We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb accomondation with a stunning view”
other travellers have booked this property
A warm Cretan welcome to my renovated Venetian Olive Mill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm Cretan welcome to my renovated Venetian Olive Mill
Outside dining and BBQ with panoramic sea views View from the Upper Balcony over the olive groves and the sea beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
A warm Cretan welcome to my renovated Venetian Olive Mill
Outside dining and BBQ with panoramic sea views
View from the Upper Balcony over the olive groves and the sea beyond
Swimming Pool surrounded by olive groves
Swimming Pool terrace, with fabulous sea views
Sun setting over the Pool
Garden leading down to the Swimming Pool
Reception/Living area leading down to the Kitchen and Dining area
Kitchen
Kitchen and Breakfast bar
Dining area
Dining area and Kitchen
The original Venetian Olive Mill stones (sorry, no donkey!)
Restored Venetian Olive Press in the Living area, with TV, Satellite and DVD player
Work desk with wireless internet connection
Double En-suite Bedroom on the Mezzanine floor with private balcony and sea views
Twin En-suite Bedroom on the Mezzanine floor
Triple En-suite Bedroom on Ground Floor
Triple En-suite Bedroom on the Ground Floor
The Mill surroundings; ideal for that early morning jog!
View of the snow capped White Mountains from the Mill (looking South)
Discover: 'The Olive Tree of Vouves' - one of the worlds oldest olive trees
Discover:  Falassarna's stunning beaches, turquoise blue sea and Roman harbour
Discover:  The Venetian harbour town of Chania
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kolymbari, Platanias, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Magnus C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb accomondation with a stunning view”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Evrything worked out perfect, all the way from being picked meet up in the middle of the night to the care and hospitality during the stay. Since we were travelling with children our aimed for a quiet spot were we could calm down after busy days at the beaches, and the mill did offer that in perfect way for us. Spaciuos, the pool, the view, the caretakers and the very welcomming answers from the owners makes me wanna return asap.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaOmm
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored villa with an incredible view”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had a FANTASTIC week at the old olive mill. It's beautiful, spacious, and has the historic mill itself at the centre of the living area. Situated high on the hills, it is surrounded by olive groves and very little else - wonderfully secluded. The villa, vine draped terrace, garden and pool face onto the most breathtaking view across valleys of olive groves down to the sea. It's a view you could never get bored of.
Lisa, the villa manager, was brilliantly helpful and ensured we had everything we need. Arriving to a kitchen stocked with the basics (and fresh bits and bobs for our first lunch) was a real treat.
We had a wonderfully relaxing week swimming, sunbathing, exploring the local area cooking up a storm in the well-equipped kitchen. I can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eating on the vine draped verandah
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emiliobo7
brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Just got home from an incredible week at the Olive Mill.
The view of the mountains and sea over the olive groves was breathtaking and I miss it already! We especially loved the secluded location, the only house nearby was a local family so we felt like we had a truly Cretian experience.
We stayed with our 6 month old baby and were provided with a high chair and a travel cot which was fantastic.
The building is amazing and I was blown away with how nicely it had been restored and we loved the original olive mill features that had been kept as a centrepiece.
I would recommend this villa to anyone and will DEFINITELY be going back :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views!
Liked least: nothing! it was fabulous!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique accommodation in a fabulous setting.”
Reviewed 25 July 2012 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Had an excellent holiday at the Old Olive Mill with a group of friends - an amazing property having great character in a fabulous location with fantastic views towards the sea and mountains.

The house is in a very secluded and peaceful setting yet with easy access to the main West - East Hania road + routes into the mountains and beaches. The facilities and pool were very good as were the lovely gardens and we had some memorable meals on the patio beneath the grape vines.

There are plenty of local walks as well as more adventurous pursuits - caving, canyoning and climbing all within an hour's drive (in addition to the more usual holiday activities).

A wonderful stay in some amazing historic accommodation which has been renovated to a very high standard - many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful character of the property + peaceful location.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penny_str...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A magical time at the Olive Mill”
Reviewed 19 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We had the most magical time at the Olive Mill. The villa was spacious, well equipped and beautifully decorated. We all had a wonderful time in the pool and relaxing on the veranda under the grape vines. The view was amazing, real food for the soul. The support and welcome we received at the Mill was second to none, the fridge was stocked with cold beer, juice and fruit and we didn’t have to think of the basics such as coffee, tea and sugar as it was all there. We had an incident whilst at the beach which required medical attention, Lisa who looked after the villa was quick to help and gave us excellent instruction on where to go. I hadn’t been to Crete previously but have fallen in love with the rugged scenery and beautiful beaches and clear sea. I’m already saving to return again and hope to make it back to the Olive Mill if I can muster up another family to join us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and relaxing on the veranda under the grape vines
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dh-sarquo...
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent holiday away from the crowds in Crete”
Reviewed 19 July 2012 for a stay in April 2012

The Cretan Olive Mill is set amongst the Olive groves west of Chania. It is a wonderful out of the way location - away from the more crowded beach resorts and yet within a short drive of the sea. You will need to have a car to stay here though - there is no public transport and even the local shops are a few minutes drive away. This wasn’t a problem for us, as the location is ideal as a get away, but don’t be surprised by it. Having said that, the place is well equipped so days can easily be spent in the Mill itself – especially by the pool side.

The Mill itself is very well presented and equipped, and the people employed to look after it were always helpful and polite. The pool was serviced once a week and the Mill itself serviced three times. The area is outstanding, and waking up in the morning and walking on to the balcony of your bedroom to see the mountain and olive grove view down to the sea is stunning. Add to this call and sight of eagles wheeling in the sky and the place is simply magical.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting in the mountains away from the main resorts
Liked least: You do need to drive for everything you need, including the local shops
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2012 for a stay in October 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The spacious feel to the property
Liked least: Having to drive to the nearest tavernas
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing