We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful time in Piegaro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Antica Vetreria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piegaro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Antica Vetreria
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful time in Piegaro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our family spent a week in Piegaro at L'Antica Vetreria. We had such a great time. It was really comfortable for our two families - and we loved the town. It was a great location for day trips to more hill towns than we had the time to visit. We also enjoyed staying in Piegaro and enjoying the pool. Colleen and Tom are wonderful hosts and made sure anything we needed was available to us. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Villa - but several apartments are available too for smaller groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Having your two families in our beautiful Villa was a highpoint of our spring! Such a great time touring together and enjoying la dolce vita in our little village. We hope to visit with you someday in Seattle and will welcome your return to Piegaro.
Kind regards, Colleen and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is the best of an Italian experience. Piegaro is a picture perfect village and L'Antica Vetreria the place to stay. Our apartment was the best accommodation we had during our entire three country month-long European journey. It was tastefully decorated with a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and gorgeous views out of every window. This is the place to recoup and relax. Tom and Colleen are gracious hosts looking after every detail to make one's visit memorable. The best part of staying with them in Piegaro was the cooking class and contact with local villagers and merchants who all were so friendly - and oh so patient with our Span-Italian. Great place for couples needing a get away rest or for a family building memories. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auklet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Helen, It was our complete joy to host you and Berry in beautiful La Cantina overlooking the pool! What great memories we made the week you were staying. So happy that you enjoyed our sweet and welcoming village. The merchants and chefs adore our guests and we will tell them how much you enjoyed meeting them! We hope you will return someday as there is so much more to see and do.
Kind regards, Colleen and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We just spent two weeks in Italy with one week in Piegaro at this beautiful renovated glass factory. We stayed in Il Due. It was perfect for a couple. This was a great location to do day trips to various towns/villages. See Colleen's recommendations. Pool is beautiful and was great to take a dip after doing a day of touring. Colleen and Tom are wonderful hosts! Take the wine tour and make sure you do the lunch trip to ValVerde (sp?) restaurant! We also did a cooking lesson with Salvatore at Juni's. So wonderful!!! We would love to go back some day! The people of Piegaro were so welcoming! Thank you, thank you!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gingester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
We are so pleased that you loved your vacation spent in il Forno Due and in our beautiful and welcoming village of Piegaro. It is guests like you that inspire us to continue to follow our passionate embrace of our little region of Italy. We do hope you will return as many of our guests do to make your home with us, if only for a week or two!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We are a family of four that were lucky enough to find this gem for our vacation to Italy. We stayed in the Villa for one of the weeks of our trip and it was heaven. We are seasoned home rental travelers and this was our favorite place so far. The Villa is wonderful. Colleen and Tom are the perfect hosts. They have thought of everything to help you explore the area or just sit back and relax. We were met upon arrival and given a thorough tour of the Villa. Next, we were given a tour of the village and were able to meet all the lovely residents and shop keepers. The restaurant in the village, Juni's is excellent and we had several meals there after our full day of exploring. The vegetable risotto was my favorite. We had our best espresso and cappuccino in Italy everyday at the Luna Bar and Luca could not have been more friendly. Colleen had sample itineraries in a book for seeing the surrounding area We loved following her directions and suggestions. We had the opportunity to see a lovely winery for a jeep tour and tasting. My girls were able to work a pottery wheel at the ceramic store that Colleen suggested in the famous town of Deruta..One of our favorite memories was booking time in the creative lab at the Glass Museum in Piegaro, Museo del Vetro to make glass tiles. We sat for hours working on our pieces and spending time with Chiara who managed the museum. We loved learning about the culture and lifestyle of the young adult population in the area. She was delightful. We drove over 700 kilometers while staying at L'Antica Veteria. This will be a memorable vacation for all of us and would recommend this to everyone. Thank you Colleen and Tom!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Wow! We are SO pleased that you loved everything about your visit with us, and grateful that you expressed in such detail all the pleasures that you experienced. We do devote ourselves to our guests and feel that we are in the business of "making people's dreams come true". For six years now we have been welcoming guests from over 23 different countries and it is guests like you that inspire us. The welcome mat is always out for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crozet, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We spent five nights at L'Antica Vetreria in the La Cantina Apartment and wish it could have been more. The location is perfect for exploring the many sites of Umbria and Tuscany or to simply enjoy time relaxing in a lovely country setting. The owners, Colleen and Tom, have done a magnificent job renovating the former glass factory into comfortable, attractive, and historic self-contained apartments. The small community of Piegaro is friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed several meals in the local restaurants. On the whole, a wonderful experience and we hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
We value your taking the time to tell others about your experience staying with us. We were so lucky to have found such a magnificent project to renovate and in such a pristine and welcoming little hilltop village in one of the most beautiful areas of Italy. We looked for over ten years to find the perfect place and love to share it with our wonderful guests. We hope you will return as many of our guests do....one week is just not enough time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We spent a week at the L’Antica Vetreria in Piegaro, during September 2012.
We had the Il Forno Uno, the flat facing the swimming pool.
Colleen and Tom were really great hosts, introducing us to the quaint village of Piegaro. We also participated in a very pleasant and relaxing visit to a special vineyard, organised and led by Tom. They will really go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We needed something printed and they readily helped us out.
Our apartment was comfortable and very well equipped. We particularly appreciated the quality of wifi, best speed we had during our 3 weeks tour of Italy.
There is an extensive assortment of guide books covering Umbria and Tuscany. There is also a very useful folder of ideas, tips and information about the area put together by Colleen for the guests. Whatever your interests, Colleen and Tom will be able to advise, they have a real passion for Umbria.
All necessary consumables are there, washing powder for the washing machine, everything you need in kitchen, outside BBQ.
I would highly recommend this place in the lovely village of Piegaro, a fantastic base for exploring Umbria.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vagabond_of_StAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
What a memorable visit you had with us! We treasure guests like you who appreciate our passion for Umbria and we are so happy to share it with all. Piegaro is a real treasure, little known, but once discovered, our guests return for its beauty and welcoming atmosphere. So happy that you liked all the guide books and help we provide. We do have a remarkable life being able to welcome guests from over 23 different countries! Thanks for such a nice recommendation to others looking for a unique and enjoyable experience.
Kind regards, Colleen and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

9 of us stayed in the villa, and had everything we needed, and then some. The people in the village are nicer than just about any place we've been, and I'd like to give a shout out to Luca, our favorite bartender!
All rooms have their own modern private baths, you can cook up a storm in a fully equipped and beautiful kitchen, complete with granite counter tops, 5 burner gas cooktop, full sized fridge and dishwasher.
Plenty of room to gather together or have some privacy.
The view is very nice, woke up to a rooster crowing across the valley every morning, and had a great view of the stars at night.
The bookcases are overflowing with guide books, so you don't have to lug your Frommer's with you, but you might want to bring your own cd's...there is no MP3 or iPod player and the CD collection is a little limited!
Tom and Colleen do a great job of orienting you to the community. They will leave you alone or be available, whichever you prefer!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Colleen, Linda and Kay, We are so appreciative that you took the time to tell others of your great experience in our beautiful Villa. It is our joy to welcome guests like you to our property and to our sweet little village. Luca is a treasure and our guests adore him! Our views are idyllic and we were so fortunate to have found such a huge property so well situated on the medieval walls with privacy and grand views across the countryside. Come back any time!!
Best regards, Colleen and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piegaro hotels
5.6 mi away
Casa Vacanze Il Piccolo Noce
Casa Vacanze Il Piccolo Noce
#1 of 3 in Pietrafitta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ca' De' Principi - Residenza D'epoca
6.2 mi away
Agriturismo Abbazia Sette Frati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Abbazia dei Sette Frati Agriturismo Fratres
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Agriturismo La Sirosa
#7 of 13 in Piegaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
1.1 mi away
Agriturismo Tenuta Il Polardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Antica Vetreria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Antica Vetreria

Property: L'Antica Vetreria
Address: Via Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 24A, 06066, Piegaro, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Piegaro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Piegaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique historic property within the medieval walls of a perched hilltop village in Umbria on the border of Tuscany. Huge Villa sleeps ten and four separate apartments sleeping four each, each with its own terrace & pool overlooking stunning view of pastoral countryside. From your villa or apartment with fully equipped kitchen, living, dining room & spacious bedrooms with modern baths, it is just steps to main piazza of village with bar/cafes, restaurants, groceries, butcher, bakery, pharmacy & shops. All village amenities to make your stay comfortable and to enjoy typical Italian village life with all its rhythms. The village of Piegaro is very warm and welcoming with a rich history of glassmaking for over 750 years. We have restored the ancient glassworks (vetreria)for guests to stay and enjoy in comfort. Within an hour guests visit all the historic sites within Umbria and Tuscany. Enjoy our free tour of local winery with tour through ancient olive groves & right through the vines; free tasting of wines and olive oil on panoramic terrace. Owners live in the village & will help you with all itineraries to show you the hidden jewels of Umbria. Cooking classes available as well as catering, horseback riding, biking, water sports, farm tours. We strive to make our guests dreams come true by paying attention to all the details, from provisioning the kitchen with all condiments like olive oil, balsamic vinegar, spices, paper products to helping daily with special suggestions and tour itinerary booklets. Piegaro is a very special little village and we are blessed to be part of a rich history by preserving one of its most historic places. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
l`Antica Vetreria Hotel Piegaro
L'Antica Vetreria Piegaro, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing