying on half-board terms. The selection at breakfast was amazing with lots of homemade produce such as yoghurt. Dinner was 3 courses preceded by a salad bar which was really a meal in itself. There is no choice for the 3 courses but we did not find that a problem as we do not have any food dislikes or allergies. The quality of the food and its presentation was outstanding. We also sampled the wine from the estate which, although not cheap, is excellent. We hope to buy some more on-line as we could only manage to carry 2 bottles home. While we were there we were invited along with the other guests to a sampling in the wine cellar. This included tasting some of the wines and enjoying some very tasty snacks. This was free and on top of the salad bar and 3 course dinner. We had assumed that it took the place of the salad bar. The only slightly negative aspect of our stay was service but this may have been because of language difficulties. We speak reasonable Italian but the staff will only speak German which I don't speak at all though my husband made a decent fist of recalling his schoolboy German. The hotelier however speaks excellent English though he is not always around. Like a previous reviewer we got caught out by the eau de vie at the end of the meal. Unfortunately the one we chose the first night was 11 euros a glass (little more than a thimbleful) and the one on the second night was 8 euros. So be warned and ask the price before making your choice. Although the other hotels we stayed in during this holiday had eau de vie on display nowhere else were they brought round to the table as a matter of course. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay here, would recommend it and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Over6044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    19
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
70
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed for the first two nights of a fortnight's walking trip in that part of the Dolomites. We stayed in the main hotel. A beautiful building with lots of wood. Fantastic views. Very friendly staff and manager - although the walking information was not helpful. We received conflicting information about whether the Bletterback canyon walks were open, and were told the walk to the top of the Weisshorn was sufficiently clear of snow (it wasn't!). The picnics were also not very good - buy food elsewhere. Strange, giving how superb the evening meal was - really excellent 'sophisticated simplicity' as they put it. Pool lovely, and whole wellness thing looked good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We visited last year and promised ourselves to visit again this year. A lot of tastefuly done improvements for this season, new elevator, renovated bar and games area, new roof.

We like the simple and rustic furnishing of the rooms, it fits perfectly to the ambiance of the area

We are pretty picky and critical about our food, but we have never had a bad meal here, and have always been content. We are getting too old for Haute Cusine Gastrobinging, Zirmerhofs cuisine is just right for everyday eating.

We find the Owners informal and engaging, we will definitely go again, its our favorite hotel

Room Tip: You need to choose if you want a room with morning sun or afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroDriverMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Place is gorgeous, with lovely views of the mountains. Room plain and poorly equipped. Food sounded good on the menu but very poorly executed - worst food I've had in Italy except the salad, but you don't want to eat salad all the time! They come round with grappas to everyone after the meal, and give you a glass, but don't tell you it's not free - which you assume it is since you haven't asked for it - you only find this out with the bill. The owner is a Jekyll and Hyde character; he was overtly charming, smiling and friendly to people other people, then in turning to us change to unfriendly and unsmiling. I saw him do this with others too, so I guess this is a habit of his. His English partner, and some of the waiting staff also did this sort of thing, so I guess his bad manners give permission for this sort of behaviour. Not all the waiting staff were like this - some were very nice indeed, but we were made to feel really uncomfortable during our stay. I think they can't take any level of criticism at all without turning against you. The swimming pool was very small and nearly always full of children jumping in and making it unusable most of the time. It was also very cold for what was supposed to be a heated pool. If the hotel were in different hands, and the food even adequate I would go back like a shot as the place is spectacular, but as it is we didn't enjoy our stay there at all and were relieved to move on to our next hotel - which was lovely too and very professionally run, with gorgeous food, so at least the holiday ended on a better note than how it started.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gipsycream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Arrived the day they opened for the season, and had the place almost to ourselves for a couple of nights. The hotel is gorgeous, and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The owner is always present and checking to make sure guests are enjoying their stay.

The restaurant is frist class, with and outstanding chef preparing modern takes on classic Tirolean cuisine; seasonal ingredients, thoughtful and light preparations, locall sourced and produced cheeses, meats, and breads. Incredible wine list.

I stayed in a single room, with rustic style in the newer part of the hotel, it had a great atmosphere, and my parents stayed in a suite in the old building, with a baclony and gorgeous furnishings.

Although I suspect the place will be a bit different when full for either ski or summer seasons, I would hope to have a chance to go back anytime and can recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We have stayed here on and off for 12 years and the attraction never fades. This is a unique hotel that provides the best relaxation that I know. If you want shopping, a big TV in your room and bland food, stop here. If you want great scenery, locally produced food, tradition mixed with modern style and a great spa, then this is for you. The hotel is at the end of the road at 1560m with a view over the mountains and fields full of their own Highland cattle. People - some pretty famous - have been coming here since 1890. In recent years, there has been some very tasteful modernisation to complement the period furnishings and decor. Dinner is part of the experience and is served in a fine hall with 1930 frescos by a local painter. Many of the dishes are traditional Tirolean from recipes by the owner's grandmother. Breakfast is another feast with good local produce such as jams and fruit purees. I don't understand the previous reviews about food: we have always enjoyed it here and on the last visit sampled local beef, deer and lamb as well as a marvellous selection of local cheeses.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I think this is a great place. I’ve been there twice (July 2007 and 2008) and I always found it amazing. The view is fantastic and having breakfast over the Dolomiti view make the breath hold. In summer it is very comfortable to start walking and having trip around. The wellness area is nice. The location of the outdoor swimming pool is gorgeous. From 2007 to 2008 I notice a worsening in the quality of the food. Nevertheless I eaten very well in both occasions and I have to say the quality of the dinner is always been highly sufficient. I still believe that this is the best place to stay if you want some relax during the summer.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonachusBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redagno
17.0 mi away
Seiser Alm Urthaler
Seiser Alm Urthaler
#8 of 25 in Alpe di Siusi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
22.6 mi away
Miramonti Boutique Hotel
8.9 mi away
Gasthof Kohlern
Gasthof Kohlern
#14 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Berghotel Jochgrimm
Berghotel Jochgrimm
#1 of 2 in Aldino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
29.7 mi away
Miraval NaturHotel & Residence
4.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Alpino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Zirmerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Zirmerhof

Property: Berghotel Zirmerhof
Address: Oberradein 59, 39040 Redagno, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Redagno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redagno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Berghotel Zirmerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magic Mountain - Historic country manor and estate, located right on the high Radein plateau, first opened its doors to guests and travellers in 1890. Famous people, artists and Nobel prize-winners found tranquility and relaxation here. Through careful and sympathetic renovation the hotel has retained its essential flair from these early years. Fresh, local South Tyrolean cuisine, cosy antique wooden-panelled stube, crackling log fires, panoramic views from the restaurant, outdoor pool and sunny terraces ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Berghotel Zirmerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghotel Zirmerhof Redagno
Berghotel Zirmerhof Italy/Redagno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing