We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely apartment, but let down by noise”
Review of Alonia Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alonia Apartments
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely apartment, but let down by noise”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We've just returned from a week at the Alonia apartments, staying in a 4 bed apartment overlooking the pool, and wanted to pass on some feedback:

The good points:
The apartment was very spacious and spotlessly clean & was cleaned regularly including fresh bedding & towels.
The owner & bar lady were friendly, but we didn't really see all that much of them.
The pool & bar area were clean & well maintained.

The so-so points
The location is not great unless you have a car. The nearest taverna, (Esperides - the best in our experience), is a short walk along a very uneven & rather scruffy pavement.
There kitchen is very small & basic, but this tends to be the norm for Greece. A few more glasses/utensils would have been more useful than the portable tv in the bedroom.
The beds were very hard, but this is a personal preference.

The bad points:
The NOISE! The music from the bar started up at about 8am & stayed on until at least 11:30pm every day, getting much louder in the evening. A couple of nights there were what sounded like family parties going on, which lasted until well after 1am. These included teenagers in the pool & playing ball games, also until 1am! We were amazed that the owner could be so inconsiderate as no effort was made to keep the noise down for paying guests.
The a/c is an extra charge, which is unfortunate if you can't have your windows open due to the NOISE!

In summary:
The Alonia apartments were really nice & well maintained, and I wouldn't have any hesitation in recommending them wholeheartedly if it wasn't for the noise from the bar. I'm sure that the apartments at the front wouldn't hear anything at all, but the ones at the back definitely would, so if you like going to sleep before 1am every night, avoid the "inland view".

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
55
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Alonia apartments are excellent. Mike and Irena are great hosts, very friendly but not over friendly. When we we went to the pool on the 1st day we got here, I got a drink for us both and was told to pay later, within 5 mins a delicious plate of freshly prepared nibbles and salad was bought over to our sunbeds, this happened most days. Made us feel like we were guests in their home. It is so relaxing here.
The rooms are very spacious and clean with clean towels everyday if needed. We were in room 25, 1st floor facing the pool. I think facing the pool is better because the rooms that face the sea are near the busy road.
The BBQ is excellent, plenty of food and drink all evening, well worth the €19 each. In fact we ate here most evenings, a bit of a limited menu, but the food is great and relatively cheap, Mike and Irena do the cooking, so you really feel like their guests. No dessert menu, because you don't need one, fresh fruit and Raki on the house!
The only complaint, if it is that, are the local dogs, a few nights we were disturbed by their loud barking that went on for quite a while, not the fault of the hotel just the way it is here.
We hired a car from across the road, he gave us a good deal when we mentioned where we were staying. He was very informative of where to drive on the island and everything he said was spot on. Go up the mountains to Therizo and down through the gorge! The views are amazing. The roads are twisty but great fun.
We will definitely stay here again, and probably again and again haha. Thank you very much Mike and Irena

Room Tip: Room 25 is good, 1st floor, pool facing, away from road, balcony in sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterboyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I went second year in the row to Alonia Appartaments and it was better than I expected. I have asked Mike, the host, where is the best place to hire a car and which beaches are the best to go to. within a minutes I knew how much I need for a car and I had a map from mike in my hands with locations shown. 2days later I finally have decided to take a car so during the breakfast I asked Mike where I need to go exactly to get car for the price he told me... he said wait wait and went... car came to alonia appts :) with a driver of course and everything was dealt with there and then. no fuss no stress, child seat included.
if you decide to visit Alonia, and mike of course, please be prepared for a lot of raki :D
I love that place and I will be back next year :D 2 rooms booked already

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

To start with these apartments and all its amenities were spotlessly clean. Mike and his staff just couldnt do enough for you and were always nice and polite. When you sat and had a drink at the bar he and his staff keep fetching snacks salads fish and chips bits of lamb and bread out to you
Apartments are in a quiet location but a couple of bars and supermarkets just over road with Kolymbari town 15-20 mins walk away

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Alonia apartments where very clean and well looked after,Mike and irena are very good hosts and are very generous people .not only at the apartments but every where we went,We had the BBQ on the sat nite it was 19 euros each it sounds alot but it was well worth it we were overwhelmed with food and drink!!! red wine /white wine/ and raki ,would love to go again but i think i would try and get a different room ours was number 16 on the ground floor ,ok but i felt like i was in a fish bowl we had to have the curtains shut most of the time, also the pool bar was about 5 yards from the room window, also a speaker playing music from 8.30 in the morning till whenever everyone went to bed this was sometimes 2 in the morning was just underneath the window as well ,the pool ,and area around was kept very clean and tidy, overall a good holiday and for what we paid we really cannot complain .Take a walk into Kolymbari you wont be disappointed ,there are some lovely restaurants and bars .

Room Tip: try and avoid room 16 but if your a nite owl you will be ok !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I took my 6 years old daughter for first proper holiday end of may 2013. booked through travel agent as it was first time. we are coming back end of may 2014. mike is great host and I can't wait for another breakfast!! car hire is advised but not essential... if you can walk to the bus stop lol
Alonia apartments - my holiday destination for next few years <3

Room Tip: sea view rooms are good but if you want to sun bath on the balcony, pool view is recommended. midday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We travelled to Crete at the beginning of September, The Alonia Apartments were just as we'd hoped. The rooms were really big, clean and bright. The self catering equipment was limited but this didnt bother us as we normally eat out any way. Although the complex was relatively fully occupied we found most afternoons we had the pool to ourselves which was heavenly. The owner Mickey was lovely, welcoming and friendly but not in your face. It was a good walk into town (but that kept us fit!) however there are bars and a couple of tavernas nearer to the complex. Kolombari was quiet but there are enough tavernas to go at. All in all it was one of the most relaxing holidays we have had, I would thoroughly recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
0.5 mi away
Chryssana Beach Hotel
Chryssana Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Rose
Golden Rose
#3 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chrispy World
Chrispy World
#5 of 13 in Kolymbari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Karmi Studios & Apartments
Karmi Studios & Apartments
#10 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
6.5 mi away
Esthisis Suites
Esthisis Suites
#8 of 69 in Platanias
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
6.3 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#7 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alonia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alonia Apartments

Property: Alonia Apartments
Address: Skoutelonas | Chania Kolympari, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alonia apartments allocates swimming-pool and reception while the personnel speaks fluently the English and Italian language. Twelve from the apartments they have view the sea while four from them they have view in the swimming-pool. Alonia apartments is a familial enterprise and your accommodation there, you will make to feel as at home. In small distance from the apartments they are Bars, Cafe, restaurants and Supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alonia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alonia Apartments Kolymbari
Alonia Apartments Hotel Kolymbari
Alonia Apartments Crete/Kolymbari, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing