We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for a quiet holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
1 review
“Good place for a quiet holiday”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our foursome was there in May. We spent a fantastic week. The food was delicious, convenient accommodation. Good value for money. Thanks to Swan and Chiarra for a wonderful time !!!
Maciek "The Magic".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maciowybombowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Maciowybombowy,
Thank you very much for taking time to review us and for all of you kind words.
The feedback of our guests is very important to us in order to upgrade our services to the highest level, and we are very proud to read that you are very satisfied from your stay at our resort.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit at Crete.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    145
    54
    18
    12
See reviews for
172
226
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Is it normal to have to pay for spa access when you've booked yourself into a self-styled "luxury resort and spa"? We checked in today for three nights at a cost of over €200 a night. We tried to access the spa to be told that it's €10 a head and not included in our room rate. This is just to access the spa area, not to have any treatments. I have spoken with reception that this is not normal, indeed it's the first time I've gone to a spa resort and been asked to pay entry to the spa. The person at reception said that "it was not stated on the site that the spa entry is free"!! I replied that they should explicitly state that it's NOT included as any reasonable person would expect access to be included when booking a spa resort - the very reason for which you book that hotel. The person at reception couldn't make a decision but had to talk to the manager and asked us to come back to him this evening at seven pm for an answer. We'll reserve judgment pending his answer.....

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roving_aesthete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Roving_aesthete,
Thank you very much for taking time to review us on tripadvisor. The opinion of our guests is very important to us in order to provide our available services to the highest level.
Firstly, we would like to notice that we never advertised that the spa treatments and facilities are free of charge or that they are included to the room rate. Furthermore, the room rate per night was totally cleared about what it includes on the website which your booking came from.
Finally, we would like to inform that you post this review before your meeting with the general manager of our resort, but you never provide here on tripadvisor the results of this meeting.
Thank you very much for your review.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

we spent 3 nights all inclusive and was very nice.facilities are great,service is very good,food is amazing for all inclusive,swimming area is excellent.room was impressive.personel was very helpful and friendly.highly recommended for relaxing holiday!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank thisischristos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Cavo Spada is a very nice hotel.
Is it a 5-star? No. It's a nice 3-4 star hotel but it doesn't deserve the 5th star. It lacks something.
Let's start from the pool. The outdoor pool is great, but for kids or elders, not for teenagers and adults. 1m10 is ridiculous for someone who wants swim, jump, dive etc. In most of the 5-star hotels i know and i've been to there are 2-3 or even 4 different outdoor pools. some of them even dedicated to a certain activity like for example a pool just for water polo with a depth of 2m so you have to swim and not run with the ball, then a pool of 1m just for kids etc.
another negative, in my opinion is the "Italian" restaurant. The portions are so tiny that even after eating all 3 dishes you're still hungry.
and what about the food in the Taverna? with ultra all inclusive we got an unfrozen salad with cheap toast cheese and cheap ham, nothing tasty. we asked for tzatziki and they gave us a huge plate of it, to eat without even some bread.
another minus was the poor equipment that has been given to the animation team.
The 80s speakers were full of dust and the sound quality was just bad. hopefully they've been some changes made, but in my opinion the animation team should be given high quality equipment if you expect to have a lot people in the evening show or during the day, during water polo, water gym, dance etc. that is very important.
The staff was a big plus, especially the animation team was great, they always tried to invite people to play, sing, dance and generally have fun. they always succeeded in doing that. Bravo.
The waiters, cleaners and the cooks were always polite and they would always ask if you need anything.
Overall, it is a nice hotel but some changes need to be made.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bradfitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were at Cavo Spada in July with our two sons (7 and 5 year olds). We had a nice stay. The hotel premises are nice and the pool area suits a Holiday with kids even if the children's pool is small. Also the buffet food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) were good with wide assortment that changed from one day to next (though fish dishes were not as good as meat).

We were however disappointed by lack of service mindedness by the hotel staff. The reception staff were not very helpful but rather wanted to get rid of you as quickly as possible when asking questions etc. Also, there were too few waiting staff in the restaurants, in particular the a la carte restaurant Azzurro and the Sea Line Taverna (lunch restaurant by the pool), leading to long waiting times and especially the kids getting anxious. The weekly Fish Night (which we had booked several days in advance) was cancelled due to lack of participants, and we were never informed about the cancellation! It seems like the staff was overworked.

The beach is nice but rocky, and the life guarding is very sloppy as the life guard also worked in the pool bar, and did other things.

An annoying thing with our room (family room 311) was a nearby pool table. Pool table and people around it make a lot of noise, and the table was not supposed to be used after 10 PM. We had to call the reception every night (most nights twice) to call off people playing. The staff should have proactively taken off the sticks every night, but of course did not bother doing that.

The spa treatments (to an extent included in our All Inclusive Ultra) are overpriced and not very good quality, and the gym is very small with rosty equipment.

It's a pity that the service level fails to meet expectations at this otherwise very good hotel with nice facilities and great food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pila090909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear pila090909,
Thank you very much for your review and for all of your notices and suggestions.
Firstly, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you from the behavior of some of our staff members.
In reference to your notices about the spa treatments and the served food, they have all been forwarded to the manager and the staff of our resort in order to do all the necessary changes. The opinion of our guests is very important to us, in order to improve our services to the highest level.
It will be pleasant for us if you give us the chance to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was my first trip to Crete, my girlfriend had visited 20 years ago so we chose Cavo Spada as our place of stay. The hotel had a peaceful location, 2km walk from the nearest small village where you could easily experience real Greece sitting by the sea and eating at a seaside tavern.

The beach next to the hotel had really clean water, and there were enough sun chairs both in the patio and also on the beach itself. The cleanliness of the rooms and facilities overall were on good level. Also the food prepared generally was of good quality, especially beef and other meat were cooked well and were not stiff to eat. Swordfish was very tasty, but the tuna (when served) was dry and overcooked.

The staff were very helpful, despite being very busy keeping up with the different food servings. Big thanks to the older manager, who seemed to be always around and was very helpful on fulfilling our requests and made us always feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jussaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Jussaf,
Thank you very much for your review.
We are really proud to read that you and you girlfriend had a pleasant stay at our resort.
Our Chef is already informed about your notices regarding some of our served dishes in order to do all the necessary changes.
The management and the staff of our resort wish you all the best and they are looking forward to welcoming you again at our resort.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have traveled a lot and visited many hotels but this one is on of the best I have ever stayed at.

The room we had was gorgeous. It had a big terrace wich looked out on the sea. There is only one floor so no high rise building. Very quiet area. Since we had arrived very late, we were told there was food up in our room. And there was. The food overall was great. They had everything.

The staff was very friendly, from reception to maids. Always willing to help with any request.

Wonderful pool. Very large so always room to swim. It's 1m10 deep max. And it's also kept very clean. The beach chairs are scattered around the garden. Or you can choose to sit on the beach (free chairs and umbrellas). Just keep in mind that there are a lot of large pebbles near and in the water. You do need shoes!

There is a bus stop 5 min from the hotel. It goes to Chania (with stops along the way). We took it in the evening around 8.30 p.m. It took one hour because of traffic. We also took it in the morning and then it was 40 min. You buy your ticket on the bus. When you return from Chania, you buy it at a ticket box. It's cheap :-) Chania is def a must!

The only negative point I want to mention, is the animation. It's very blabla. It's ok during the day but in the evening it's very childish. You just want to sit and have a drink (in a very nice bar area with comfortable seats) but this is not possible because of silly animation. It looked as if most people were not in favour of it. Not much enthousiasm.

Also, the music coming from the poolbar during the day is something too loud but when you sit on the beach instead of the garden, it's not so bad.

A tip: if you want to sit outside to eat, you need to be on time. The outside area is quite large but the sun keeps on shining until late and everyone wants to sit in the shade. That area is rather small.

Anyway, we had a wonderful time and will certainly be coming back!!!

Room Tip: Book a room with seaview. The swim up rooms are also very nice but only if you want strict privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy4665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Nancy4665,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for your kind words.
We are really happy to read that you had a wonderful stay at our resort. The management and the staff are already informed about your suggestions in order to do all the necessary movements.
We are looking forward to your next arrival.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
6.2 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
87.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
90.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,652 reviews
44.2 mi away
White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort
1.2 mi away
Avra Imperial Hotel
Avra Imperial Hotel
#1 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa

Property: Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
Address: Rapaniana, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is located 18kms west of the picturesque city of Chania. Its location combines in a unique way the beauty and tranquility of the Cretan Archipelagos with the unsurpassed charm of the famous Old Venetian town which is only a short drive away. Positioned on the west side of the Gulf of Chania, the hotel is built on a long stretch of beach, offering magnificent view of the Gulf of Chania and of Cape Spada. The latter is a spectacular rocky cape after which our hotel was named. The hotel is spread over a 65,000 m2 private property, hence offering ample space for all the guests to enjoy their holidays in one of the 150 rooms that the hotel has to offer. Being part of one of the oldest and most respected hotel companies of Chania, the Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is the epitome of our experience in providing holidays of unprecedented quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavo Spada Luxury Hotel Chania Town
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort And Spa
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa Crete/Kolymbari, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing