We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulus experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fabulus experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent only one week at this fabulus hotel.
The whole area is really nice and the hotel is located on a long pebble beach with crystal clear water.Although it was end of September beginning of October the sea water was warm and the weather fantastic.
We stayed in a superior pool access room really worth the price.
The service was excellent and the staff,mainly young people very friendly and polite.
We went there on Half board basis but we chose to turn it just for the last 4 days to premium all inclusive.
It was a good decision as we tried all restaurants and we enjoyed spa treatments.
The food in all restaurants was fantastic with huge variety .
An excellent buffet with Greek and international deserts is daily at the Arsenali restaurant which is worth trying all of them.
Tennis courts were given to us free of charge and spa tretments afterwards were really nice and at very reasonable prices.
Next year we will be back.

Room Tip: superior pool access room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Ian V,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are really delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities, the food and that your stay was pleasant.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the upcoming season.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    143
    54
    17
    12
See reviews for
172
222
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We visited Cavo in June 2013. Overall our vacation was great. Quick overview: hotel small and very nice, beach - 100% pebbles, rent a car, like we did - Elafonissi and Falasarna beaches r a must, i have to admit the water, sand, everything was excellent! Food at the hotel - very mediocre, nothing special I'm not a picky person so meat balls and french fries are ok (for a couple of days), kids were happy but my girl friend wasn't - poor choice of salads, fruits etc. Rooms very nice and clean. Hotel's very quite, usually at around 11pm i was the only person at the bar!!! Like I mentioned before overall good stay but that's not a 5* hotel if you would compare to some hotels we stayed in Caribbean or Hawaii but that's ok we love Greece and Greek people. We won't be back cause we never stay at the same hotel twice but we recommend the hotel for a nice quite vacation.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThomasVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Thomas VF
Thank very much for taking time to review us. The opinion of our guests is very important to us, as they assist us in our effort to improve and customize our available services to reach the highest guests’ expectations.
As we have already mentioned on previous replies on review comments, our effort is to serve a variety of dishes which are based on Mediterranean and International cuisine, in order to better meet the flavor needs of all of our guests. We are really sad to hear that our buffet did not meet the needs of your girlfriend. However, be rest assures that the management and the staff of our Resort are taking into consideration your comments and will do our best to avoid such incidences in the future.
After all, we are really happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa. We are also thank you for recommending our Resort.
We will be very happy to welcome you again at our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.
Best regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

It was an excellent holiday experience.
we spent 8 days in this beatiful hotel,relaxing and enjoying the nice October sun.
The hotel staff is really service minded,the food always of great variety and good quality while we had the chance to use the hotel's sport facilities.
In general the whole destination is nice and the hotel itself is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mario b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Mario b,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed all of the facilities of our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Resort so that you will have the chance to use our new available sports facilities like cycling and hiking.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

An excellent choice for a nice getaway.
service minded people.great food and large variety.
the rooms are spacious and very clean.
the pool area is huge and really enjoyable.
Good choice for families and couples and for people who love to visit nearby places such as falasarna.

Room Tip: sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katerina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear katerina m,

Thank you so much for your time to review us!

We found your comment very nice and we are really greatful for that!

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again at our hotel!

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was our second visit to Crete, but our first stay at Cavo Spada. We love the island and its people and so we will be back. Next time we shall have no difficulty in choosing an hotel - Cavo Spada wins, hands down!
Big enough to have all the facilities we needed, without losing the personal touch.
The staff were superb. Efficient, attentive and thoughtful. Antonis even organised a cake for our wedding anniversary celebration. Nikos took good care of the drinks.
Good food, comfortable bed, great location, and the place was spotlessly clean. What more could we ask for?

Room Tip: Enough choice to suit every need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DentArthurDent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Dentarthurdent,

Reading your review was fantastic! We are feeling so greatful for all these fantastic words!

Hope to see you again on your next visit!

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just 5 days at this fabulus hotel were more than enough to get energy and strenth.
Thet personnel is very concious and polite while they are always close to serve you.
The food at the main restauranr Arsenali is excellent,well cooked,great variety and many greek dishes every night apart from the international ones.
I really feel we could not ask for more as we had a spacious room,calm,excellent weather and great service.

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katerina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

If you look for a clean, elegant place in rather calm part of Crete - this is it. Hotel made me feel better than home - becauase at home there is always stress of everyday life, and in Cavo Spada I could have rest a lot. Staff is very caring and helpful, always smiling - and it does not seem artifical ;) . Rooms are cleaned everyday , towells changed everyday as well. Food is splendid - I always waited so much for the meals! Equipe really takes care to make the food offered fresh and diverse: I stayed there for two weeks and I cannot recal an evening with dinner of the same menu.I also ate there best mussels and prawns of all eaten in taverns in Crete:) Location is quite good: near Kolymbari (by foot, by bus), port-village where you can eat fresh fish and sea food (Argentina restaurant recommended). Good location to get to beautiful beaches: Falasarna, Elafonissi and to get to Balos (by city bus and then boat). Easy to get to Chania by city bus. Nearby car rental with good prices. I simply ADORED this place! One thing that might be distracting is a beach with small stones - not cosy at all, hard to get to water.But it motivates to move out of this wonderful hotel and search for sandy beaches. And in hotel there is a nice garden with beach beds. Though hotel is quite big you do not feel crowd.
Many hugs to the "Maitre" of the waiters' - so helpful and charming:)

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms: risk of a dog or a cat to enter the room when door is open but feels like with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Karolina333,

Thank you very much for your excellent scoring on Tripadvisor and for sharing these beautiful photos. They are amazing.
According to your coment for the location of our Resort, we would like just to inform here that the hotel is located very close to most of the best beaches in West Crete, as long as it is only 20 minutes from Chania city.
The management and the staff our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa always keep in touch with the needs of our guests, in order to be able to offer a high level of services.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Resort in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
6.2 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
87.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
90.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
43.3 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa

Property: Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
Address: Rapaniana, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is located 18kms west of the picturesque city of Chania. Its location combines in a unique way the beauty and tranquility of the Cretan Archipelagos with the unsurpassed charm of the famous Old Venetian town which is only a short drive away. Positioned on the west side of the Gulf of Chania, the hotel is built on a long stretch of beach, offering magnificent view of the Gulf of Chania and of Cape Spada. The latter is a spectacular rocky cape after which our hotel was named. The hotel is spread over a 65,000 m2 private property, hence offering ample space for all the guests to enjoy their holidays in one of the 150 rooms that the hotel has to offer. Being part of one of the oldest and most respected hotel companies of Chania, the Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is the epitome of our experience in providing holidays of unprecedented quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavo Spada Luxury Hotel Chania Town
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort And Spa
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa Crete/Kolymbari, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing