We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stelida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed in Villa Marandi Junior Suite for 4 nights (May '09). Villa Marandi is a charming little hotel that has a lot of things going for it, but has some areas for improvement as well. Lets start with the good first: The grounds are very nice and the staff very helpful. The hotel is kept clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Christos at the front desk is just the nicest gentleman and really did his best to see that we had a nice trip and visit to Naxos. He made the hotel worth staying at. Vangelis, the chef is also very nice and a fantastic cook. He made us whatever we wanted for dinner and even breakfast and it was like having a personal chef whenever we needed him. We ate 2 nights at the hotel and 2 nights at a good restaurant called Mezze 2 in the main town. Stella at the front desk was able to recommend some nice beaches, tavernas and places for us to visit. It was nice having this 'local knowledge' of the island. The location is mediocre, it is fairly off the beaten track and about a 5-10 minute drive from the main town of Hora, but close to the west coast beaches. The view from our balcony of Hora was really nice and the room seemed clean and decorated nicely. Here is what we didn't like: The shower was very tiny and it was annoying that it seemed like the shower curtain was just on top of you. There was also not counter space. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. The DVD player in the room didn't work. You can only eat outside. I know it is out of their control but the mosquitoes were horrendous. We must have received 50 bites each, and then we accidently opened our balcony door at night an at least 200 mosquitoes got into our room. If you dine at the hotel, you can only sit outside, so having all these mosquitos made it difficult to enjoy dinner. The beach at Villa Marandi is not nice, except maybe for walking, so don't expect a beachfront type hotel. Naxos itself is a spectacular island with so many hidden treasures and beautiful beaches (ask Stella about the really secluded beach/bay at the southern end of the island near the abandoned hotel).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rzknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2009

Great place. They treated us so well. We got the honyemoon suite and it was enormous with such a great view. Food was great, the bar was nice for some Duvel. The balcony of the honeymoon suite is bigger than most hotel rooms. they are so nice they even gave us a trinket that still hangs in my backyard.

Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jbrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

I liked the hotel, I really did, but I can't say my stay was excellent.

The hotel itself was beautiful and I enjoyed the view from our balcony. The food was one of the best that we had on Naxos.

However ...

there were so many cats there!

There were about 3-4 cats that liked to climb onto us during dinner .. despite repeated complains about being allergic to cats. The staff took the cats away, but the cats kept coming back. I'm not sure if the hotel owned these cats or not, but they ruined our dinner.

Why didn't they lock the cats away? I love animals, but not when we were eating!

Otherwise I like the hotel just fine. It's a little far from town, and since we chose not to rent a car, we cabbed it everywhere.

I also really liked the Naxos Photo Day Tour by Stuart - it was the highlight of our Greek trip! He took us to some non-touristy places that we would not have gone on our own.

Naxos is a beautiful island, I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Shoujobubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

I can definately recommend Villa Marandi in Naxos. We spent a few days there at the end of September. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. We were even lucky enough to be ugraded to the Honeymoon Suite!! The Staff at Villa Marandi are top notch! Stella on the front desk was awesome and sat down with us (and every other guest) each day at breakfast and suggested places to go and things to see on the island. She helped us organise a car and a suprise dinner in our room for my husbands 30th birthday which was just fantastic. The food is some of the best we ate on our whole tour of Greece. The Chef is amazing and was more than happy to share a few cooking secrets with my husband who was overly curious as to how he'd made the grilled squid taste so darn good!

The property is located in a quiet area with it's own beach. It was extremely windy while we were there so we didn't get to swim at the beach but we did get to swim at the nearby Agios Prokopios beach which was more sheltered and the sand and water were just devine!

The main town is a short drive away and Stella was more than happy to recommend a number of restaurants for us to try in town - unfortunately nothing was as good as their own!

Our room was gorgeous and had a private terrace that faced out to the ocean. We had a seperate lounge area and a little kitchen. Everything was very clean and tidy and in good condition.

This was by far the best place we stayed with the best service on our entire holiday and I would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kyles76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

We chose Villa Marandi based on great reviews on Trip Advisor, and can confidently say that it lived up to those reviews. The staff took great care of us, and were especially great with our 6-year-old daughter. They organised ferry tickets and transfers, car rental, tour suggestions and even onward hotel bookings in Santorini, where we'd been struggling to find accommodation.
The hotel's location is quiet, just 5 minutes drive from town, with a small, private beach and landscaped gardens. It was windy for part of our stay, but that comes with the late season. We stayed in a Honeymoon Suite which was well worth the extra money, with large living room, bedroom and huge balcony facing the sea and a view across towards the town. The hotel's large terrace, with swimming pool, bar and restaurant, is very conducive, and the food we tried was good.
We would definately recommned Villa Marandi as a great place to stay on Naxos.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank David2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We spent a week at Villa Marandi in the 3rd week of September 2008. As expected the hotel was beautiful, a bit windy, quiet and scenic surroundings yet still very close to the town, port and airport (5 mins by car).

The bar (al fresco) is exceptional, peaceful, and magical, the restaurant too. The rooms (a junior suite) are a good size, all with magnificent views, very clean, and typically cyclidic.

What stands above the rest, is the general feel, created by the staff, and that one feels so welcome and at home.

Stella, the receptionist, was extremely helpful and friendly.

The process of the booking was smooth and efficient, the owner, George, can be contacted directly.

We will definitely be going back to Villa Marandi.


Amy and Alan

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SaltyPeppery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

I was expecting a decent vacation but Villa Marandi and the staff made usexperience one of our best vacations so far. The island is quiet, have beautiful sandy beaches, nice food and relaxing.. Villa Marandi is definetely the best place to stay in Naxos. Rooms are big, fantastic view, clean, nice decorated... The pool and reastaurant/bar area is so relaxing, you hardly leave to discover the island... And the staff, they are so nice and friendly, we didn't want to leave.
If you are looking a relaxing, luxury, fine vacation, Villa Marandi is the place...

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hakand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stelida
1.9 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 57 in Naxos Town
452 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 57 in Naxos Town
1,308 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 57 in Naxos Town
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Faros Villa Small Hotel
0.4 mi away
Kavos Boutique Hotel Naxos
0.6 mi away
Mitos Suites
Mitos Suites
#4 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marandi Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marandi Luxury Suites

Address: Stelida Naxos, Stelida 843 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Stelida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stelida
Price Range: £155 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marandi Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Marandi Suites, is a luxury boutique hotel, offering 16 magnificent suites, set on a beautiful beach in the Stelida area, just 5 km from the town of Naxos. It is the ideal destination for the discerning travelers, who seek a tranquil and high quality place for their vacation. It is an excellent choice for families, as well as for honeymooners and romance seeking travelers. Being centrally located, one can not only enjoy the best beaches of the island, but also explore the beautiful nature and learn the history of Naxos. Villa Marandi Suites "your home away from home..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Atrapalo, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L. and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Marandi Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marandi Hotel Stelida
Marandi Hotel Naxos City
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing