We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Il Canalicchio
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canalicchio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

This is am unknown gem in a beautiful area. So relaxing with wonderful friendly attentive staff. We had fun delicious cooking classes with John Lucca. Sara, our tour guide, has a wonderful warm personality and made our trips to the olive oil factory, winery, theater fun. Ciro was very attentive at breakfast and dinner. Appetizers, pastas, dinners were good with fresh local food. Room with balcony overlooking the countryside was amazing. Someone came immediately to fix the plumbing . Beds are comfortable even though they are twin. Overall wonderful experience, very friendly staff!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank jFurumasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of August. The place is wonderful, it is based on old medieval village on the top of the hill with a fantastic view on Umbria countryside. Rooms are big and the 2 swimming pools help you to get relaxed. Two others good points are Dinners, (good food excellent cooked) and excursions (thx to Sara)
So it is a place very suggestible to all kind of visitors.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gable_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We are actually staying at the hotel at the moment and just wanted to let anyone who may have any doubts about this hotel, not to worry. We are thoroughly enjoying ourselves. Yes it's along way from anywhere, but the views and sunsets are amazing! If you want to spend your days sightseeing, I suggest you either hire a car or use the hotel car service. For a fee (around 80euros for two return to Assisi) they will happily take you anywhere, drop you off and collect you at a pre-arranged time.

As for the staff, they are wonderful, so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. I especially love Sara on the front desk, Cataldo the batman/waiter and Cherro the head man in the restaurant (please excuse my spellings of their names!!!) whatever you need they are always around to help.

So for all those who complained about the food (which we loved most of the time) and the distance away from the sights then perhaps you need to stay at home next time!! And for those who are coming have a great holiday 'coz I'm sure you will!!!

Room Tip: Having a room with a terrace is an added bonus because you get amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MYLO888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is THE place to wind down and relax. The genial, courteous staff go out of their way to make you feel relaxed and comfortable. The room we had was spacious with a beautiful view over the valleys of olive groves. The consistently tasty meals are packed with gorgeous local fruit and veg, with the deceptively simple pasta dishes being the stars of the show. Stay too long and you'll think it's your home...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the valley. Don't pay a premium for the terrace rooms unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a beautiful, relaxing country side resort in Umbria. Breath taking views of the Umbria countryside from the dining patio and from our balcony. wonderful friendly, outstanding service. Relaxing spa,wonderful chef, the food is amazing and so fresh and Ciro is so helpful and attentive. We came here through an Epitourean culinary tour and had not only fun cooking classes with the chef but tours to local olive oil factory, winery and a wonderful town with a theater which was built in 1808. This an amazing place with exceptional staff, would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony facing the sunset are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The situation of this hotel is perfect with 360 degree views of the Umbrian hills. The rooms are comfortable and spacious (ask for one with a terrace). The staff are most helpful and obliging, nothing is too much trouble. Most of all the food is really amazing, It is Italian cuisine at its very best.Fresh tasty ingredients, imaginative sauces, beautifully cooked pasta and amazing vergetables. It's really the best hotel food we've ever had.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace but I think all the rooms have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMCaerdydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have just returned from a relaxing week at the Relais Il Canalicchio. We arrived at 10pm as our flight was delayed, and were greated by very polite and friendly staff. We were then shown to our appartment which was in the grounds of the hotel by the second swimming pool, and then given a tour of the hotel. There were trips and Umbrian cookery courses available if you wanted to participate, we didn't as we had a hire car and opted to go out sightseeing during the day.

Our rooms were comfortable, clean and in a quiet area if the hotel which had a view of the pool.
We opted for bed and breakfast but you were able to book easily for the evening meal upto 2 hours before you wanted to eat, the menu had a good selection and was priced at €20 per person for three courses so not bad value.

We were lucky enough to be staying on a night that there was a buffet and all tables were laid up in the area surrounding the pool, there was a good selection of dishes. Drinks and entertainment were also included in the cost.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing break in beautiful Umbria, you can do as much or as little as you choose. The views from the hotel are amazing as were the sunsets.

All staff were friendly, polite and always helpful and Cataldo definitely made the best coffee of the week! :)
Thank you all for making our week so perfect, we hope to return in the future.

I recommend visiting Todi, Spello and Spoletto

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the bottom swimming pool, lovely an peaceful if you wish to sit on your balcony in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canalicchio
7.5 mi away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
1,737 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abbazia Collemedio
Abbazia Collemedio
#1 of 1 in Collepepe
260 reviews
8.3 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa
12.7 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 65 in Perugia
734 reviews
12.0 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Il Canalicchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Il Canalicchio

Address: Via della Piazza 4, 06050 Canalicchio, Collazzone, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Collazzone > Canalicchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canalicchio
Price Range: £104 - £888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Il Canalicchio 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Il Canalicchio stands like a small gem inset into the summit of a hill. The picturesque town built around the Castello di Poggio, which dates to the 10th-11th centuries, dominates the town with its imposing tower and a splendid little church close to the vineyards and olive groves at the centre of the lush Umbrian countryside. The luxury Relais has almost completely remodeled and enclosed the town of Canalicchio, an intact and resplendent oasis of peace, where only the twittering of birds interrupts the relaxing stillness. Inside, the historic and rural origins of the place are obvious; it still has its apparent castle-like structure and boasts an enormous and exquisite millstone, the old press and some lovely arches, evoking the enchanting atmosphere and charm of times gone by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Il Canalicchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Canalicchio Di Collazzone
Relais Il Canalicchio Umbria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing