We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We went to Avra on a 1-week kind of 'honeymoon' in August 2014 and were very pleased. The hotel is the biggest resort in Kolymbari, which we liked a lot as it is a quite place by the sea, still preserving a bit of genuine Cretan village life.

The hotel is worth its prices. It is big, yet extremely well-organised.The rooms are very spacious and clean, and were kept as such throughout our stay. We were of half-board and we appreciated a lot the possibility of switching dinner for lunch. The food was amazing: diverse, plenty and the dining rooms were never busy. We liked the fact that there were Cretan traditional dishes (greatly recommend).

The spa was spacious, clean and never busy. There are a lot of pools within the hotel; it was almost hard to get away from them and go to the beach. The beach is across the street, never crowded either and sunbeds and towels provided by the hotel.

It is indeed a great place to come with your kids and there were many children, yet not noisy or bothering you in any way. Entertainment during the evening at the bar was elegant, not disturbing the others.

Thank you, Avra Imperial. If Greece had not offered so many nice places to visit that you need more than 1 life, we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
Your kind words and positive comments on our staff and facilities are much appreciated! We are glad that you find our hotel to be a great place to stay for leisure and the USPA a relaxing haven.

Our hotel features 118 Rooms with private or shared pool, 3 main pools, 2 children's pools and one indoor pool. Apart from that the beach is indeed an oasis of calmness, for all guests that look for it!

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back should you visit Crete again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    280
    76
    26
    11
See reviews for
456
365
19
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

If I wanted to say to some body where to go I would say trust me go for your next vacation! I was in Avra for 2 weeks with my family in a suite which was amazing. I have been in many 5***** hotel this was the best.
Food fantastic, hospitality from all the staff but I have to say for those that have kids is something that they will love.
PINK WAVE was keeping all of us with great energy.Steven- Roberto -Elena- Ani and all the rest with the fitness gymnastic , theater comedy mostly, min disco for the kids
I did everything in this hotel. Spa tennis theater kids club table tennis, darts, water polo etc.
enjoy
Dr. Lefteris 8/2014

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lefteris742002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Dr. Papanikolaou,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
It is wonderful to read your spendid experience, which is even more important, coming from a guest that has travelled a lot.
We are doing our best to keep the quality of our services excellent and we certainly hope we will welcome you soon, again, in our premises.

Yours sincerely,

Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We booked through Spies in Denmark and arrived late saturday and the immediate impression when arriving at the hotel was wow. The hotel is massive covering a very large area and yet is harmonious with many impressive details. Our 5 star treatment started immediately with a porter taking our bagage to our room and a complimentary  bottle of wine and fruit. In the morning we were greeted by the beautiful Alexandria at the restaurant, with a smile that made us feel very welcome, and she was the same every day when showing us to our table always full of laughter and making us feel very special. This was very much the case with the rest of the restaurant staff managed observantly by Yannis Andreadakis, the service excellant, and very professional, our only critism was that sometimes it was a little slow to order drinks. We had full board for 5 days and we enjoyed every meal that served the best of creation and greek cuisine from a buffet. The buffet is constantly monitored and no dishes were allowed to stand to long, the choice was enormous and everything looked very attractive.

Our room was very comfortable and the standard of the daily cleaning was excellant. We very much enjoyed the bathroom products. that were available and that could also be purchased at one of the hotel shops.

The pool area was really wonderfull the main pool being approx 80 m long and there was room for everyone swimmers and kids and rafts the lot, the pool is very clean, slightly cold when getting in but after a couple of minutes perfect. There are loads of sun beds and enough for every one if only people would stop trying to reserve them by leaving towls even when they have left the pool area.  There is a large pool bar that serves drinks and snacks, prices are not cheap 4 eur for a coffee, in general the prices in this area are alot higher than for 5 years ago, this is probably due to the greek economic situation.

There are alot of activities for all those that need them, the kids club and animators seemed very popular. 

The hotel has its own beach with loungers and parasols but it is a pebble beach and the water get very deep quickly, a must to buy are the swimming shoes that can be purchased in the local shops then the pebbles are no longer a problem. There is a lifeguard on duty most of the day and there are safety flags displayed, we had 2 red flag days due to large waves and rip current, but otherwise the beach was great and the sea lovely with alot of fish. The beach and loungers are maintained. by the hotel and clean. 

The local village of Kolombari is quiet, not pictoresque but there is a small sea front with good local restaurents all serving traditional greek food and they are keen for your custom. 

The evenings at the hotel are quiet the enternainment is away from the main hotel where there is piano and violin musik in the evening which is very pleasant.

I think the hotel is probably at its best outside of the high season, where they high level of service may suffer. We have though  had a wonderful week here in August where the hotel was full, it has been one of our best holidays ever. They have certainly earned their 5 star rating by any standard in our experience we hope we can come again 

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, considering many if not most travelers rely on these reviews to make their final accommodation decision.

We are especially glad that you were satisfied with your stay, our premises, the service in different departments and our staff.

Make sure you visit Crete in the off-season, as well, as nature offers beautiful images and Chania are very calm; perfect for relaxing vacation!

We would be delighted to welcome you back on future visits to Chania!

Yours sincerely,

Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Our family stayed in August 2014 and we think this is a hotel worth every star of the five!
Beautiful built hotel relaxes and captivates you just by entering the lobby.
Great rooms , great facilities , great staff , great food.
We recommend this hotel 100%. No more words, thanks to everybody!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Βασίλειος Π
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
We are more than happy to receive your kind feedback which we have shared with the Team. Thank you for your recommendation to other travellers and for your intention to visit our hotel, again, when you visit Crete.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Chania!

Yours sincerely,

Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and two kids (3Yo and 10 month old) spent 10 days at Avra Imperial and had an exceptional holiday! We have travelled alot with our kids and can say that this was one of the easiest and most relaxed and fun times we've had.
The hotel amenities are perfect for an easy-going family break. The pools great for all ages - even single couples had specific places for some quiet relaxation without other people's screaming kids!
We had a room with the private pool, (no: 14120) was perfect for some adult time in the afternoons while the kids slept in a cool airconned room! As well as being close to the beach, the kids club and the pools… perfect position!
The food was excellent - both the variety and the quality and perfect for fussy eaters like our toddler too. The kids club pool was perfect as well as the kid staff, they were fun and friendly and our toddler especially loved the "mini-disco" each night.
The beach was lovely and again perfect for a busy toddler - we didn't explore the island or really go much further than the few souvenir shops and coffee cafe's right outside the Avra front door, but this was fine for us as there was plenty to do and with busy kids it's the perfect break.
We only have two suggestions: The Gym – there isn't enough equipment, only a few light hand weights and some treadmills - the equipment there is a little tired looking and the mats could be replaced with new ones.
Also, it would be nice to work out some kind of fresh water drinking fountain system where you could refill bottles… the amount of plastic bottled we consumed in 10 days was environmentally heartbreaking – just a suggestion for the hotel perhaps!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private pool, gives you some quiet time when you want to get away from other ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tallestgirlinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
What a wonderful comment to read from your whole family! Thank you for this and for your positive energy and recommendation to other travellers.

Your suggestions on the gym and your recommendation on making our already green concept, even more eco-friendly are very welcome and will be taken into consideration during winter, for improvements of next year.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed here in July 2014, it was a family vacation and Avra made it absolutely great. The rooms are clean, spacious and very well appointed. We had a nice balcony with a partial view of the sea and we witnessed the sun rise a couple of mornings.

The resort itself is stunning, especially the transparent pool and all the lush vegetation that surrounds it. The beach has pebbles so bring special shoes if you want to swim in the sea. The only drawback at the pool was that the water was pretty cold...although it was sizzling hot outside. We preferred to swim in the afternoons since the sun had time to warm the water.

Food is very varied and extremely tasty. I loved the Cretan corner where they had traditional dishes.

There are a few small shops nearby and there is a small shop in the hotel as well with basic products like mineral water, sunscreen, toothpaste and such and products are not overpriced. The bus station is pretty close and tickets are bought from the shop in the station. You can easily visit Chania and other places.

There are some tavernas close by, in Kolymbari's little port and they have a charming view of the sea and great food if you feel the need for a change.

The wifi is not so great, it works better by the pool than in the room actually.

The entertainment team was pretty cool, they had all sorts of activities for kids (plays) and for adults (aqua gym).

There were a lot of couples with kids, but I didn't feel like they were a nuisance, like others suggested, they were playing and doing their thing. I think it's a nice place for a vacation with a small child.

All in all we liked it a lot and we would return anytime.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mihaelalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the Cretan corner and in general food in our premises. Cretan nature offers great options and flavors and we try to include as many as we can in our main buffet restaurant during all meals, changing everyday.

We hope we will be welcoming you again soon in our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We spent a week in Avra imperial in August 2014. It's the best resort for families in Crete. So many things to do over there - the pools, the beach, the restaurants, gym, kids mini disco. The food is great, the staff is very welcoming and helpful.
We took the deluxe room with the sharing semi-private pool and it was great. It's fun to swim in the pool in the evenings.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dror K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
Your kind words and positive comments from you nad your family on our food quality, premises and staff are much appreciated!

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back should you visit Crete again in a not too distant future!

Your sincerely,
Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
91.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
44.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
45.4 mi away
White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
21.6 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Kolymbari, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Imperial Beach Hotel Chania Town
Avra Imperial Beach Resort And Spa
Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa Crete/Kolymbari, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing