We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Chrispy World(Kolymbari)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$111
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aphea Village(Kolymbari)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
315
177
66
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
177
66
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool baritalian restaurantmain restaurantall inclusive hotelbar managerguest relations managerolive oil tastingshared poolsister hotelreception staffhead waitersemi private pooltennis courtson a half board basisgreat bathroomper daythe bus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent last week at the Cavo Spada - unfortunately they didnt have room for us for the first night (even though we had booked) and put us up at their sister hotel (Santa Marina Plaza) for the first night. This was a bit of a disappointing as we couldnt settle straight in, but we got a good room in a great little hotel on a lovely sandy beach.

When we arrived at the Cavo Spada we'd been upgraded to Ultra All inclusive (lots of extras, including 30 min free spa treatment, most drinks, 2 a la carte meals (in the pool cafe and Italian restaurant) and were very pleased to find we'd been allocated a room next to the pool. It definitely made up for the small inconvenience of the change after the first night.

We found the staff to be really helpful, there was plenty of choice in the main restaurant and it was ok considering the scale and variety of tastes that were covered - what you'd expect really. We managed to find something we liked most days and it was great that there were snacks available throughout the day at the pool bar so you didnt feel it necessary to go up to the main restaurant during the day.

I took advantage of the free massage which was lovely, and we enjoyed our la carte in the pool cafe (yes it was a limited menu - but very good). We also ate in the Italian on our last evening, all very well presented but a little disappointing, my husband made the wrong choices (squid - chewy, and beef - chewy) but mine were ok (risotto and chicken) - and the puddings were the highlight of the night.

The beach.... was a little disappointing after the lovely sandy beach further along the coast, it was very stony, but the bonus was that as you were off the beaten track you werent bothered by the hawkers offering massages and watches etc as we were on our first day. You still get the lovely views, no sand in your shoes and plenty of sunbeds. Getting into the sea is a challenge, you definitely need beach shoes, the ones which you can wear into the sea.

The weather unfortunately changed towards the end of the week but it didnt spoil the holiday - there is a regular (and cheap) bus service from just up the road from the hotel into Chania which is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandarinaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear MandarinaM,
Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor.
Firstly, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you from this one night reallocation.
Secondly, it is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed all the facilities of our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Resort.
Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent a week in early September with the Ultra All Inclusive accomodation. This arrangement includes basically everything on site, apart from top shelf booze.

The hotel location is quite isolated, but we planned on spending a week poolside so we didn't care. The pool is indeed lovely (a little cold, to be picky) and the bar in the middle of it is just great. We did not get a room by the pool, but those who did were lucky indeed!

The staff at the hotel speaks good english, and most are helpful and will help you quickly and with care. Other members of staff, unfortunately, seem a little bothered by the presence of guests, especially when asking questions or using the spa facilities.

We have 3 main complaints with the hotel:
- In general the structure has seen better days, and it is in need of overhaul. The pool is slippery because of some dirt, we had some mold in the shower, the furniture in the room was stained, the poolside loungers and umbrellas were mostly broken and dirty... it's mostly first-world problems, but the sort of issues that should not be there at a real 5* hotel
- The food at the buffet (main restaurant) was extremely inconsistent, but mostly poor. Some dishes were OK, other were just plain terrible. Personal taste, I suppose, but again from a 5* hotel one expects better than soggy fries and chicken nuggets.
- The food at the a la carte restaurants was also very inconsistent.
We ate at the pool restaurant only once, and honestly were not happy that there were two menus available, one for the All-Inclusive guests, and one for paying guests. More importantly, the All-Inclusive menu wasn't a subset of the other, but a list of cafeteria food (spaghetti, pizza...); whereby the paying menu had interesting and appetizing dishes. Why this was not clearly advertised is beyond me.
The evening restaurant had 2 alternating menus with some dishes which were indeed very nice (the risotto, the gnocchi, the chicken with beans and the grouper spring to mind); while others were just flavourless or badly executed. This is especially true for the pasta dishes, overcooked and bland - they should be the pride of any self-respecting italian restaurant: why it was chosen to have the star restaurant as an italian and not a greek also is not really clear.
We had the opportunity to meet the head chef at the facility and found him to be knowledgeable and skilled, so maybe the taste is adapted (a little too much) for the guests, which were mostly northern European.

All in all, the place is lovely and there are much worse ways of spending a week, but the experience just isn't 5*. I hope the management will be able to make this place the paradise it deserves to be!

Room Tip: Definitely get a poolside room (but not one with the private pool, that seems a touch gimmicky).
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j_m98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear j_m98,

Thank you very much for taking time to comment on Tripadvisor.

The opinion of our guests is always very important for us.

According to your notice about the food, we would like to inform you that the cuisine of our Hotel is mainly based on Mediterranean and International tastes, in order to be able to meet the needs of most of our guests.
We are very sorry that the dishes that you mention did not meet your needs.
The management and the staff have already been informed about your notices and we promise that we will put our best efforts in order to improve even more and finally meet your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.

Best regards,

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We traveled in kolimpari Cavo Spada late Augaust and we left at the 6th of September.
We went for family vacation my wife, my son 12years old, and me. We had the best time in the resort, the breakfast was very very nice 6stars for the breakfast, the staf was very friendly, and always there to help or advise, the rooms was big for the three of us with plenty off light and very a big bathroom. Very clean and near the best locations in Crete.
It was fantastic to wake up in the morning after a good sleep and jump into the pool....
The resort had everything to make us happy from games to good and plenty wide range food.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are beside the huge pool but there are many rooms with private pools It is better on the basement of the resort.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thanasis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Athanasios L

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for your excellent score on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed all of the facilities of our Resort.

Finally, we want to thank you for the sharing photos. They are amazing.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa in the near future.

Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I went with my girlfriend in late august, 2013. We're really satisfied with our trip and this hotel fullfilled all of our expectations! The food could sometimes be better, but there are always a wide range of different courses on the menu. I recommend you to choose All Inclusive. There is a stone beach so bring shoes for bathing.

Room Tip: Choose a room with poolaccess or with a private pool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Wangiz,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

It is great to hear that you and your girlfriend had a pleasant stay in our Resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.

Best regards,

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have never been South of Germany and now was the time. We originally booked the Grand Bay resort 1,5 km away from Cavo Spada. Was contacted by Our travelagent which told us that Grand Bay was overbooked. Danm... But,.. we have upgrated you to a better hotel just nearby. We thought thats fine and what didd we get?? The 5* Cavo Spada Luxury Resort and Spa. I have never in my life had a more Perfect hotel. We got a groundfloor room just by the big pool. With all inclusive you can almost leave Your wallet at home. A great buffet at all meals, exellent service from the staff, clean an tidy at all times. One week at this resort is not enough. I miss it already. and i got home yesterday. I hope we will go there Next year:)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MortenK1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Mortenk1977,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

Firstly, we would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused to you this reallocation.
However, it is great to hear that you enjoy your stay and all the amenities of our Resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa next year.
Best regards,

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews