We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday at an affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Houmt Souk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a superb one week all inclusive holiday to magic life, Penelope Beach in Djerba. My family, 2 girls 9&7, my wife and I had decided to book this months ago as a late sunny break for October half term. We were not disappointed. We read all the reviews beforehand so had a good idea what was in store for us. The weather was fantastic all week, at least 30 degrees, and you get around 10-11 hours of sunshine which is perfect.

Bedroom was ample spaced with 2 bathrooms (we had a bungalow room) and 2 double beds which worked really well. Tea making facility in the room and a drinks fridge which is stocked free daily. Obviously, you never drink the tap water.

Food all week was amazing, all freshly cooked with different themes daily. Don't panic if you're children are fussy like mine, they always has pizza, pasta, salad and plenty of treats such as bog standard ice creams with cones so my girls were pleased.

Plenty of different pools to relax around with an aqua park or the beach if you prefer. On the private beach was the banana boat and canoeing or if you fancy parasailing or jet skiing then you can pay around £40 for a family.

Evening entertainment was very good with a different show every night, or you can relax around the bar and play cards, table football or pool if you want something different. It was great not having to worry about money either it being all inclusive. I must say we did want to get out of the complex to see a bit of Djerba itself. We want with Ali babas quad bikes which was 120 Dinar (£44) 2 hours non stop amazing scenery and something different, the kids loved it.

Yes Tunisia is a poor country and you do see litter and rubbish knocking about. Yes there are a few people that will come up to you and ask if you want to buy some of their jewellery etc. don't be naive this is what happens in countries like this. Don't let it put you off you can just say no thank you!!!

Overall, great holiday and a big thank you to all the staff at club magic life from the Madgwick family. We hope to be back at some point!!!

Stayed: October 2013
7  Thank Madge1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I was lucky enough to have my 21st birthday in Tunisia over 26 years ago, came back a few years ago and toured the country including a brief visit to Djerba and now half way through an early winter break with the family, at the Magic Life Penelope complex for a week on the island of Djerba.

Everything is very easy, layed back and relaxed. Its only a 3 hour flight from Gatwick in the UK and temperatures have been in the high 20's to low 30's, nice!

Food is just fantastic, loads of choice much of it cooked freshly in front of you with themes each night. Its nice to see the head chef frying eggs in the morning, mucking in with his amazing team, seriously the food is that good.

Lots of entertainment if you want it. We took our 7 year old to Archery this morning which he thoroughly enjoyed, there is a complete full on itinery of activities for young and old.

The complex is split into three logical areas, each with food and snacks available as part of the all-inclusive package. The main area has 2 main swimming pools and one for kids, as well as a creative and childrens club, the 2nd area has its own mini water park with several slides and very attentive life guards, the third is the beach which also has loads of activity including wind surfing lessons, catamarans and the usual banana behind a speed boat.

If you fancy a late week in the sun, with very good food, then this could be the place for you. Check out the details in any brochure as i have only touched the surface in this quick review.

Just having a G&T before dinner, and looking at coming back here again next year its that good.

Stayed: October 2013
5  Thank G4UET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

my wife and I booked a last minute holiday and found this resort. We were pleasantly surprised with this one,as we have been on quite a few all inclusive trips in the past. Being just 3 hours away, the weather was very warm and we had wall to wall sunshine all week., in the high 20's and low 30's. The hotel was clean and tidy,the food was edible,with good choice everyday to suit most palates.There are ongoing activities to do if you wish to participate, but the staff are not in your face to take part in the events.With the hotel being quite spread out you seemed not to be on top of each other and there seemed to be plenty of sunbeds available around the pools and on the beach.Camel and horse rides are available on the beach but we decided not to participate.All in all we had a very nice week away and would definitely consider going back there in the future. Many thanks to the magic life staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is the 4th magiclife I have been too, and yet again fantastic . We flew out on 2nd of October for two weeks anything less leaves you,wishing not to go home! The check in was very quick flight on time arrived at djerba early was directed to coach no luggage helpers pestering for bags ( like on mainland ) we were given your Visa cards to fill in on coach by rep casey very helpful young man and yes he does look like Chris Evans . There were two coach loads all going to magic life 100 guests which was a surprise as when we have been before to magiclife only usually a handful of Brits , when we arrived we were ushered to main lobby area and given cold fruit drink and exchanged cards for hotel keys no long wait the staff took bags to room we were in main building room 1160 second floor room was cleaned spotlessly every day and always clean towels and of course towels made to look like swans etc and flowers on bed as usual in tunisia minibar was topped up with water daily large bottles ,soft drinks in fridge on arrival but you only had to ask bar staff and they would give you litres bottles of soft drinks for your room I was also told by other holiday makers that they would give you bottles of wine too! If you asked . The staff were always friendly and polite , pool areas spotless plenty of sun beds , beach white sands plenty of beds. Raked over everyday sea not too deep you could go out quite far and still touch the bottom beach bar that also did snacks . Toilets close to beach too . There was an around the world snack bar where you can get a wide range of snacks pizza chicken fish and chips was always busy or you can go to main resturant for lunch the choice is yours.there was themed nights in resturant a different one every night for two weeks. The food was excellent lots Of choice even for me a non fish eater I never had a problem finding something to eat. The a la carte resturants were ok the best one was the Bala Mediterranean the food was excellent there the Tunisian and Thai was ok but menu limited. Entertainment was also good staff work very hard to make holiday enjoyable the shows in amphitheatre were also entertaining the Tunisian singing and dancing one was particularly good, went on just djerba trip museum was very interesting . There were a lot of children here ( more than I thought being school time ) if you don't like kids and are planning a quite couples holiday this is not for you ,the nationality mix here was good French German and British no Russians (thankfully) Weather beautiful 30s + everyday what can I say.? If you are looking for a reasonably priced holiday all inclusive ,with very clean facilities ,good food, excellent entertainment .great weather clean beaches,water sports free, nice friendly staff, No Russians you can't do better than this ,I would definitely go back again.

I have also holidayed at the magiclife Africana in hammamet/ Yasmine
Magiclife sharm el sheik
Magiclife imperial seven seas (side turkey)

Room Tip: Choose main block not to far from everywhere , not ground floor near lobby as it would be very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catrinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just had a weeks holiday in the Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial in Djerba and thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was excellent and the staff were very polite and helpful. The rooms were always spotless, being cleaned everyday and the entertainment during the day and in the evenings was very good. Anything you could really want for a holiday was at readily available and trips outside the complex were available at extra cost. We visited a local street market and that was the only time we ventured out. If you don't enjoy a holiday here then I don't really know what you are looking for. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We were away from the main building and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APDUELL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Being used to staying at Hilton hotels, on arrival, we were pleasantly suprised with the hotel, reception, friendly staff, and quick check in. No wristbands ! Our room was clean, modern and comfy. The complex itself is spotlessly clean, well tended gardens, 3 fantastic pools, aqua park for the kids, and even an indoor pool. The animation team are second to none, entertaining the kids from 8am to 8pm. The little ones have even got their own restaurant, where they chose their own food and ate with the other kids, so mums and dads can dine in peace. Evening entertainment was different every night, great comedy shows too. The staff are friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Daily water aerobics, zumba and other really funny games etc. By far, the best feature is the fabulous food. Such a vast array, with a different theme, country etc every evening, and all cooked fresh in front of you. This is the best food we have ever experienced in an all inclusive holiday. The alcoholic bevs were top class also, no watered down stuff, and the wine was spot on. Ice creams and snacks on offer all day. 4pm every afternoon, a selection of pastries, crepes, and speciality teas and coffees to die for. The private beach is paradise. Fine white sand, all the way into crystal clear and clean water. When standing up to your neck in it, you can still see your feet and the sand beneath. Fantastic beach bar, with toasties, hot dogs and chilled drinks on tap. Beach cleaned and raked on a daily basis. Lots of water sports on offer, at a cost, but reasonable prices. Exceptionally well looked after horses and camels for rides, but no pressure. The odd lookie, lookie man, but not allowed on to the private part of the beach, so no bugging. We went for 7 days, Oct 9th to 16th, and was very sad to leave, wish we had booked 2 weeks. It was mid 30's everyday, and there was no shortage or struggle to get beds by the pools or the beach. Other guests were mainly very polite Germans and french, but no rowdy families, and no russians. This is a great family hotel, so much for the kids to do, crafts, face painting, pottery etc. Myself and my husband are mid fifties, but we found it to be a very peaceful, relaxing holiday, and came back totaly recharged. When you leave, one member of every staff dept comes out to wave you off with a white hankie ! ahhh, sweet. The Thompson rep, Casey, was also very professional and informative. Just 30 min transfer time, and what a dream Djerba airport is, so fast, efficient, clean, cool and spacious. Djerba is a magic place, and magic life penelope beach imperial is a magic holiday !

Room Tip: They are all good, including bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just got back today, went with my hubby not knowing what to expect.Had a fantastic holiday, Hotel is lovely and clean, lots of great entertainment, plenty of food varieties, all staff very friendly,weather was perfect, will definitely be going back

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linmumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houmt Souk
3.9 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 47 in Midoun
2,316 reviews
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 47 in Midoun
1,756 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#8 of 47 in Midoun
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Palm Beach Palace
0.3 mi away
Fiesta Beach Club Djerba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach

Address: Zone Touristique B.P. 257, Houmt Souk, Djerba Island 4180, Tunisia (Formerly Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial)
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Houmt Souk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Houmt Souk
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Houmt Souk
#2 Luxury Hotel in Houmt Souk
#2 Spa Hotel in Houmt Souk
Price Range: £78 - £861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial Hotel Houmt Souk
Magic Life Hotel Djerba
TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing