We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing week - great hotel - get those beach shoes out though!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Colchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing week - great hotel - get those beach shoes out though!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent last week at the Cavo Spada - unfortunately they didnt have room for us for the first night (even though we had booked) and put us up at their sister hotel (Santa Marina Plaza) for the first night. This was a bit of a disappointing as we couldnt settle straight in, but we got a good room in a great little hotel on a lovely sandy beach.

When we arrived at the Cavo Spada we'd been upgraded to Ultra All inclusive (lots of extras, including 30 min free spa treatment, most drinks, 2 a la carte meals (in the pool cafe and Italian restaurant) and were very pleased to find we'd been allocated a room next to the pool. It definitely made up for the small inconvenience of the change after the first night.

We found the staff to be really helpful, there was plenty of choice in the main restaurant and it was ok considering the scale and variety of tastes that were covered - what you'd expect really. We managed to find something we liked most days and it was great that there were snacks available throughout the day at the pool bar so you didnt feel it necessary to go up to the main restaurant during the day.

I took advantage of the free massage which was lovely, and we enjoyed our la carte in the pool cafe (yes it was a limited menu - but very good). We also ate in the Italian on our last evening, all very well presented but a little disappointing, my husband made the wrong choices (squid - chewy, and beef - chewy) but mine were ok (risotto and chicken) - and the puddings were the highlight of the night.

The beach.... was a little disappointing after the lovely sandy beach further along the coast, it was very stony, but the bonus was that as you were off the beaten track you werent bothered by the hawkers offering massages and watches etc as we were on our first day. You still get the lovely views, no sand in your shoes and plenty of sunbeds. Getting into the sea is a challenge, you definitely need beach shoes, the ones which you can wear into the sea.

The weather unfortunately changed towards the end of the week but it didnt spoil the holiday - there is a regular (and cheap) bus service from just up the road from the hotel into Chania which is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandarinaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear MandarinaM,
Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor.
Firstly, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you from this one night reallocation.
Secondly, it is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed all the facilities of our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Resort.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    154
    56
    19
    13
See reviews for
177
243
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent a week in early September with the Ultra All Inclusive accomodation. This arrangement includes basically everything on site, apart from top shelf booze.

The hotel location is quite isolated, but we planned on spending a week poolside so we didn't care. The pool is indeed lovely (a little cold, to be picky) and the bar in the middle of it is just great. We did not get a room by the pool, but those who did were lucky indeed!

The staff at the hotel speaks good english, and most are helpful and will help you quickly and with care. Other members of staff, unfortunately, seem a little bothered by the presence of guests, especially when asking questions or using the spa facilities.

We have 3 main complaints with the hotel:
- In general the structure has seen better days, and it is in need of overhaul. The pool is slippery because of some dirt, we had some mold in the shower, the furniture in the room was stained, the poolside loungers and umbrellas were mostly broken and dirty... it's mostly first-world problems, but the sort of issues that should not be there at a real 5* hotel
- The food at the buffet (main restaurant) was extremely inconsistent, but mostly poor. Some dishes were OK, other were just plain terrible. Personal taste, I suppose, but again from a 5* hotel one expects better than soggy fries and chicken nuggets.
- The food at the a la carte restaurants was also very inconsistent.
We ate at the pool restaurant only once, and honestly were not happy that there were two menus available, one for the All-Inclusive guests, and one for paying guests. More importantly, the All-Inclusive menu wasn't a subset of the other, but a list of cafeteria food (spaghetti, pizza...); whereby the paying menu had interesting and appetizing dishes. Why this was not clearly advertised is beyond me.
The evening restaurant had 2 alternating menus with some dishes which were indeed very nice (the risotto, the gnocchi, the chicken with beans and the grouper spring to mind); while others were just flavourless or badly executed. This is especially true for the pasta dishes, overcooked and bland - they should be the pride of any self-respecting italian restaurant: why it was chosen to have the star restaurant as an italian and not a greek also is not really clear.
We had the opportunity to meet the head chef at the facility and found him to be knowledgeable and skilled, so maybe the taste is adapted (a little too much) for the guests, which were mostly northern European.

All in all, the place is lovely and there are much worse ways of spending a week, but the experience just isn't 5*. I hope the management will be able to make this place the paradise it deserves to be!

Room Tip: Definitely get a poolside room (but not one with the private pool, that seems a touch gimmicky).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_m98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear j_m98,

Thank you very much for taking time to comment on Tripadvisor.

The opinion of our guests is always very important for us.

According to your notice about the food, we would like to inform you that the cuisine of our Hotel is mainly based on Mediterranean and International tastes, in order to be able to meet the needs of most of our guests.
We are very sorry that the dishes that you mention did not meet your needs.
The management and the staff have already been informed about your notices and we promise that we will put our best efforts in order to improve even more and finally meet your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.

Best regards,

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Komotini, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We traveled in kolimpari Cavo Spada late Augaust and we left at the 6th of September.
We went for family vacation my wife, my son 12years old, and me. We had the best time in the resort, the breakfast was very very nice 6stars for the breakfast, the staf was very friendly, and always there to help or advise, the rooms was big for the three of us with plenty off light and very a big bathroom. Very clean and near the best locations in Crete.
It was fantastic to wake up in the morning after a good sleep and jump into the pool....
The resort had everything to make us happy from games to good and plenty wide range food.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are beside the huge pool but there are many rooms with private pools It is bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thanasis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Athanasios L

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for your excellent score on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed all of the facilities of our Resort.

Finally, we want to thank you for the sharing photos. They are amazing.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa in the near future.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I went with my girlfriend in late august, 2013. We're really satisfied with our trip and this hotel fullfilled all of our expectations! The food could sometimes be better, but there are always a wide range of different courses on the menu. I recommend you to choose All Inclusive. There is a stone beach so bring shoes for bathing.

Room Tip: Choose a room with poolaccess or with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Wangiz,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

It is great to hear that you and your girlfriend had a pleasant stay in our Resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.

Best regards,

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tranby, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have never been South of Germany and now was the time. We originally booked the Grand Bay resort 1,5 km away from Cavo Spada. Was contacted by Our travelagent which told us that Grand Bay was overbooked. Danm... But,.. we have upgrated you to a better hotel just nearby. We thought thats fine and what didd we get?? The 5* Cavo Spada Luxury Resort and Spa. I have never in my life had a more Perfect hotel. We got a groundfloor room just by the big pool. With all inclusive you can almost leave Your wallet at home. A great buffet at all meals, exellent service from the staff, clean an tidy at all times. One week at this resort is not enough. I miss it already. and i got home yesterday. I hope we will go there Next year:)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MortenK1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Mortenk1977,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

Firstly, we would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused to you this reallocation.
However, it is great to hear that you enjoy your stay and all the amenities of our Resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa next year.
Best regards,

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

As we leave this beatiful hotel,second visit ,i really feel i had a wonderful holiday experience.
The resort is spread in a large piece of land on a prime seafront lacation.
The room we had,a superior beach front,with direct acess to a lagoon style pool was perfect,spacious and the housekeeping was great.
Breakfast and dinner were of very good quality and there was a large variety of local and international dishes daily.
For lunch we chose Sealine tavern,with excellent seafood and pastas and the same friendly service as the main restaurant.
It is a very good choice for couples and families as the hotel offers full service for kids at the mini club it provides,under proffessional sutervision.
100% reccomended.

Room Tip: superior beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It's our second time to Cavo Spada Hotel and as the first time, we are having an amazing stay. Besides the beauty of Crete in general, the hotel its self offers a great holiday. Our room is really comfortable and the hotel staff very polite and friendly, always there to help us and answer any questions we might have. What we really loved both times is the delicious food at all restaurants of the hotel. We are still in Crete and we will leave in a few days but we will for sure come back for another guaranteed amazing time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Mario C,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

Regarding your comment of the food which served at our restaurants we would like to inform that it is based on Greek, Italian and International cuisine to satisfy the needs of all our guests.

We would like to thank you once again for taking time to comment and for your preference at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Resort on you next visit in Crete.

Best regards,

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
6.2 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
43.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avra Imperial Hotel
Avra Imperial Hotel
#1 of 13 in Kolymbari
1,137 reviews
5.5 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 69 in Platanias
1,071 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Bay Beach Resort
Grand Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Kolymbari
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa

Property: Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
Address: Rapaniana, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolymbari
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is located 18kms west of the picturesque city of Chania. Its location combines in a unique way the beauty and tranquility of the Cretan Archipelagos with the unsurpassed charm of the famous Old Venetian town which is only a short drive away. Positioned on the west side of the Gulf of Chania, the hotel is built on a long stretch of beach, offering magnificent view of the Gulf of Chania and of Cape Spada. The latter is a spectacular rocky cape after which our hotel was named. The hotel is spread over a 65,000 m2 private property, hence offering ample space for all the guests to enjoy their holidays in one of the 150 rooms that the hotel has to offer. Being part of one of the oldest and most respected hotel companies of Chania, the Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is the epitome of our experience in providing holidays of unprecedented quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavo Spada Luxury Hotel Chania Town
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort And Spa
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa Crete/Kolymbari, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing