We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique, historic and beautifully renovated”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Palazzo Di Acqua

ancient beauty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
ancient beauty
Terrace with sun loungers Amazing terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
ancient beauty
Terrace with sun loungers
Amazing terrace
BBQ/private yard
Dining room of venetian knights
The entrance
1st bedroom- 1st floor
unique sunset!
360o panoramic view!
Enter a caption for your photo
2nd bedroom-2nd floor
Cretan hospitality
bedroom in the old venetian cellar
3rd bedroom-ground floor
WC with bronze details
Bathroom with bronze details and greek marble
Enjoy the unique sunset from the roof!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Atsipopoulo, Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
lawdylawd...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
496 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Unique, historic and beautifully renovated”
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 5 nights, leaving Saturday morning, 7 October. This palazzo sits on a 6 metre deep sump into which rainwater collects; in its days as a fortified house, that would have been the drinking water supply but these days, the water in the sump is used with a heat pump to heat and cool the house. Very clever.

The ground floor kitchen / reception area is large, with a bath/shower room / loo off, and with stairs leading up to the first floor lounge which also has a sort of mini-kitchen. The floor is beautifully polished wood and it's equipped with satellite TV tuner, DVD player, flat screen TV, and Google Chromecast. The only downside of the satellite TV is that many of the channels are scrambled and of the rest, much of the content is in Arabic or other languages - it's the Hotbird satellite. Some English channels are to be found - AlJazeera news channel on 0830 for instance - but for what little TV we did watch, it tended to be Netflix cast from my Android phone to the Chromecast.

The first floor bedroom has a bathroom adjacent, both quite spacious, and stairs ascend to the second floor and another bedroom, then to the very private roof terrace. The terrace is nicely appointed and offers excellent views over to Akrotiri and in the other direction, beyond Rethymnon. Steps then lead to a fourth floor roof terrace, much smaller. Sunrise and sunset can be spectacular from these terraces.

Heading back down to the ground floor, a door leads from the kitchen area to an open-roofed and completely private atrium which has another bedroom leading off, and a good-sized hot-tub. Lovely stuff.

We enjoyed our stay in the Palazzo and would certainly stay again if returning to the area. Be aware that if you have mobility issues the steps and steep / narrow streets (no vehicular access to the Palazzo itself; safe parking is 60 metres away) may preclude you from enjoying this unique property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wander539...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of a kind!”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This rental property was absolutely perfect. Magdalina was easy to contact, met us on arrival, helped us to get situated and answered all of our questions. The property itself was a historic tower with beautiful details, from the ceilings and doors to the fixtures. The rooftop patio has incredible views in all directions. The home is very large, with big rooms and comfortable beds. The hot tub was great for a relaxing soak at the end of the day. The town it is located in is very nice, with narrow historic streets and buildings, several restaurants with great food , a supermarket and an ATM all just steps away.We had a rental car for the week we stayed there and parking was convenient and the location allowed us to easily get around the central and western parts of the island. It was a short drive to the beautiful town of rethymno. I would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Crete!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ozie
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Look no further”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Palazzo Di Acqua. It has been renovated with care, pride and attention to detail. Magdalena genuinely cared about the quality of our stay and checked on our well being. There are many thoughtful touches throughout the house and it feels like a home away from home. The welcome goodies were a nice extra. It is spotlessly clean and well equipped. The photos accurately portray the quality of the property. We loved the location, situated in a "real" and attractive village and readily accessible to Rethymno. We dined at the atmospheric little restaurant in the square around the corner, shopped at the local bakery and supermarkets and ate breakfast, lunch or dinner on the terrace overlooking the sea, Rethymno and the mountains. A great base from which to explore Crete and a warm, comfortable and welcoming place to come home to each day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness, cleanliness and views
Liked least: The small bathroom and hand held shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NenadBo
Antibes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four stayed here during May 2015 and we thoroughly enjoyed our it. The villa in the old tower is simply amazing. The historical feeling is great. It is quite a large tower - there are 3 large bedrooms, two kitchens, two bathrooms. Everything was stocked and thought off - from bathrooms through kitchens.

The views from the terrasses at the top are stunning, and it is great place to spend the morning or evening. Everything is close in the village - there are few restaurants and few supermarkets. The town of Rethymno is close, and fairly central position on the island allows daily excursions to everywhere except maybe the most eastern parts of the Crete.

The host was wonderful, always helpful.

We really loved our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderfully restored tower and the views from the top.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Z
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Villa - Generous Hosts”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a beautifully restored villa in Atsipopoulo, an interesting little town near Rethymno - everything you need is within walking distance (especially the souvlaki shop- delicious). Our family spent a captivating week in Crete and your accommodation was superb - so clean, so spacious, so comfortable. There is a fully equipped kitchen downstairs which the owners had thoughtfully stocked up with the necessary staples, as was the pantry. The 2nd kitchen upstairs very useful and beautifully appointed.
The 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms clean and comfortable.The rooftop terrace was the perfect place for breakfast and had breathtaking views in the evening.
The owners are so obliging, welcoming and thoughtful. They afforded our family the most generous hospitality.
I would recommend this property to one and all. It is exactly as the photos show - it will not disappoint.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The historical aspects of the accommodation, comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing I could think of.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon in May 2015, and it exceeded our expectations. The property is stunningly beautiful - inside and out. Everything is very well maintained and up to date. The owners went out of their way to make our stay special since it was our honeymoon, which was very kind. The view from the terrace can't be captured in a photo - it is wonderful. We preferred the location, as the village is quaint and friendly, but close to everything you need. It is about a 3-5 minute walk to an excellent grocery store, bakery, and multiple restaurants. It is no more than a 15 minute drive to Rethymnon (which you can see from the terrace), and no more than a 10 minute drive to a beach. We loved this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing