We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing little get-a-way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avra Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing little get-a-way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband, son and I went the last week of August which was the perfect time because it is the week before school starts so resort was less than busy.
Hotel: kept very clean and found drinks at reasonable price for a resort. Beds are out of this world comfortable! Love the concept of a salt water pool and regular pool.
Spa: actual spa service was great and relaxing, but spa bathroom was dirty. Only one shower worked and was never cleaned during my entire spa day and you had to bring your own towel to dry off with
Hotel personnel: Nothing good to say: all had very bad attitudes and were extremely slow. Not sure if it was because it was the end of summer or if they just need a lesson in good manners.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed our facilities and your complimenting comments on our rooms, pool and areas!

Avra Team is experienced and different departments are trained throughout the season. In any case, we are always glad to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our customer service and standards. We place great value on your opinion and we hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Greece.

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    281
    77
    27
    11
See reviews for
459
367
19
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We bought this trip only a week before we went and didn´t expect much more than that it was a 5 star hotel in a quiet location ;)

Service was a bit slow when it came to bringing our suitcases to our room (we waited a long time for it, but gave up and decided to find the room ourself). We found it and it was huge, clean and beautiful decorated. The view was everything we dreamt of and yes we could see both the pool, mountain and the ocean. There was even some fruit and wine to welcome us :)
We ordered a one week stay with breakfast included.

Breakfast was fantastic ! The largest selection i have ever seen in a hotel and we´ve travelled a lot. I hope they will never change this, the hotel is number one on this :)

Lunch we had sometimes at the Italian restaurant and sometimes at the pool bar which was both great :)

Dinner at the hotel we tried once and it was a buffe style, we loved it. They didn´t have a merlot wine on the menu, but that was no problem and they manage to find one for us and it was great, the food, service and the wine :)

Swimming pool was great and clean, and it seems like the pool guys worked hard to keep them like that :) I loved the salt pool ;)

Short walk to the beach from the hotel and with good rubber shoe we didn´t have to worry about the rocky beach, which was a wonderful place to be too :) Lovely warm ocean with cute little fishes :)

Service at all parts of the hotel was great, even the cleaning ladies which knew little of the English language, tried their best to help us at all time, i´m impressed :)

Would definitely come back :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Birgitte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!

We were glad to learn that you were satisfied with your recent stay with us and you find our hotel a great place to stay. It’s also nice to know that you loved the breakfast in our Basilico Restaurant and have enjoyed the food and service in our premises.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Chania very very soon!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Huge hotel. Marble everywhere! No real charm but very clean and well maintained. As others have said, definitely not a place for couples as most of the guests have MANY children. Breakfast buffet was really good. Dinner buffet unbearable, crowded, noisy, under-staffed, the furthest you could get from a relaxing experience! We opted for the lunch buffet instead which was good and walked down the road for dinner, plenty of tavernas to choose from. If you have kids, go here, the animation team were great, not the usual corny, annoying "red coats" you get elsewhere. We also had a problem with our AC and had to change rooms. Staff at reception were particularly unpleasant (except for one girl, Antonia) not what you expect from a so-called 5 star resort!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Finnegan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services, staff and facilities were pleasant to you.
Our brand new hotel, operating for the first time in 2011, is well placed in the quite village of Kolimbari, offering luxury in a great location. The hotel, while being children friendly, is convenient also for couples!
We sincerely appreciate your recommendation in order to improve our services and facilities since your feedback is what matters the most to us!
Looking forward to welcoming you back in Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa in the near future!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is a great family hotel. The children of all ages are very well taken care of: there are lots of activities all day and also the cute Lollo & Bernie make their appearance many times during the day (and the small children are ecstatic). The premises are new and nicely maintained and the pools large. There is a separate kids pool by the Kids Playhouse, it is 50 cm deep, and in addition there are few areas separated from the big pools to children. Majority of quests are families with children and if you do not want to be around children at all – those little noisy monsters that we all used to be – it is recommendable to make reservations in an all-couples-hotel somewhere else.

The beach is round rocks and swimming shoes are ideal (you can also buy swimming shoes in the Summer Market just right from the hotel’s main entrance). The beach is probably not the best beach for small children, so I would highly recommend taking a rental car some day and heading to Elafonisi or some other sandy and shallow beach. You can still go for a quick swim in the hotel beach with small children, but long times in there are not really possible if your children are into hanging around in the water (the waves are large and the beach deepens very quickly).

The rooms are nice and very spacious. We had the basic standard room but it had plenty of room even with two extra beds. The beds are comfortable, slept like a baby! The AC is very quiet (but be aware that it is very efficient and will give you a flu if you use it too much). Cleaning was also good and as we left tips every day, the cleaning lady made nice swans out of the towels. The only negative about the room was the plumbing problem mentioned here before: the plumbing is obviously too tight to filter in all the water coming out of the shower. It was not a huge problem but however a little strange problem it was: I have never run into a problem like this in a hotel of this standard. Obviously some kind of a constructional mistake that they cannot easily fix anymore.

There is a good supermarket (Inka) right next to the hotel (the hotel also has a market but it is not as good). There you can find an excellent choice of baby diapers (definitely no need to take baby diapers from home) and also some baby food (though the selection is not very wide).

If you have a baby stroller, note that the hotel does have some stairs here and there, so you might want to wish for a room which takes into account that you have a stroller. And also note that Hania with a baby stroller is not an extremely good idea… It is way too crowded and the sidewalks are basically non-existent.

The food in the hotel buffet is magnificent. Always a wide selection and lots of variations. Probably the best hotel buffet I have ever been to.

About location of the hotel: consider what you want from your vacation. During the day, do you mostly want to stay by the pool/beach and/or rent a car and explore the island? During the evening, do you mostly want to eat well and listen to the grasshoppers and the sound of the waves in the sea? If you answer both of these YES, then this is your hotel. If you need cheap clothing stores or markets selling tourist stuff – go to Platanias. If you need red lights and disco/karaoke music – go to Platanias. These you will not find in Kolymbari. But make no mistake, Kolymbari is at AN EXCELLENT LOCATION to explore the island by rental car (which I truly recommend) and for example Hania is very easily accessible also by local bus. Further, make no mistake, Kolymbari is not an empty village, there are supermarkets and excellent restaurants by the gorgeous boulevard by the harbor. You will not feel deserted in Kolymbari. To the contrary, it felt like it truly had some authentic Cretan spirit (and I cannot say the same for Platanias, Gerani, Agia Marina and other tourist villages closer to Hania).

While we were very happy with our vacation in Avra, there were some small details that make this “only” a 4 star hotel in my opinion. The plumbing problem I mentioned already. Also, the the wifi does not work properly in the rooms. The service is, however, the biggest thing separating Avra and a true 5 star hotel. The service attitude of some employees is really not there but I am not totally sure if this is a problem only in Avra as it seemed more to be a problem everywhere in Crete… The service is rude almost everywhere you go!

However, as many here have noted, the Animation team as well as the whole team working in the Kids Playhouse are great and they sure know how to do their job. Every single one of them was extremely polite, happy and service-minded. Also, as far as the Basilico restaurant in Avra (=the main buffet restaurant) goes, I do have to point out that it seemed that the ones who did not do their jobs were specifically the women waiters. It seemed that they were sleeping with their eyes wide open. Many times we asked coffee over and over again but nothing happened until we asked one of the young men. Therefore my tip is, always go have a seat somewhere where there is a young man serving! They were the only ones really making an effort (Alekos for example was a nice guy and good at his job). Also, please DO TIP if you feel like you have been served well. Few euros will not kill you but it will keep up the spirit that should prevail: you get rewards by doing your job with devotion.

Room Tip: Pool view third floor is very nice, close to everything and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comments are very welcome and shared with our Team who are happy to see their work is seen and appreciated.
We are also thankful for all notes, which are taken into account so as to further improve our services in all fields.
We look forward to welcoming you to Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa in the near future!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights at Avra. It is a very large resort style hotel. The vast majority of their patrons are families with young children. We happened to be there in August, their peak season and unfortunately it was too busy and noisy with lots of screaming children. It was not relaxing, and no where intimate to have a quiet drink together and for a new hotel it had many problems with poor in-room Wifi and the plumbing was not efficient as shower base and sink constantly blocked up. The breakfast was good with lots to choose from but again it was crowed and the noise unpleasant. The area outside has many nice restaurants to choose from nearby. I'd recommend Avra Imperial Resort to families only as it is definitely not a quiet romantic couples retreat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We do appreciate your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed our facilities and pool!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, we remain at your disposal!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel was fantastic, we had a suite with private pool and it was really worth paying those extra money. The pool area was also amazing and very spacy. The food was good and the service was great. Everything was perfekt exect the location. Nothing to see or do in Kolymbari

Room Tip: Suite with private pool I can really recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sesam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We do appreciate your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed our facilities and pool!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, we remain at your disposal!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel was beautiful with the main swimming pool all in glass.
the service is excellent like the food.
The room with private pool was just excellent :-) (but a little cold at night)
The location was perfect if you want to get in Chania (20min), platanias (13min), falasarna beach (30min) and the best Elafonissi (1h30) but you have to go and see
I

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jude A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We do appreciate your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed our facilities and pool!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, we remain at your disposal!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
44.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
91.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
6.7 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
21.6 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
30.5 mi away
Pilot Beach Resort
Pilot Beach Resort
#1 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Imperial Hotel

Property: Avra Imperial Hotel
Address: Kolymbari, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Avra Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avra Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Imperial Beach Hotel Chania Town
Avra Imperial Beach Resort And Spa
Avra Imperial Hotel Crete/Kolymbari, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing