We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel good; Thomson rep Pathetic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Houmt Souk
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Hotel good; Thomson rep Pathetic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week in the glorious sun haven of Djerba. An absolutely wonderful, unspoilt traditional island. The people are friendly and welcoming, and really want to make your stay as wonderful as possible.

We visited last year, and although a very good holiday destination to visit, it was not on a par overall. Some of the differences; quality in food was worse than last year; poor air conditioning in the rooms which are centrally controlled but stop in the night and the temperature is 30-32 - waking up not refreshed; cleanliness of the pool is not that great; drinks have become weaker the cocktails are not "that" alcoholic; the food choice has become more limited for example we had one night themed "alpine". Who comes to Djerba and wants to eat mountain food?
Other areas which need improvement-
Flukes around the activity pool are switched off between 1230-130 even though a life guard is present- why?
On a Monday there is no entertainment- all the entertainment reps are day off- the activity pool doesn't open until 1030?
The quality of the night shows are very poor, repetitive and dull. Slapstick 1960 comedy is not modern, not entertaining Magic Life rethink...

Positives; the service in all areas (except the bars) is impeccable, always smiling and always happy. The restaurant waiters are very very good, attentive and like to chat to you everyday. The breakfast omelette which is made is very nice, the ambience of the hotel is very good.

Overall a standard holiday, people rave I'm not raving so much as last year, as it was slightly more disappointing.

I must just write about our rep- "Dom" not that he wore a name badge he just told us that on the bus. He is in a word- dull. I don't understand the value he adds; if I had a problem he wouldnt be able to comprehend what I was saying let alone fix the issue. An example- he stands at the entrance of the restaurant like a lost soul, doesn't talk to guests, vacant look all the time. Latifa on guest service is also at the restaurant- she is exceptionally good, dom should be replaced by someone with more enthusiasm, energy and passion for the island and hotel. Clueless and pathetic. Thomson take note....

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank adamanskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    221
    69
    26
    14
See reviews for
399
290
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This was our second time back at Club Magic Life Penelope beach and it was as good as the first.
The staff at this hotel are just so polite, helpful and happy.
Latifa and her staff go out of their way to please. We stayed here last year and during our stay had our 25th wedding anniversary and our son's 12th birthday. For both occasion's our room was decorated and we had two lovely meals at the hotels restaurant's with decorated tables and special cakes.
The hotel it's self is set in lovely grounds and everything is close. Some people complain about the camels and horses on the beach, personally I loved it. Being a horse owner myself the condition of the stallions were lovely.
The food is good and an excellent variety for fussy kids.
Our favourite waiter in the lounge area never left us without a drink or a clean table
The entertainment for the children is lovely to watch and it's all so friendly
We are definitely going back next year

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 days at the beginning of June 2014, just got back. I also went here in 2013, same month. I had hoped that this was going to be a fantastic holiday, even better than last year but i was slightly disappointed. The air con was weak, food was not as good as last year but was still tasty and still lots of options. Pay extra for a bungalow, worth the extra. The addition of wi-fi to rooms and pools at no cost was a great addition and was probably the only improvement on last year. Overall I was happy and it was a great relaxing holiday but when you go to the same place two years running, maybe you end up being over critical. Good holiday, nice and relaxing. Another thing to note is that the thomson cabin crew were probably the happiest cabin crew I have seen for a long time, laughing with the passengers. The thomson rep, a little one level, little dull, didn't really seem to have a clue, followed the staff round the hotel at dinner time like a lost puppy, didn't come across like some one who would be able to deal with a incident, he said on the way home there was no other flights going off, he was wrong. Luckily it didn't spoil the holiday as he is only a rep and it is not important to me. So overall a good holiday, I would recommend it to friends and family but I wouldn't personally come here again and the rep is a bit of a non-event. Well don't magic life

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorn300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The service in this hotel is amazing, the staff can not do anymore for you than what they already do. This is from the restaurant staff, right down to gardeners. They make you feel welcome, always greeting you as you walk around the resort. I will mention Dom the Thomson Rep, always willing to help and gave our family a lot of advice on excursions available.

During our stay our family had both a double superior bungalow and just a normal double bungalow. These we're cleaned everyday to a fair standard- although once or twice the children had accidentally put chocolate on the sheets and these we're not changed the next day the cleaner had just re-made the bed. Also, the underneath of the toilet-seat hadn't been cleaned and hadn't looked like it had been cleaned for a very long time! Although other than that, the rooms we're cleaned to a good standard. We also had a problem with one of our bath's and the technicians we're straight out to us within half an hour.

The food- brilliant if you want to try new things. There are themed nights although they will still serve spag Bol, pizza etc. But if you have fussy children, it can be a bit of an issue! Breakfast was always delicious, with such lovely staff working in the mornings. The lunch bar around the Aquapark is also very nice. Between lunch and dinner there is also coffee and cake around the pool between 4-5 which was good when feeling peckish.

For things to do, there are many pools! The relax pool in which no children are allowed so nice for a bit of peace! The main activity pool, this can get very lively with music, the entertainment staff jumping around too! But was always a good laugh watching people take part in the pool games. The aqua park is fun for the family will lots of water slides for the kids, although there could be a few more sunbeds around this pool, we found ourselves going down there really early to leave towels on the beds to reserve a spot! Same goes for the relax pool.

In the evenings they arrange entertainment which may be a show in the amphitheater or a disco in the main bar, either way there is always something going on. The waiters work very very hard, constantly on the go and are always so friendly! The staff are also perfect with the kids, always saying hello :)

I'd recommend this hotel to families, although we found two weeks was to long to just sit around the pool.

(We also found anybody going with Thomson- do not book the pirate ship trip or crocodile farm with them) when at the resort get a taxi yourself and pay for it down there. Taxis are so cheap in Tunisia only a couple of Dinar and the tickets for the crocodile farm and the pirate ship are so cheap there instead of booking through Tui.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cloebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a really good holiday...
the hotel is really nice, the highlight is the food.. even in the main buffet restaurant the food is amazing and there are live cooking stations..

a special mention to Mahroubi (the omelette lady) who cooked omlette for me everyday morning.. she was really nice and friendly. In fact we found almost everyone always smiling and polite.

The rooms are OK.. but the cleanliness was hit and go...but otherwise everything was perfect.

Lots of watersport activities are there. we went for canoeing, para sailing. And booked a trip to the blue lagoon with Eric/Abdullah which was really good..my little girl enjoyed watching the crabs, jelly fish and dolphins! really amazing!

My husband went quad biking and said it was wonderful.

There is also an amphitheatre and the shows are very good. The entertainment team works really hard so that everyone can have a good time.

All in all it was a wonderful holiday and we would definitely love to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quiter, We stayed in room 1030
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sumikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left this place was first rate. Staff, from the man putting up parasols round the pool, the ladies with their mops n buckets to the managers, everyone smiled said good morning and made our stay a pleasure...
Must mention the lady who made my omelet each morning, lovely lady and a special mention to
Latifa Sellami, guest services.
Latifa could not do enough for the guests and is a fantastic person who is evident in the hotel from early morning till late evening..
Thomson rep Dom was a really nice guy, had no complaints so only saw him in passing but he appeared helpful and pleasant ...
Plenty of choice in the snack bars and restaurants and the mojitos in the bar were great. A la carte, Thai and Italian were very good, did not try the Tunisian so can't comment.
One thing I will say is, why have a dress code, ie, gentlemen must wear long trousers when dining in the evening and then not stick to it.... Finding myself sitting next to someone in a hi viz running vest and running shorts at 9.00pm dinner is not, in my view, an acceptable form of dress for evening meals....
Only other comment I could make is that some of the white bathroom towels could do with being replaced as they were very grey n dingy ... Room we had was not huge but enough for 2 people, bathroom was large and all cleaned to a high standard, we overlooked the garden and we even had a sea view... Sea kayaking and banana boats were free and looked like fun.
Magic Life gets a big thumbs up from me, very happy holiday !!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hassanaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Hi, I am visiting this hotel on the 25th of June with my husband and my son who is 14 years old. Can anyone please tell me if they will both need to wear long trousers and smart shoes in the restaurant. Also are any of the water sports free as I am getting alot of mixed reviews. Any other information would also be appreciated. Thanks. Emma.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank lara69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houmt Souk
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 109 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Palm Beach Palace
1.3 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
3.9 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 46 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#6 of 46 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach

Property: TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach
Address: Zone Touristique B.P. 257, Houmt Souk, Djerba Island 4180, Tunisia (Formerly Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial)
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Houmt Souk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Houmt Souk
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Houmt Souk
#2 Luxury Hotel in Houmt Souk
#2 Spa Hotel in Houmt Souk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Also Known As:
Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial Hotel Houmt Souk
Magic Life Hotel Djerba
TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing