We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our second visit and still wonderful.”
other travellers have booked this property
Infinity pool overlooking Milatos village, with views you will never tire of!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Infinity pool overlooking Milatos village, with views you will never tire of!
Spacious sun terraces for lazing by the pool, with fantastic views. Comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Infinity pool overlooking Milatos village, with views you will never tire of!
Spacious sun terraces for lazing by the pool, with fantastic views.
Comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms.
Breakfast with a view.
Twin bedroom with french doors.
The view from the double bedroom.
The view across the ravine from the twin bedroom.
Chat and chill at sunset.
Welcome!
Sea and mountain!
Modern and functional bathroom.
Park your car and walk down to the pool.
Hard not to relax after dark.......
Open air shower by the pool.  Hot and cold water!
The chapel inside Milatos Cave.
The old leper colony at Spinalonga.
Milatos church dressed for Easter.
Milatos Beach and the harbour from the road to the cave.
Milatos harbour - fish straight to your favourite taverna.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Milatos, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
GG-BTN
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our second visit and still wonderful.”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our second to Villa Marina and it did not disappoint.
The views were every bit as spectacular as we remembered, the infinity pool warm and welcoming, and the villa as comfortable and relaxing as before. It was great to see Andrew and Maureen again, they continue to ensure your enjoyment of their villa is as private and exclusive as you want it to be. We also enjoyed some of the thoughtful finishing touches added since our last visit. We particularly liked Andrews wheelie umbrellas so that you can create your own shady spots around the pool area without breaking a sweat ! He needs to patent those he could make a fortune !
Having been before we were able to explore areas of this beautiful part of Crete we had missed previously and once again we had a fantastic holiday. We cant wait to go back for a third visit next year !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views, privacy and fabulous pool area
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim56870
Sammamish, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Property in a Great Location Off the Beaten Path”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

If you want a place that is peaceful, beautiful, and a private oasis as your “base of operations” for relaxing and exploring you can’t go wrong with Villa Marina!

We picked Villa Marina because we wanted a more authentic Cretan experience than could possibly be provided by hotels and jammed beach scenes fed by the cruise ships. Instead of a hotel room we had two private well-appointed rooms and a bathroom suite. Each bedroom had access to the expansive patio, infinity pool and tremendous 180-degree view that spanned from upper Milatos all the way to the Mediterranean Sea. We felt integrated into nature above the lovely ravine and also well positioned to enjoy the lovely Tavernas easily walkable from the villa.

While we enjoyed our privacy, we also felt grateful for the comfort of Andrew and Maureen’s support during our stay. Each morning we woke up to Maureen’s lovely daily breakfast buffet and had access to both Andrew and Maureen to help us fine-tuned our daily plans for both relaxation and adventure. They are wonderful people and we gained a lot of confidence to go off the beaten track with their help.

Crete is a “mini-continent” of an island and there is so much history and beauty that we felt like a week was barely enough time to sample the diversity and richness of amazing Crete!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHayward...
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic villa and pool”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from 2 weeks at Villa Marina and had a fantastic holiday. The villa and the pool are extremely clean with fantastic views to the sea. Andrew and Maureen made us very welcome and were extremely helpful. We visited several of the local tavernas that were great in particular 'no stress' by the seafront and other evenings used the BBQ by the pool. It is a fantastic location for a chilled holiday but near enough to visit larger villages and towns. Renting a car however is highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DandSChar...
Walsall
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful villa, fabulous hosts - the perfect holiday!”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

If you are looking for the perfect place to spend a relaxing holiday in an idyllic location, then you have found it. The Villa Marina is far enough away from the hustle and bustle to be totally tranquil, but close enough to walk to any of the local tavernas to sample some really excellent Cretan cuisine.
Andrew and Maureen are fantastic hosts - extremely hospitable, but totally non-intrusive. The breakfasts provided were delicious and plentiful, with the highlights being Maureen's homemade jam, marmalade and cakes.
The villa was spotless inside and out, the beds were very comfortable and thoughtful touches such as tea and coffee making facilities and beer, wine and water on arrival made the stay even more relaxing.
This was our first visit to Greece and the Villa Marina has set the bar so high, that anywhere we go afterwards will have a lot to live up to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities, the hosts and the view.
Liked least: Although it didn't worry us, there is a bit of a hill to negotiate if you walk back from town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vs_martij...
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have enjoyed 2 weeks in villa Marina. The accommodation exceeded our expectations. It is very modern and well maintained. The view from the terrace is just breathtaking. The pool is great, the water was very clean and the current system allows for some proper exercising.
We very much enjoyed and embraced the relaxed atmosphere of the island. The villa is away from the touristic areas, though well positioned for cultural day trips. We especially recommend visiting the Archeological museum in Heraklion and the Malia palace archeological site. The latter is very near and located on route to our favourite sandy beach.
For food we visited the different tavernas in the area which all offer great food for decent prices. Our absolute favourite taverna was without any doubt taverna "In Milatos", which is on walking distance from the villa. This small family taverna distinguishes itself by its excellent cuisine as well as its very friendly owners that are dedicated to provide you with a great experience. Website: http://milatostaverna.com
At the villa the BBQ allows for preparing a dinner of your own.
The owners of the villa Andrew and Moreen were very friendly and supportive, always ready to provide helpful advice and recommendations. Every morning a tasty breakfast was served with personal preferences taken into consideration.
The friendly support definitely contributed to an unforgettable experience!
We highly recommend villa Marina.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Friendly advice and excellent service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrisali1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Andrew & Maureen were friendly , efficient & helpful. They did not intrude on our privacy but were happy to stop and chat or share a drink with us of an evening if we wanted to.
The villa was modern and exceptionally clean , the bed was comfortable & the walk in shower (and the outside one )were great. The view & the infinity pool were to die for. You could sit outside and not be troubled by anything louder than a cockerel crowing, a goat bell tinkling, or a vulture soaring down the ravine next to the villa.
The village is traditional, rural, and not 'touristy' with a couple of Tavernas and half a dozen more down by the sea. Our favourite as 'No Stress"
You will definitely need a car, but most attractions, including Spinalonga, are within easy driving distance and Andrew is good at providing directions.
A lovely 'chilled out 'holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and tranquility
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dinky68
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect holiday retreat”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We wanted a holiday for some late summer sun in a place that offered both the chance to relax and some local places of interest. Neither of us had been to Greece before and we decided on Crete so we could visit Spinalonga (having read and enjoyed 'The Island') and see the ruins of Knossos.
Looking through the lettings site we came across Villa Marina and felt that it ticked the necessary boxes. Having read the reviews we had high expectations...which in reality were exceeded.
The villa is wonderful. Clean, well equipped and the air conditioned bedrooms very comfortable. The bed was so comfortable and it was so wonderful to wake and have a view of the sun rising, overlooking the infinity pool and the sea..... perfect. The views from the villa are incredible. We enjoyed our breakfast (served by Mo) every morning, sipping coffee and just staring at the spectacular scenery, it really was breath taking and we could've just sat and enjoyed the view all day.
The village of Milatos is quiet and picturesque yet only ten minutes from the new highway to allow you to get out for trips. The village is well provided for eating out with several excellent Tavernas serving good, reasonably priced traditional food. The Greeks are terrifically helpful and friendly, you soon get used to the complimentary glass or three of raki at the end of the meal!
Then there were our hosts Andrew and Mo. Truly the icing on our holiday cake. They have the balance just right, of being friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. We really enjoyed our chats with them and very much appreciated all their very thoughtful gestures, meeting us in the village to direct us to the villa, a welcome drink on arrival, goodies left in the fridge, roses put out on the breakfast table. Nothing too much trouble, drawing us directions on maps, recommending places to eat and visit.
We have had the most wonderful relaxing holiday, and have thoroughly enjoyed visiting Crete. We are so delighted that we found Villa Marina, we really have had the perfect holiday. The world is such a big place and plenty to visit , so we have a rule never to visit the same place twice.... we think this is going to be the exception!! Thank you Andrew and Mo and think we will definitely be seeing you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing