We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent... if you get what is on the website”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Uappala Hotel Lacona
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lacona
Reviewed 9 August 2011

If you read this you are probably considering staying at this hotel;
I recommend it and advise you to insist to get a room that is pictured on the website.

Before sharing all what was good I will start with the downside of the hotel.
I usually take ample time to chose my holiday resort. In particular I cross-check info, pictures, travellers' and friends' feedbacks.
Having found Hotel Lacona first on the web I sticked to my set of rules, including calling the hotel and asking if I could have a picture of my room prior to booking. The answer was clear: all our room types are on the web.

What you must know is that not all rooms have been refurbished yet (summer 2011) to the new standards as displayed from the pictures on the website.

I had booked a "classic family room" and when we checked in (room 102) all my dreams evaporated. Furniture was old (pine wood panes), the room was dark, on the ground floor and the view was on the hedge not really on the park.
Furthermore you could not open wide the door to the parents' room as the bed would prevent it. Contortions would then be required to access your wardrobe.
The children's room was clumsy with one bed directly under the window.
I could not imagine spending 2 weeks in that room and asked to talk to the manager.

Fortunately we could opt for a "Comfort Family" room that was to be available some 3 days later. The manager remained friendly during the whole process and commercially positive as he took off part of the extra price and found us a junior suite for the 3 days interval.
I was really disappointed that the website is not a true mirror of what you may/will get and firmly claim that prices should not be the same for these old rooms than for the new ones.
I sincerely hope that they will either adjust the rooms or the prices.
If we had not managed to find a suitable solution I would have left the hotel.

Having this settled, the rest was just perfect.

1) Food: excellent with astounding choices and variety. The buffet is irresistible. Antipasti, meat, fish, pasta, salads, fruits and deserts all in impressive execution and freshness.
2) Service: always friendly and smiling, even at the busiest moments of the day.
Kids always receive a sign of attention or a treat.
3) Swimming pool : perfectly clean and ample space between chairs.
4) Parc and surroundings : very comfortable, under refreshing pine trees you can sit, have coffee, use your laptop in the park with wifi access. Flowers and hedges do give a nice touch.
5) children playground : kids loved it
6) Mini Club. They really take care of the kids in a nice way. During the day children find a variety of activities and children really influence what these activities will be; no fixed program. At night they really entertain children and keep them dancing and laughing. Our children managed to learn some words and songs in italian.
7) Access to the beach : really close and easy. There you are welcome to use the public or private part. The private part is a guarantee of cleanliness and comfort with a lifeguard watching.
8) Entertainment: there is often live music around the pool at night. Enjoyable however does not allow you to have a conversation at the same time.
9) Quietness: in general ok. If your room is facing the pool and you wish to go to bed early the musical entertainment will not be ideal. If your room is facing the park then quietness is nearly granted.
10) Cleanliness: rooms always cleaned perfectly, fast and to the last detail.

Special mention : if you enjoy a glass of wine with your dinner you will find at the restaurant a fantastic person (I will not disclose his name as he would not like it) who will take the time to advise you and give you the best choice for your taste. Apart from that he is such great character. Hope you'll be lucky and discover him.

Suggestion: I would have appreciated to find some tables in the open, not just inside the restaurant. For me eating on a terrace, outside, is part of what makes me fell on holiday.

To summarize we had a great family holiday. Our 2 children (7y - 5y) enjoyed it. It is a resort that I would recommend to families. Make sure you have the right room and the rest will follow.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robi_Veltroni, Direttore vendite at Uappala Hotel Lacona, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Dear Mr P H,
it was a pleasure to meet you in person. We are working on the replacement on our internet site the photo you have mentioned, which is the only one in the wrong place.
Thank you very much indeed for your nice words, you have been an ideal guest, just the kind of guest who can help us to improve constantly our service. I really hope to see you again in Lacona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

We went back to the Hotel Lacona again and it was all was perfect. It is a very good hotel for families too and this year the breakfast was improved in quality. Everyone is so helpful and smiling so it make it easy with the kids. We went B&B only because we love going out in the evening eating out in restaurants. We found a very good new one on the seaside of Lacona with beautiful views. It is a trendy Italian Wine Bar and Restaurant with lovely food and gorgeous wine. It is called "Enoteca Malucchi". Go there is lovely. We also went to the very good Pizzeria "Il Pirata" nearby.
In the morning we eat at the beach. We will be back....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gt67-berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robi_Veltroni, Direttore vendite at Uappala Hotel Lacona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Dear gt67-berkshire,

thanks for sharing online your nice experience in Lacona. It’s always a pleasure to have you and your family among our guests and we wait for you next year too. Tanti saluti dall'Isola d'Elba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I visited Elba with a group of friends and found this to be a really nice hotel. It looks like the photos on their web site and is as described. The rooms are nice and clean, bathrooms very nice. They have a great pool and patio area which is nice to enjoy in the evenings. The breakfast is quite substantial, more so than other hotels I've seen in Italy. The only minor drawback for us was the location. For 5 friends we should have stayed closer to one of Elba's towns rather than here which is a little remote. You should not stay here without a car, which we did not have. Taxis to any of the towns are expensive. But the beach is right across the street with some nice beach clubs. Overall it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magalia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robi_Veltroni, Direttore vendite at Uappala Hotel Lacona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Dear Magalia09,
thanks for your nice words about and for sharing online your experience at Hotel & Resort Lacona. It was a pleasure to have you among our guests and we hope to see you soon again in Lacona.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Very nice hotel with good service. Big pool and the beach is very close by the hotel. We have been there in half pension: the breakfast was average but the dinner was excellent.
Three animators dealed with our children. Elba Island and Hotel Lacona is a perfect place to have a nice rest!
Kornél Almássy from Hungary

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kornelBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Lacona, Direttore vendite at Uappala Hotel Lacona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2010

Dear Mr Almassy,

thanks for spending your time writing your impressions about our hotel; the recommendations and suggestions of our guests always help us to get better and to improve our job. We are looking forward to seeing you again in Lacona.

Best regards

Robi Veltroni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Elba is one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited. We hired a convertible smart car, via the hotel, which was perfect to scoot around the twisty roads in. The weather in September was great! The beaches were lovely. The beach and snack bar on the beach offer discount to hotel residents.

The staff at the hotel could not be more helpful. They were lovely and chatty. Our room was upgraded for free. It was modern- flat screen tv, modern furniture, etc with a sizeable showeroom. There was no balcony, however, there are very large, shared balconies on each floor.

We stayed half board (you will need to if you do not plan to have the use of a car) and the breakfast and dinners were of a very high quality, as was the choice of wines. There was plenty of variety in the meals (even for myself, a fussy vegetarian!) and the dining room was pleasant. We would often port our wine to the poolside terrace, which has wait-staff again, very pleasant and polite. Pretzels & nuts are served with drinks.

We went out through the day and in the evening in the car to explore the island, some of the views were nothing short of breathtaking.

The residents were mostly Italian.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASHLEYBEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Lacona, Direttore vendite at Uappala Hotel Lacona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2010

Dear Traveler,

thank you very much indeed for the wonderful description of the island and the beautiful words you spent for our staff, bar and restaurant. Come back and visit us again soon. Best regards.

Robi Veltroni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

When you finally arrive on The World’s Most Expensive Ferry © to Elba (which cost €117 and drops you on the Northern end of Elba), you must drive for about 20 minutes to the southern end to Lacona to get to the hotel. The drive is reasonably fun/terrifying with lots of corkscrew bends and lashing the car into second gear to get it up the hill etc. The hotel is very much like a Mediterranean apartment complex, big pool area (long rectagonal pool) with lots of outdoor seating and a man warming us all up with karaoke from 5pm onwards. He seems to have finished pretty early.

The room was fine, your average Italian hotel room, the bar is nice with cheap cocktails. The continental breakfast was a travesty though. Go outside, down the stairs into this Clockwork Orange-like “futuristic” room where everything is white, orange and plastic. It appeared that most of the tables were reserved (for breakfast?!) but we sat down anywhere and there was No. Food. That said, we did arrive at the tail end of breakfast service but seriously – No. Food. Or. Plates. Disaster.

When you leave the hotel you walk straight down to the beach, which is fantastic. Elba is like a Mediterranean resort without any tourism – any tourists are Italian (some French and Polish) but it is not in any way built up. You can see from the landscape that it’s quite inaccessible. If you turn left on the beach and stroll down a little bit (5 minutes) there is a fantastic restaurant (forget the name) on the beach which does terrific seafood.

Elba's great, worth a visit definitely and this is a totally grand place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GromitDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

While were looking for a good hotel in Elba for a family holiday we decided to book the Hotel Lacona.
The Hotel is quite modern and rooms are quite large and with air condition (ask for a standard room they are bigger) and the bathrooms (with shower) have been refurbished. The swimming pool (with a children pool attached) is very nice and it is surrounded by pine trees. At night there is a piano bar at the pool. There is also a children club during the high season (extra charge). The restaurant (only dinner) is part buffet service and part waiter served and the food and choices are very good. Very good restaurant service for the little ones, they always cooked different things for our little one.
The beach is really opposite the hotel but you need to pay for it (at a discounted price). It is not expensive around 15-20 euro a day for 2 sunbeds and an umbrella (tell them where do you want your space on the beach when booking). The bar-restaurant on the beach serves lovely lunches and fresh fish and seafood (you get 10% discount if you pay weekly for the beach). The long sandy beach and the sea is fantastic and is situated in a very nice bay, perfect for walks. The hotel is situated in the bay of Lacona (15 min drive from the Port of Portoferraio) and there are nice pizzerias, minimarket and restaurant nearby (walking distance). The towns of Portoazzurro and Marina di Campo are nearby by car and they have late shopping at night during the summer (shops close at midnight).
For us was a perfect place for us and our child, easy to go around, lovely beach and family friendly. It is also perfect for people with no children. Many places to see and discover by car. We will go back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gt67-berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Lacona, Direttore vendite at Uappala Hotel Lacona, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2010

Dear Traveler,

thanks for your nice words and comments about us and for telling that you would like to come back to visit us.
We would like to inform you about a recent change we made: this year (season 2010) we refurbished family rooms, which are very comfortable and spacious especially for those who spend longer holidays.

Thanks again and see you soon in Lacona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacona
3.9 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
447 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#1 of 8 in Porto Azzurro
442 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Tamerici
Hotel Tamerici
#2 of 8 in Marciana Marina
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Wanda
Hotel Villa Wanda
#2 of 8 in Porto Azzurro
324 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uappala Hotel Lacona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uappala Hotel Lacona

Address: Viale Dei Golfi 544/b | Spiaggia di Lacona, 57031 Lacona, Capoliveri, Elba Island, Italy (Formerly Club Valtur Lacona)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Capoliveri > Lacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lacona
Price Range: £71 - £896 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Uappala Hotel Lacona 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Resort Lacona is only 100 meters far from the sea and is surrounded by a big park leading to the beach of Lacona. 90 comfortable and nicely equipped rooms, most of them recently refurbished. The buffet restaurant offers a wide selection of traditional Tuscan dishes but also international ones. Two tennis courts, a big swimming pool and the private parking give the chance to enjoy a holiday in total relax. Free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Uappala Hotel Lacona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uappala Hotel Lacona Elba Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing