We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel. Amazing host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Minoa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Minoa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katapola
Certificate of Excellence
Anniston, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel. Amazing host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here during our visit to Amorgos two weeks ago. It was a great location right on water close to the ferry dock. There were three nice open air restaurants right out front and more just down the dock. The hotel was very charming, well maintained and very clean. It had the best A/C of any hotel we stayed in while in Greece. Also had the most comfortable of the Greek style beds that we experienced. The style here seems to be no box springs just a 3-4 inch mattress on a frame low to the ground. Still their bed was more comfortable than any of the others we experienced.

What really made this hotel special were the owners Stamatis & Joanna. They were both warm friendly and very helpful. Our rate include breakfast. The breakfast was amazing. Joanna makes all her own jellies and preserves. She also prepared two wonderful pastries, fresh fruits and a bunch of other really good food. Joanna is also a great tour planner. She speaks very good English. She loves the island and all it has to offer. She sat down with us and a map and proceeded to show us all the interesting places to see. We rented a small car for 40 Euro a day and had a great time exploring the island with her highlighted map. You can also rent scooters and ATVs for 18-25 Euros.

One added bonus is that there is also a sweets shop in the lobby of the hotel with the most amazing pastries and the best tiramisu we had on our trip. This was by far our favorite stop on our trip. I don't think I ever saw Joanna without a smile on her face. It didn't matter if it was early in the morning or late at night or whether anyone was looking at her or not. She and her husband Stamatis made our stay a delight!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    35
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
77
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

A very pleasant hotel in Katapola and I can't really add much to the comments made by an earleir reviewer, Vanessa Road. The rooms are very clean, the breakfast very good, the location is great and the owners/staff could not have been more helpful. If you are going to Amorgos stay at Hotel Minoa. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

a previous reviewer (Vanessa, July 8) wrote exactly what I also felt and experienced. I would go back again, eyes wide shut!! great accomodation, hosts, location!!! I forgot two things in the hotel, they made all arrangements and I received them by the Skopelitis boat in Donousa two days later (there was no boat on the day after). The 3 kids are little charmers... Katapola is a treat, and so is Xylokeratidi on the other side of the port.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapp, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms were large and clean, new towels every day. Small, but very nice breakfast. The breakfast had different treats every morning, and the fruitwater was a really great idea. Very friendly and helpful staff and owners.

We got great advise on different sights.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LiveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
549 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We saw the Trip advisor reviews and booked two rooms for four nights. The ferry arrives so close to the hotel you do not need to be greeted by transport. We spotted the hotel from the ferry. The reception for the hotel is in the pastry shop/café in front of the hotel. There were steps up to our rooms but the cases were lifted by a member of the hotel staff. Our greeting was friendly and warm. We had spacious rooms, very comfortable bed. Excellent air con that switched off automatically if you opened a window. We had a small balcony that looked on to the garden and where we could dry our clothes. We had a large fridge and hairdryer. The bathroom had a handheld shower . Room service everyday with fresh towels. Breakfast buffet style was included and that was taken in the café. There was fruit salad, fruit juice, cheese, ham, bread, honey fruit pureees and fruit jams, coffee, tea. I loved their fruit water. Every day you would come to breakfast and they had a glass reservoir that they filled with different fresh fruits everyday such as lemons or melons and they would add water and herbs, it was very refreshing. The café is a lovely viewpoint to watch the island life go by. The pastries are delicious. Ionna asked us to come and join her when we were unpacked and she gave us a map of Amorgos and ran through all the points of interest and how we could get there by bus car etc. They were very helpful with bus time tables, which beaches to visit etc. We were also given a hotel card with the number on and told if we needed anything or were stuck any where to ring them and they would get us a taxi or help!.The room was 55 euros a night. We loved our stay with Stamatis, Ionna and Poppy and would highly recommend to any one thinking of staying in Katapola.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

An excellent hotel, well managed by Stamatis and the friendly and cheerfull staff. For convenience and colour, definitely the place to stay, right by the quayside, a sone's throw from the ferries and a selection of shops, bars and tavernas. Very bustly area, quite clourful and great for late night wandering or just sitting with a drink and watching the world go by.

The cakes at the hotel - be warned they are addictive. Beautifully made on the premises. Room was upstairs, clean, well founished, with a good sized balcony and a view of the harbour. We thought the prices were reasonable.

In fact the hotel was one of the reasons we based ourself at Katapolo (which we thought was much more interesting than Aegiali).

The longer walk down from the Chora is worth it (do not walk up!!). Bus goes quite often and is cheap, so easy to get up there. The Chora is a delightful place, with lots of (white) alleys/streets and some good restauarants. Cannot reaaly recommend the Runs of Minoa - long walk uphill, and a bit disappointing when you get there.

Anyway, back to the Hotel Minoa - the place to stay in Katapola, which is a delightful small seaport.

Recommended unreservedly

Room Tip: Definitely upstairs in either the main hotel building, or the annexe next door, facing the sea and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hotel Minoa is situated just a few yards from the port at Katapola. For us it was a perfect location and the stay was excellent. The service was also very nice and the owner brought us fresh figs from his garden one morning for breakfast-yum.
Rooms are very pleasant indeed and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katapola
9.1 mi away
Vigla Hotel
Vigla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tholaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
8.4 mi away
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Aegiali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Landeris Hotel
Landeris Hotel
#10 of 12 in Amorgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
8.0 mi away
Gryspo's Hotel
Gryspo's Hotel
#7 of 12 in Amorgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amorgion Hotel
Amorgion Hotel
#2 of 13 in Katapola
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minoa

Property: Hotel Minoa
Address: Katapola Amorgos | Cyclades, Katapola 840 08, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos > Katapola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katapola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Minoa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Minoa is a small family business. Located at the heart of Katapola square, a few meters from the sea, is the ideal choice for someone who wants to explore the beauties of Amorgos and live unforgettable vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Minoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minoa Amorgos/Katapola, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing