We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place to Unwind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chryssana Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chryssana Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at the Chryssana, during the first week of September 2013, for our honeymoon. It was the perfect antidote for the previous weeks of stress! The hotel is well looked after: the rooms are of a reasonable size (we had a standard double) with air-con, TV, fridge and telephone; the balcony has a sea-view and also overlooks the beautiful gardens; all the public places are clean and inviting with free sun loungers around the good-sized pool. Perhaps the only (small) complaint about the rooms is the lack of storage: there is a wardrobe, but then only two small bed-side drawers, and a small dressing-table drawer so we ended up keeping most of our 'smalls' in the suitcase. The mattresses are definitely firm, but this seems to be the norm for Crete anyway.
The dining area overlooks the garden, with the sea beyond. We stayed on a B&B basis. The breakfast is a self-service buffet with a wide variety of choice ranging from toast and cereal to bacon, sausage and egg. The food is tasty and you can choose as much or as little as you want. We are both over 50, and somewhat set in our ways so we ended up taking a couple of teabags with us (which we had brought from the UK) down to breakfast as the choice of tea and coffee was not to our taste (although to be fair, there was a choice of several different types of tea). We noticed that the hotel also offers evening meals - three courses plus wine or beer for 33 Euros per couple, which is extremely reasonable. I cannot comment on the food, as we ate out (at greater expense) every night.
Now a word of caution for families or people looking for a lively holiday. Kolymbari is a small, quiet fishing village. We visited in September so there were no older children around, making it very quiet indeed. However, even in the height of summer I cannot imagine the place being described as 'lively'. There are a handful of very good tavernas surrounding the working harbour, and a couple of souvenir shops, other than that the village is more geared to its residents than its visitors. In the centre of the village there is a large-ish supermarket, bank, post office, 2 schools and a few other shops and kafenions.
Like-wise, the Chryssana is a quiet and peaceful place. It has a spa centre where a variety of massages and treatments can be booked. It is in a garden setting, with various seating areas making it an ideal place to sit and read should you get tired of the sun loungers! The only noise is that of the sea, the watering systems in the surrounding fields, and occasionally for us was a noisy visitor to the neighbouring property. The hotel is located a good ten minutes walk from the village along the beach road, which has the pebbly beach on one side, and agricultural fields on the other. It is not particularly well lit so a torch would be useful on a night time. The beach is beautiful, but not particularly suitable for families because of the pebbles. Also there are no water sports or pedalos! However there are turtles who nest along the beach, and small shelters should you wish to change for swimming.
At the top of the road which runs alongside the hotel is a mini-market which seems to sell everything. There is an excellent bus service to Chania from here which takes about 30 minutes, so if you do get tired of the slow pace, you can easily and cheaply get into Chania with its city facilities and entertainment.
We travelled with Olympic Holidays which offered several excursions. One not to be missed is the Jeep Safari which visits orchards and mountains and small villages off the beaten track. Our guide was Michaelis, who was entertaining and well informed. We laughed for most of the 6 hours in his company! It is also worth noting that the people we met were all very friendly and helpful, whether they were staff at the hotel, staff in the tavernas, or even people in the street.
So in short, the Chryssana is ideal for a quiet, slow-paced holiday, with the option of bus trips into Chania. It would be a good base for exploring the west of the island, for those hiring a car. It was our first time in this part of Crete, and we were so enamoured that we have already booked for next September and this time for TWO weeks.

Room Tip: We chose a first floor room because of privacy and better sea views, however even the ground floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AndreaL-W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    128
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
42
170
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

SECOND visit, once again GORGEOUS, comfortable, friendly, fantastic just loved it.

Me, my family realized and feel that this hotel is excellent in so many ways,
The staff always went beyond to meet our needs.
The atmosphere was spectacular and perfect and this we feel due to the hard work and passion that was created by the Owners of the hotel and by all the stuff.

The minute we arrive, the staff welcomed us warmly and friendly .
Rooms are spotless clean, with outstanding scenery, great decorations. As to the pool, the area was great and very nice.

The hotel is situated on a quite peaceful area, the food and arrangements are very good, especially the buffet style breakfast of high standard, serving all types of cereals, cold meat and various selections of bread and cheese.

The Owners daily recommend us areas of the island to visit, and always right.

I highly recommend this hotel and wanted to say this is an amazing hotel from start to finish.
We felt during our stay as if at home among families.

It was an unforgettable pleasant holidays we have ever spent.

Well done, and we will definitely be returning with great pleasure

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ahmad a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

It was a very nice holiday with family over the hotel,Great staff,Clean rooms ,Great location its 25min from the downtown where all the shops is.Amazing swimming pool my daughter had a blast.
Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghalia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing time. Great service and very nice staff. Beautiful beach and landscape. The hotel is only 20 minutes away from the city of chania. Great place for shopping.
The food and weather was amazing we were there in mid August.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We rarely return to a hotel as there are so many places in the world to see. However we made a second visit to chryssana this year, this time with our three sons for a quick week together in the summer, after our main summer vacation.
The chryssana has a few new staff who are as brilliant with customer service as last years staff. They also have a new manager who always was approachable and very keen to see the hotel was giving a first class experience.
The reception headed by Aggelliki who was fantastic on helping with the local area and always service minded.

The rooms are immaculately cleaned as are the communal areas. The showers are a bit "greekish", but once mastered are manageable. The pool area as commented on is fantastic and very well maintained and there was always plenty of room and spare beds etc.

The breakfasts are great and well prepared by a very pleasant Greek lady, always well set out and plentiful. Our sons had the bar menus occasionally during the day and the food was a very good standard and reasonably priced.

We ate out every evening so can't comment on the restaurant, but there are special offers which seemed good value.
It is a great base to use to tour this unspoilt part of Crete. It is important to have a car to see the fantastic beaches of the area, we used a company recommended by the hotel called Sunny rental, the price was good, the car ok, and the nil excess insurance was reassuring.
It is a very peaceful hotel with, from our experience, like minded guests, nice and quiet and as a whole top drawer. There is a variety of international visitors, mainly Europeans and Greek people.

Couple of tips, try some of the smaller beaches, which are worth the slightly tricky driving to get there. The comments on the beach near the hotel are correct in that it is rocky but a short walk if you have not got a car gets you on a couple of reasonable beach sections.
The crashing of the waves on the beach is a great feeling in the evening.

Best tip, for eating out you MUST try, (a tip from the new waiter at the hotel - sorry forgot your name !!,! but thanks for the tip ) either lunch or evening dinner is the Plaza restaurant. It is the last restaurant in the village at the far end. They do not have a menu, it is run by a local fisherman and his son. You just say you like fish and they keep bringing you brilliant courses till they think you are full. They keep filling the wine or beer up until you plead for no more. The restaurant is a meeting place for the local fishermen and is an experience. We ate a lunch and an evening there, the lunch was 30euros for two and the food was fantastic and tonnes on drink, a welcome break from the traditional restaurants.The evening was 100 euros for 5 of us, and was worth at least 150 euros.

All in all a great hotel to visit, managed and run by great staff, the weather was great, so if you are checking the Chryssana out as an option, just go for it. I am quite fussy, so not easy to please, so can recommend it fully.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Good points:- service excellent, the staff were polite, the rooms were clean, the food was expensive , but good.
Bad points- our rooms were overbooked, first night was a nightmare ! Booking agents, sunshine Holidays were not interested at all! We got our rooms on the second day, hence losing a day of our holiday , in effect
There is no beach, only stones and dirty shale.
there are no sunbeds on the beach in front of the hotel, the website implies there are!
The pool does not open til 10.30, which is late - usually pools open at 9am
There is no hair dryer in the rooms- website says there is!
As the beach and sunbeds were non existent we had to hire a car for the week, an expense we had not foreseen or budgeted for!
Car hire is needed to get to a sandy beach , and if you want to eat away from the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirleylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

It's really an average room with nice grounds and pool area with some spa services offered. The breakfast is done well. The towels and bedding are very average quality but the shower had good pressure and always hot water. The toilet area and floor does get wet but it's not flooded after taking a shower. There is no hairdryer in the room if you are used to that. The pool area opens at 10:00 I think and closes at 19:00. Check to confirm this but there was no danger of being bothered by the noise of those at the pool. No night swims at the pool if you like that. I didn't like the beach near by as the rocks are not my thing and it was a bit rough for small children. We were pleased over all but thought that a bit more service during the breakfast time in order to take your plates would have been nice. The location isn't great but is doable. I doubt we'd return here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank o2blikehim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
0.5 mi away
Alonia Apartments
Alonia Apartments
#5 of 13 in Kolymbari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chrispy World
Chrispy World
#6 of 13 in Kolymbari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Rose
Golden Rose
#3 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#6 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
9.4 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 23 in Stalos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chryssana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chryssana Beach Hotel

Property: Chryssana Beach Hotel
Address: Skoutelonas Kolimbari, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chryssana Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chryssana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chryssana Beach Hotel Crete/Kolymbari, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing